We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the centre of Varenna”
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I made a last minute booking for me and a friend at this lovely small hotel in the main square of Varenna. The staff were all great and the hotel is well organised and spotless. The breakfast was very good and the views to the lake peaceful. Nice pool. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If available get a lake view room but I had a street facing room with double glazed windows and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, we are very glad you stayed well by us.

We wait for you here for a longer holiday to discover all beauties of our lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

A lot of potential: Historic hotel in the lovely village of Varenna; own garden, swimming pool, and direct access to the lake, via a small (public) beach.
But:
-breakfast is messy and in a uninspired room (again, a lot of potential (great view), but so dull, such ugly colours). Staff is friendly, but inspired/unmotivated. Lack of table-cleaning after guests finished their breakfast.
-garden and poolarea: again, potentially great, but not well kept, lack of paint, lack of flowers. Ugly plastic tablecloths, ugly sponsored ashtrays....It all lacks style, inspiration.
The basics are ok, but this hotel could and should do much better. The building and location really deserve it.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with lake view. Be advised that the upper floor rooms have balconies with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. It's important for us to know what our guests like or dislike. We'll keep in consideration your words better to improve our services.

You'll always be welcome by us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had changed our plans and traveled to Lake Como , booking this hotel by chance. It turned out to be the most perfect stay - a suite with a balcony and Lake view with all the modern conveniences. The breakfast was lovely, the staff extremely friendly and accomodating, and the free wifi a plus. This hotel is very grand and in the perfect town to relax and enjoy everything surrounding it. The is a bank to exchange money a few doors down and a very unique little grocery shop right across the street. The bells that ring in the morning are a delight, well missed when we got home. Ciao.

Room Tip: ask for a Lake view, perfect in the morning and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Overall a great stay. We booked for one night and ended up staying for two. We had one of the lake view rooms - quiet, spacious, recently renovated and clean. The receptionists were wonderfully helpful and friendly, and the restaurant downstairs was great for a quick, tasty late night meal (recommend the lasagne, which had lasagne sheets so thin they just melted in your mouth).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Brand new comfortable room overlooking the small characteristic square. Both restaurants with very good food and amazing location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful experience, we'll go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you so much for your review. It's important for us to see that our efforts are appreciated.

You'll always be welcome by us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few days during my holiday and i just loved it. The staff that makes you feel at home. Very professional and kind. The restaurant Gourmet with his eccellent service and food. The Grill with the best pizza of Varenna. We had a Standard room with look on the square and the church. Very nice. Next time, because we will certainly come back to this beautifull hotel we will try a Lake view room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad to read you stayed well by us.

We look forward to welcome you again during your next holiday in Italy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked two rooms for three nights September 8th. We were given a lake view room and another one overlooking the church on the other side. Both rooms were recently remodeled, beware some rooms are not and they are horrible! The next day we reported a problem with the plumbing, what happened next was a very bad experience that totally ruined our stay. Instead of an apology we got an accusation that it was our fault and that there is no plumber available for two days to fix the toilette and no lake view rooms available and were we banished into a cubby hole with a window which you are better off keeping it closed! The two different women at the reception were equally rude and unprofessional. I do not recommend this hotel, one is better off staying on the other side of the lake, Varenna is a little village with no stores to browse and really limited in every way. On the positive side, we had the half board plan and the chef was fantastic. The food was excellent!

Room Tip: Insist on a remodeled room on a higher floor. Lake view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olfat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoB, Direttore at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We are afraid reading your review because things didn't go exaclty this way.

You were not "given" one room lake view and one square view, but we assign you exactly the room you reserved. Concerning you comments on the other rooms, we don't know which room you accidentally saw, but maybe "horrible" is too much. Refurbishing an hotel means efforts but also time: next year all rooms will be renewed.

Concerning what happened, we only showed you that we found a bar of soap in the toilette.
The soap was not one of those the hotel offers to guests and it was the second day of your stay, so you were in that room already from the previous day.
The plumber arrived promptly, but the situation was such that he had to disassemble part of the toilette and so the bathroom was not useble for the next two days.

We assign you the last room available, since we were fully booked. We surely would assigne you a room like the one you reserved, if we had. We also deducted the amount of the difference betweent the two rooms.

We're very afraid if telling what really happened means for you be unprofessional.

We appreciate your good review concerning the food and the restaurant and you'll always be welcome in Varenna and in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
13.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £140 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of Como Lake. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing