We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Victoria
Nearby Hotels
US$326
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$620
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel du Lac(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
254
156
49
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
156
49
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitea lake view roomgourmet restaurantlake comovictoria grillbeautiful hotelnice pooltown squaredirect accessan ironthe main squarerestaurant staffchurch bellsperfect locationroom ratebeautiful lakesidebooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Brand new comfortable room overlooking the small characteristic square. Both restaurants with very good food and amazing location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful experience, we'll go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you so much for your review. It's important for us to see that our efforts are appreciated.

You'll always be welcome by us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few days during my holiday and i just loved it. The staff that makes you feel at home. Very professional and kind. The restaurant Gourmet with his eccellent service and food. The Grill with the best pizza of Varenna. We had a Standard room with look on the square and the church. Very nice. Next time, because we will certainly come back to this beautifull hotel we will try a Lake view room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad to read you stayed well by us.

We look forward to welcome you again during your next holiday in Italy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked two rooms for three nights September 8th. We were given a lake view room and another one overlooking the church on the other side. Both rooms were recently remodeled, beware some rooms are not and they are horrible! The next day we reported a problem with the plumbing, what happened next was a very bad experience that totally ruined our stay. Instead of an apology we got an accusation that it was our fault and that there is no plumber available for two days to fix the toilette and no lake view rooms available and were we banished into a cubby hole with a window which you are better off keeping it closed! The two different women at the reception were equally rude and unprofessional. I do not recommend this hotel, one is better off staying on the other side of the lake, Varenna is a little village with no stores to browse and really limited in every way. On the positive side, we had the half board plan and the chef was fantastic. The food was excellent!

Room Tip: Insist on a remodeled room on a higher floor. Lake view is worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olfat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoB, Direttore at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We are afraid reading your review because things didn't go exaclty this way.

You were not "given" one room lake view and one square view, but we assign you exactly the room you reserved. Concerning you comments on the other rooms, we don't know which room you accidentally saw, but maybe "horrible" is too much. Refurbishing an hotel means efforts but also time: next year all rooms will be renewed.

Concerning what happened, we only showed you that we found a bar of soap in the toilette.
The soap was not one of those the hotel offers to guests and it was the second day of your stay, so you were in that room already from the previous day.
The plumber arrived promptly, but the situation was such that he had to disassemble part of the toilette and so the bathroom was not useble for the next two days.

We assign you the last room available, since we were fully booked. We surely would assigne you a room like the one you reserved, if we had. We also deducted the amount of the difference betweent the two rooms.

We're very afraid if telling what really happened means for you be unprofessional.

We appreciate your good review concerning the food and the restaurant and you'll always be welcome in Varenna and in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We rang the Royal Victoria (after viewing it on the internet) to ask for availability. We were told there was one last remaining room, very spacious, overlooking the lake. because of that, it would be more expensive, of course. We made our booking for four nights and confirmed by giving our credit card details. When we arrived, we were taken to room 109. We were thoroughly shocked at the sight of the room, which turned out to be the smallest room in the hotel according to the posted floor plans. It was dim and dingy, hardly large enough to accommodate a double bed. Air conditioning was not working. The television was inaudible. The bathroom was so small it was not fit for purpose. The open door of the bathroom rested against the basin. There was nowhere to put soap or a hand towel, while the bath towels could only be hung over the shower enclosure, meaning that they either got soaked, or had to be placed on the floor. A very small window “overlooking the lake” was again a huge disappointment. If you looked out of it, you could see a portion of lake!

We informed the manager immediately that the room was not as described, and that we would have to leave if he could not find a suitable alternative to 109. The following day, a receptionist showed us a very agreeable room 101 and we accepted the offer. A porter brought our luggage. We unpacked our toiletries and tidied our bags. We then set out exploring the lakeside. On our return, after lunch, we were handed the key to room 133. We were told that our baggage had been moved, our toiletries packed, and we had no choice in the matter. We felt like herded cattle. The move was without our consent, our luggage was packed in our absence, and it seemed that we were stuck for another night, in spite of our total indignation at the way we were treated. We spent the rest of the day trying to find another hotel. Another wasted day.

Would we recommend the Royal Victoria to anyone when there was no sense of courtesy or decency about the way they treated their guests? This has been the most humiliating experience, and one we are sure we will take a long time to forget.

Room Tip: We would not trust the Hotel to stand by any promises made regarding description of rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MaryandJamesOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoB, Direttore at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Opie,

We are afraid reading also on the web your complain.
We already reply to your private e.mail, explaining our reasons.

We could not agree reading once more that we promised you something that you didn't obtain.
We still have the e.mail sent to you confirming the last room available we had with only a window facing the lake and not a balcony.
We already explained you that we were fully booked and we could move you to another room only because of an early departure of other guests. The room you were moved to is one of the refurbished room with big balcony, it's one of the most requested room. We though to make you'd stay better there.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Royal Victoria in room 113 with a balcony overlooking a gorgeous view of Lake Como. The hotel staff (desk and maid service) were efficient and helpful - traveled with other couples and they arranged our rooms so that we had adjoining balconies. Carlo, the bartender made wonderful cosmos and caiparinas (he was a professional who far surpassed many DC bartenders I've encountered). Our room and bath were spacious, but the balcony with the view was the best part. Unlike some other hotels in Varenna, this hotel extends it's property all the way to the lake, so no roads or businesses are between you and the view, just their patio and pool below that opens right out to the lake (and yes, there were people swimming in the lake every morning). The only downside was that the (paid - $12 for 4 days) internet service did not work in the hall that our room was in and we had to go to the lobby to access it - a bit of an inconvenience, but not a big deal. Our breakfast was included and had everything you could possibly want, pastries, eggs, meat, cheese, breads, juice, coffee (so strong, nicknamed it "mud" - order the lattee instead), yogurt, etc. We ate dinner there the first night and the food was outstanding - highly recommended (plus you get Carlo as your waiter). Lots of nearby (walkable) small shops & restaurants scattered thru the small cobblestone alleyways. The ferry is about a 10-15 minute walk along the lake. Visited Bellagio, Managgio, the Villas Carlotta and Bilbanello but Varenna was my favorite area. I looked around at other hotels during our stay and was glad to have chosen this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews