We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Magical Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Magical Spot”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We regret not spending longer at this magical place. The Villa was something to admire, well kept and maintained - considering the age of the place.

We booked a double room with a lake view (why wouldnt you?) the room was amazing! High ceilings, neat, clean, spacious with modern amenities.

We arrived in the evening so we didn't get to enjoy the view until the morning - and what a view! It was surreal, I dreamt many times of what to expect and it was beyond anything l imagined. We fell in love with Villa Cipressi and it's garden and amazing views.

Breakfast would have to be the best one we had in Italy (which really was not all that hard to beat, considering some of the below average assortments we were served).
A lovely array of fresh produce, coffee and juices.

The staff were inviting and we cannot say anything discouraging about Villa Cipressi, apart from we wish we stayed longer .

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    111
    30
    28
    11
See reviews for
57
238
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Opening the shutters when we first arrived in our room, I felt like I was in "Mamma Mia"!! We had a fabulous view of the lake! This is a fun hotel, with large rooms (though hard beds!). The staff were wonderful, and the breakfast room was interesting....it's in an adjoining building. The breakfast is adequate with a variety of items. It really isn't hard to find, but you have to follow directions carefully! It's about a 6 or 7 minute walk to the main part of Varenna, but all of Varenna is wonderful to explore!! Beware that they entertain large groups, so weekend evenings can be noisy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed in room 402 which is in a separate part of the hotel and you have go out of the hotel and walk about 20 m along the road and then through a courtyard to reach our room. It had 2 views of the lake which was great but if it rains (as it did on one evening) there are no umbrellas provided so we got rather wet to gain access to the dining room. The first evening we could not get a meal as they had a wedding which we were not told about until quite late. This, with the music from a band was a disappointment. I cannot complain about the food which was perfectly acceptable. However, the staff with the exception of the young girls at reception and those in the dining room were rather offhand.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stedcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Like many other people on this site we were drawn to Varenna and Villa Cipressi by Rick Steve's book. Clearly both have benefitted from his reviews as the hotel and town were extremely busy compared to other areas of the lake.

I agree with some of the glowing reviews here as the hotel is in an incredibly beautiful location and I couldn't think of a more magical place to get married. However, my husband and had a terrible time at this hotel.

The book does say that the lake view rooms are exceptional and the non-lake view rooms are noisy. We could not afford a lake view room but were so drawn to the place by all we had read, we decided to go for a non-lake view room. I cannot describe how ghastly it was. Small, hot, cramped with a major road running alongside it. At 145 Euros a night it was a complete rip-off. Not only is there the noise of the road and all the motorbikes whizzing past, there is also the noise of the constant church bells and wedding parties saying ciao grazi very loudly late every evening. In addition, they have now started some kind of construction across the road from Villa Cipressi where they are hewing rock out of the mountainside. So much for the peace and quiet of the lake.

We obviously requested to be moved but the hotel was fully booked and they could only move us on our 3rd and last night there. I have to say that the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and tried their best for us. We were moved into one of the basement rooms which was slightly better only to discover after a long, hot day hiking we had no water. The staff assured us the problem would be resolved in a hour so we went out for dinner. We got back to find only cold water so we checked again with reception who said they needed to sort this out with the manager as there was an internal problem with our room and no-one else was affected. It was already late by this stage and eventually at midnight they told us that actually it was an external problem with that whole part of the hotel which they had no control over and we would not be having hot water that night and there was nowhere else for us to shower. After a day's hiking waiting up for a cold shower was truly appalling.

The next morning I checked with the surrounding rooms and they all had hot water the night before. The manager refused to give us any discount for our discomfort.

Like I said, I can't comment on people's experiences in lake view rooms but I am sure everyone must be able to hear some of the noise from the construction nearby, it is extremely loud. I would also like to comment here on Varenna.

Not knowing where to base ourselves on Lake Como we went with the book's advice and chose Varenna. It is a lovely place but every place we saw on Lake Como is beautiful and would have possibly been a better option. We found a high quality cheap hotel on the web in Lecco but was put off Lecco by a comment on a trip advisor forum which said that Lecco is the industrial part of Lake Como. We visited Lecco and yes it does have a commercial part to it but it is a big place and would have been wonderful to stay there. Lecco has cable cars to the top of the mountain and we spent the day up there, it was wonderful. It also has much better transport connections than Varenna and we had many problems getting to the airport from Varenna.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed in the Magnolia Villa at Villa Cipressi and it was the best room of our entire 2 week trip!! I can't vouch for the other rooms, but this private villa was amazing!!! It was more expense than the other rooms (around 250 euro) but it was wonderful. It had a huge bathroom, 20 ft. ceilings, a huge balcony right on lake como, a flat screen tv, and tons of space to spread out. This would be a great place to spend your honeymoon or a relaxing get away. The hotel staff was so nice, and would get you anything you needed. Considering the location and condition of the room, it was absolutely worth the price. I feel like the same type of room in the US would costs at least $1,000 per night. Kind of a splurge, but worth it!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydawgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed in the older part of the villa which we enjoyed. Charming. Wonderful location with beautiful gardens. Alana at the front desk was great...very helpful. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very nice sitting outside on the terrace.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trex93036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We had our civel marriage service at this hotel in August 2008 and it was simply magical!

The hotel itself is set in the picturesque village of Varenna, the colours of the buildings and the small port, restaurants, steps and shops (dare I go on) are amazing!

The rooms were all very nice, spacious, even though the decoration is slightly out of date, it is very quaint. The staff are exceptional! Food is magnificent. Surroundings are to die for (quite literally)! The award winning garden full of flowers is breathtaking.

We absolutely loved it here and would totally recommend that you stay at this hotel!

....And the last things to say about this hotel is....to wake up to a view like that everyday is like a dream!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeyladey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Property: Hotel Villa Cipressi
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna
Hotel Villa Cipressi Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing