We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just stayed at the Cipressi for 5 nights, we had the Villa Magnolia suite which is based in the grounds with its own private garden area and totally secluded, it was perfect and magical. The service from all the staff was exceptional and we have to especially mention Davido who went out of his way to make our stay so special, thank you all.
Restaurant was excellent we had 3 meals and all were delicious and beautifully presented, the gardens are magnificent with amazing views over the lake.
We had a really memorable stay even though the weather was not as good as we would have liked, it was about the only thing the hotel could not offer us !
We will definitely be returning, wonderful location, excellent food and service, thanks again to you all.
TnT

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel Villa Cipressi was that starting point of our tour. Good sized room with lake view. Shower worked well. Thunder and lightning storm prompted a mini invasion of ants, but not a big deal. Good breakfast selection. Nice gardens to stroll through. Short walk to restaurants and such at the south end of the village. Fairly good hike from the train station or the boat dock if you have a suitcase in tow. WiFi okay in lobby area, sketchy in most other areas.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lightening996327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are prepared to put up with nightly weddings in June and July then this is probably the best of the hotels in Varenna. It has a lovely garden and a splendid position over-looking Lake Como. It's a short walk to the main square and down to the harbour for ferries and boat rides. The rooms are spacious but gloomy. No mini-bar, no bottled water, no chair to sit in and read a book, drab 50s / 60s furniture, but on the second floor of both wings of the hotel the rooms provide glorious views across the lake to Bellagio and the dramatic cliffs lining the far shore.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second floor with views of the Lake are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights while visiting Lake Como. Our room had a panoramic lake view. We overlooked the outside restaurant which was both a blessing and not. The first night there was a wedding with beautiful music that lulled us to sleep. The second night there were a few noisy patrons which made it difficult to sleep until the restaurant closed. The third night there was a loud group of revelers in the street outside the hotel singing and partying into the night. The only downside to this hotel is that the hotel staff are not present overnight to quell any overly zealous non guests who aren't paying the price for premium rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a 100's of years old, lakeside villa with about 30 nicely appointed rooms. We had a room without lake views so it faced the street which some people might find noisy. The church bells ring at 7a.m. anyway and we did not find the street noise bothersome with the windows closed and given that we were tired after a day of touring.

The front desk people are friendly and helpful.

Doubles are in the 170-200 euro range depending on views. Breakfast was hearty with a pretty good variety. There is an elevator, garden access (steep paths in the back of the property), and wifi.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are right on the street and you will get some traffic noise. Note that this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After reading the reviews, we recommended the Villa Cipressi to several friends and we all stayed there for a three-day stop on Lake Como. The view from the rooms is spectacular and one of our group reserved a suite, which looked both across and down the lake for a spectacular vista. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Varenna and Villa Cipressi combined make a great base from which to explore the Lake area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Villa Cipressi (cypress trees) was owned by the noble families from the 1400's-1800's. Loved the sense of history. Stayed here 3 nights and just loved our view from Room 303. Two huge windows with views of the lake and the lush gardens below. High ceilings, good bed, nice sized armoire with safe. Nice bathroom and both rooms were very clean. Computer and wifi at the 300 level. David at the front desk very helpful! Breakfast was lovely in the attached original part of the building dating to the 1400's! Beautiful fireplace and painted ceiling. One morning it was so lovely we took our breakfast and ate out on the terrace. Nice European breakfast spread, coffee machines and excellent staff. Be sure and get a room with a view of the lake to maximize your stay.

Room Tip: Room 303 Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
538 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £100 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna
Hotel Villa Cipressi Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing