We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside Manor with Gardens, Views, and Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Cipressi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
991 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,998 helpful votes
“Lakeside Manor with Gardens, Views, and Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a 100's of years old, lakeside villa with about 30 nicely appointed rooms. We had a room without lake views so it faced the street which some people might find noisy. The church bells ring at 7a.m. anyway and we did not find the street noise bothersome with the windows closed and given that we were tired after a day of touring.

The front desk people are friendly and helpful.

Doubles are in the 170-200 euro range depending on views. Breakfast was hearty with a pretty good variety. There is an elevator, garden access (steep paths in the back of the property), and wifi.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are right on the street and you will get some traffic noise. Note that this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    108
    30
    28
    11
See reviews for
55
232
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

After reading the reviews, we recommended the Villa Cipressi to several friends and we all stayed there for a three-day stop on Lake Como. The view from the rooms is spectacular and one of our group reserved a suite, which looked both across and down the lake for a spectacular vista. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Varenna and Villa Cipressi combined make a great base from which to explore the Lake area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Villa Cipressi (cypress trees) was owned by the noble families from the 1400's-1800's. Loved the sense of history. Stayed here 3 nights and just loved our view from Room 303. Two huge windows with views of the lake and the lush gardens below. High ceilings, good bed, nice sized armoire with safe. Nice bathroom and both rooms were very clean. Computer and wifi at the 300 level. David at the front desk very helpful! Breakfast was lovely in the attached original part of the building dating to the 1400's! Beautiful fireplace and painted ceiling. One morning it was so lovely we took our breakfast and ate out on the terrace. Nice European breakfast spread, coffee machines and excellent staff. Be sure and get a room with a view of the lake to maximize your stay.

Room Tip: Room 303 Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed here before and had just as good of an experience as I did 5 years earlier. We got married at another location on the lake but stayed at Cipressi for the time at Lake Como and also had our reception at the hotel. Absolutely outstanding service for our reception, outstanding food, excellent staff, wonderful location and beautiful views. I highly recommend this place. They remain consistent over time obviously. Highly recommended for someone considering this as a wedding or reception venue too. They did everything possible not only during our special evening, but for the whole trip to make us feel taken care of and accommodated. The staff all speak perfect English. Very helpful people. Thank you for the great experience we had and we can't wait to return yet again!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The concierge, Tatiana, was outstanding! She guided us as to the best features of the town - how to take advantage of the ferry system to see the various cities on the lake

The hotel has a great view of the lake and outstanding gardens to walk through. Not a five star, but very nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A little late in making this review. But it needs to be done! This had a really good location on lake. The resteraunt was fantastic. And what a view!!! Rooms were clean and cool in the day. Was so romantic plan on coming back for sure. Could not recommend this enough!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimbal2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous property in September 2013 and I left my iPad behind. David quickly emailed me and arranged to have it sent to my aunt in Athens, where I would be visiting later. They surely went WAY out of their way to do so and we were very impressed with their help! Besides that, our stay was also wonderful. Our room was a double with a lake view and what a view! When we checked in they were very helpful in checking the ferry schedule to Bellagio and we were just in time to catch it. Our room was very comfortable, the bath room had lots of hot water and the breakfast was very good. A clean, lovely hotel that is lovingly maintained, we would not hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: Do book a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drswaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Property: Hotel Villa Cipressi
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna
Hotel Villa Cipressi Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing