We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful gem on Lake Como!”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A beautiful gem on Lake Como!”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Varenna is a lovely little town and the Hotel Olivedo was perfect. We had a corner room with 2 balconies with great views of the lake and the Alps. Laura was so friendly and inviting and took very good care of us. We decided to take part in the evening dinner and were not disappointed! My husband still talks about the ravioli he had and my eggplant parmesan was done perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    199
    77
    37
    43
See reviews for
90
429
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

June 2009: We had just been to Cinque Terra, same prices as Olivedo but much nicer rooms than Olivedo. At Olivedo you pay for the view, the room is quite nice, the bathroom had almost zero toiletries and there were no towels, instead what could only be described as table-cloths were supplied. We were warned by the tourist office not to eat at Olivedo. Our breakfast was included but was sparse compared to those in Cinque Terra. You have to pay for parking but presumably you would if you parked on the street. The foyer is locked about 10pm, and later they put on the alarm so you can't get in or out. You have to pay the bill in cash. Varenna itself is a nice quiet place, not as touristy as Bellagio and Menaggio, and you can buy an all-day central lake ferry ticket for 15euro including entrance to Villa Carlotta, well worth it. If you are in Varenna make sure you dine at Il Cavatappi, superb food, reasonable prices, but you need to book ahead. If you don't want such a quiet place, Bellaggio has more to do and much more accomodation on offer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_carolLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We spent three weeks in Italy , with two nights in Varenna at the Hotel Olivedo. These two nights were the highlight of the trip. The staff was outstanding and the location simply perfect. We had a wonderful room with such a romantic view of the lake. Plus I must mention the Food, the restaurant was some of the best meals we had our entire trip. We have been to Italy before and will be back here again. What a great point to explore the lake comminutes and relax on our trip. The ferry literally delivers you to the door of the hotel. I want to thank the staff and the management, they really know how to have their guest feel comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marathonfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I was surprised to see that there were mixed reviews on this hotel. We absolutley loved it!. We actually stayed in the bed and breakfast villa La Toretta and our room was amazing. It is in the perfect location and had the BEST bathroom with double sinks and a big shower. We were pleasantly surprised since most of the places we had stayed in italy the bathrooms were the size of a small closet! =) the breakfast is good and Laura, serious as she looks, is a sweetheart! we will come here again in a heartbeat. Actually we cant wait to be back! Varenna is GORGEOUS!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisnsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

It's curious that there are such hugely differing reviews on Hotel Olivedo. I guess I can see where both sides come from.

The week before I was to arrive, I decided to shorten my stay at Olivedo from 3 nights to 2. Laura immediately upped the price by 10 Euros per night. I was a bit cheesed off as she had never mentioned a 3-night minimum for the initial rate, and we were booking 2 rooms. I wasn't cancelling, just adjusting my reservation. Nonetheless, I agreed to it.

We arrived in Milan after a long flight, and immediately took the train up to Varenna. There was a heat wave during that period, and we were hot and tired by the time we dragged our luggages from the train station to the hotel. Laura welcomed us with a smile, then told us our rooms were on the top floor, keys were in the door, no lift. That was it. Our jaws dropped. No offer to help with our luggage or anything. (I even got the feeling she was rather amused with our struggle.)

Once we negotiated the never ending climb to our room, we thought the room itself was rather nice, furnished in a very old world style. But it was hot, with a tiny pigeonhole window (the sort you can push open to look down to the jetty, but can't actually see the lake from). Luckily there was a not-very-efficient airconditioning unit at the corner of the room (better than nothing). However, the air conditioner was set to switch off the moment you opened the window latch. And it would switch off during the night - I guess when Laura decided that the outside temperature was cool enough. That was rather annoying as it required one of us to wake up to open the window (which was too small to get much of a breeze). And also you would hear the early morning sounds of the ferry even louder with the windows opened. Luckily we were so tired from our trip it didn't bother us too much.

The location of the hotel is great, it's nice having breakfast looking out onto the lake. The spread was simple but sufficient, the staff brisk and efficient.

We also very much enjoyed the dinner we had at the hotel. Simple and well-executed cooking.

I would probably stay here again but i would make sure I get a room on a lower floor.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Hotel Olivedo was a perfect hotel for me and my friends. Laura, the owner, was so good to us. She helped carry bags to our room, and made sure we had everything we needed. Dining in her restaurant was superb - truly wonderful meals! Laura even made sure we had breakfast to take with us on the way to the airport because we had to leave before breakfast was served. She treated us to glasses of wine after a long day of sightseeing. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable and the view of the lake was beautiful. Thank you, Laura, for a delightful time. Valerie and friends

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Great location, and a decent shower. We stayed in the Villa which was very nice. Shame the same cannot be said about Laura. One word answers, an aggressive attitude and the only time I saw her smile was when she took the money for the room and when she took 50 euros for a lamp which 'mysteriously' broke. Receiving a phone call at 10.05 to tell me to vacate the room when the latest you could leave was 10.15 didn't go down to well either.

Breakfast was horrible as well.

If this is the last hotel left to book in Varenna, find another town on the lake.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKGe0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Property: Hotel Olivedo
Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna
Hotel Olivedo Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing