We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner/manager- Brilliant”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Lady owner/manager of this hotel could not have done more for the 2 of us. We arrived in Varenna late after a missed connection during a thunder storm and missed the last ferry to Menaggio - our destination. Although fully booked and unable to put us up for the night she allowed us to stay indoors after they had closed; informed us of a last ferry, 11pm, going to another small village on the other side of the lake and phoned our hotel to arrange a taxi to pick us up - which was fortunate as it was completely deserted when we landed on the other side. All this at her own suggestions - and spoken in excellent English! I'm sure herself and staff would be equally welcoming to other visitors.
Thank you- we were most grateful for your help and lovely cup of coffee!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location of Hotel Olivedo is perfect: an easy walk to the train station and right next to the ferry terminal, with a wonderful view of Lake Como. It is a charming hotel which is very well maintained. Our twin-bed room (and its bathroom) was spacious and clean; the bed was comfortable and long enough for me (a 74-inch man). Wi-fi worked in the room with no problem. Ambient noise did not interfere with our sleep, at night or in the morning. We rather enjoyed the bustle of the people as the ferries came and went, while we enjoyed a filling breakfast on the patio; by night, all the crowds were gone and noise was not a factor. The owner, Laura, was kind, gracious, and accommodating. I was dealing with a crisis (pickpocketed in Milan and stolen credit/debit cards), and Laura went out of her way and did everything possible to help me, showing genuine concern. All the staff members were friendly and efficient. I highly recommend this picturesque, family-run hotel.

Room Tip: Our room, on the top floor, had a limited view of the lake because the windows are set at floor leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved everything in that hotel! We had booked a room with lake view and there it was intensive blue, glittering in front of us. The room size was very generous with two comfy armchairs and a small desk and two chairs. One french door and another door to the small balcony with a flower pot made the picture perfect. The room and ample completely renovated bathroom were clean. The hotel is absolutely nicely presented in traditional style. The dining/breakfast room is stylish, and on sunny days breakfast is served outside at the kerb. One can hear the water lapping at the wharf's edge while overlooking the lake. The breakfast buffet offers a good variety of food. The coffee is superb. The staff is very friendly. This is Italy at its best. We would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Take a room high up and with lake view. It is worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First, Varenna was a perfect location for touring Lake Como and train is only 0.3 miles to train station. Second, the location is just outside Central Varenna but <1 minute from Ferries. A big,big plus. Third, host Laura was a total 'spit fire', funny, extremely helpful and great with tips advice. Fourth room was clean, large, lots of windows and nice bath facilities, Fifth, we had two meals at the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed our meals and you can not beat the view, watching ferries come 'n' go, local fishermen (including some local chefs) caught lake trout and couples stroll through the park. I can't say it was the Versailles Palace but then again I was not expecting Versailles Palace. Did Laura & Hotel Olivedo make it a 100% memorable experience? Without a shadow of a doubt they did and I would do it again in a New York minute.

Room Tip: We had room 1, this had a 270 degree lake view and had a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Olivedo for a week in June having spent a lot of time reading reviews on Trip Advisor and booking.com. We were welcomed by Laura (the owner, mentioned in many reviews of this hotel) and directed to the smallest lift ever (!) and told to go up to room 25 on the 3rd floor.

Room/View
The room was fantastic. Very large, lots of character and two windows, one with balcony, overlooking the lake which was only 20/30 yards away. It also had a large good quality bathroom. The view from the windows was stunning. Room cleaning was reliable and very thorough.

Location
As discussed elsewhere, the hotel is literally right next to the ferry docking piers so between about 7:00 in the morning and 8:00 at night there is almost a constant flow of ferries coming in and out. This might bother some people but we liked watching the coming and going so it was fine. The air conditioning and double glazing was very effective so if you were a light sleeper and didn’t want to be woken at 7:00 you could avoid the noise. It’s a short walk from the centre of Varenna so there is very little noise outside of ferry comings and goings.

Hotel
Outside of the rooms there is not much to the rest of the hotel. One reasonably large dining room which is a rather dark and dreary but if you are lucky to have good weather there is a dining area outside the front of the hotel which is used for meals. The inside of the hotel does smell of cigarette smoke, because Laura smokes, but our room was fine and always smelt fresh and clean. Breakfast is ordinary with a couple of cereals, a few yogurts, apples and oranges, croissants, bread, ham and cheese. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate is provided by the waiter who IS a little like Manuel from Fawlty Towers but very pleasant and helpful. We ate in the restaurant in the evening once and it was OK but nothing special. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Overall
So in summary we can see why the hotel gets such extremes of reviews. All we wanted was a hotel with a nice room with lake view, a light breakfast before we went out exploring for the day, and finally ferries and nice restaurants near by. The hotel ticked all these boxes with the room being a really big tick! If you want a hotel where you intend to spend more time in the hotel outside of your room then it’s probably not for you. Equally if you intend to eat in the hotel every night we wouldn’t recommend it although many people seemed to be very happy. From our point of view there are a host of much better restaurants 5 minutes walk away and we prefer the variety.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelCAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

the hotel was very expensive for the facilities available. The rooms were oldfashioned and our bathroom basic indeed with a shaky shower curtain.
The noise at night was very offputting and we found it hard to sleep

Room Tip: do not sleep in the room next to the bar next door as it can be noisy at night with a television bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Located on the water front by the ferry landing and an easy walk from the train station. This a quaint hotel decorated in the old Italian style. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant is excellent and the scenery and views from any of the upper floor rooms is stunning. Hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. Being located right by the ferry terminal made travel to other locations on the lake easy.
A three minute walk along the water front takes you to the center of town and past several restaurants offering outdoor seating with excellent views.

Room Tip: No elevator, but not a distraction to those of us that stayed on the upper floors. We would stay her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobraman427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £116 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna
Hotel Olivedo Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing