We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Olivedo
Nearby Hotels
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$718
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$679
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
406
213
78
39
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
213
78
39
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalpumpkin gnocchilake comocorner roomtop floorold world charmhotel restaurantcroissantsno liftquiet at nightvarenna esinothird floorour room was spaciousthree nightsgreat roomsmall balconysitting area
Filter
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We took a flight from paris to milan, a bus from malpensa to milan stazione centrale, and a train from milan to varenna. It was a long, tiring day. We took a cab down to olivedo from the station, even though I think it's a fairly easy walk--about 8 euro. We had rooms in the B&B Villa next to the hotel. our room was huge, clean, beautifully furnished with a great view of the lake and a really nice marble bathroom. Laura was lovely, straightforward and brisk, with a twinking sense of humor. We did not have help with our luggage, but we travel light, so didn't need it. We really enjoyed the food, or at least the pasta, and after traipsing around to the other restaurants in Varenna, ended up eating at the hotel restaurant alot. The eggplant parmigiana was our favorite. Wine list could use an upgrade. The breakfast is light, but well served. The towels are fairly typical of old school places in Italy, I remember getting them in Milan and Bologna year ago. It can eb a little noisy with the ferry, and cars, until evening when it really quiets down.
There's alot to do around Varenna; we hiked up to the castle at the top of the hill and saw the birds of prey demonstration and wandered in the little town up there. We took the ferry to Bellagio and Menaggio, both of which bigger, and not as quaint and a little more touristy, than Varenna. Near Menaggio is the Villa Carlotta, which is amazing, but I actually enjoyed more the Villa Monasteri in Varenna, a beautiful old villa with gardens and a temple, and several charming gentlemen who told showed us around told us great stories about the place. Generally, we all loved Olivedo, and had a lovely restful vacation there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telegirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Varenna is a lovely little town and the Hotel Olivedo was perfect. We had a corner room with 2 balconies with great views of the lake and the Alps. Laura was so friendly and inviting and took very good care of us. We decided to take part in the evening dinner and were not disappointed! My husband still talks about the ravioli he had and my eggplant parmesan was done perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

June 2009: We had just been to Cinque Terra, same prices as Olivedo but much nicer rooms than Olivedo. At Olivedo you pay for the view, the room is quite nice, the bathroom had almost zero toiletries and there were no towels, instead what could only be described as table-cloths were supplied. We were warned by the tourist office not to eat at Olivedo. Our breakfast was included but was sparse compared to those in Cinque Terra. You have to pay for parking but presumably you would if you parked on the street. The foyer is locked about 10pm, and later they put on the alarm so you can't get in or out. You have to pay the bill in cash. Varenna itself is a nice quiet place, not as touristy as Bellagio and Menaggio, and you can buy an all-day central lake ferry ticket for 15euro including entrance to Villa Carlotta, well worth it. If you are in Varenna make sure you dine at Il Cavatappi, superb food, reasonable prices, but you need to book ahead. If you don't want such a quiet place, Bellaggio has more to do and much more accomodation on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_carolLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We spent three weeks in Italy , with two nights in Varenna at the Hotel Olivedo. These two nights were the highlight of the trip. The staff was outstanding and the location simply perfect. We had a wonderful room with such a romantic view of the lake. Plus I must mention the Food, the restaurant was some of the best meals we had our entire trip. We have been to Italy before and will be back here again. What a great point to explore the lake comminutes and relax on our trip. The ferry literally delivers you to the door of the hotel. I want to thank the staff and the management, they really know how to have their guest feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marathonfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I was surprised to see that there were mixed reviews on this hotel. We absolutley loved it!. We actually stayed in the bed and breakfast villa La Toretta and our room was amazing. It is in the perfect location and had the BEST bathroom with double sinks and a big shower. We were pleasantly surprised since most of the places we had stayed in italy the bathrooms were the size of a small closet! =) the breakfast is good and Laura, serious as she looks, is a sweetheart! we will come here again in a heartbeat. Actually we cant wait to be back! Varenna is GORGEOUS!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennisnsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews