We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with great view”
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Extremely nice hotel, we had room to the piazza but hotel has really nice terrace and backyard for enjoying views on the Lake Como. Service was good and our room was really modern and nicely renovated. We had dinner on both restaurants and food is great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetriKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service.

We wait for you next time you'll be in Varenna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I began our Italian vacation at Royal Victoria and we could not have had a better place to stay. The views were fabulous as well as the food at the hotel restaurant. The staff was very helpful, informative and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We always try to welcome all our guests at best.

You'll always be welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a four night stay in the Royal Victoria. Our room on the top floor had a nice little balcony with a stunning view of Lake Como. The room was cheery, the bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and roomy. The staff was friendly and accommodating...and spoke English very well. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent, with a wide choice of items: cereals, juices, eggs, various rolls and tarts, meats and cheeses. The hotel is well situated right on a pretty piazza across from the church, and we had the fun of being there when the piazza was filled with a farmer's market and craft fair. It is easy to walk everywhere in Varenna, and the Royal Victoria put us right in the middle of everywhere we wanted to go. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a balcony. It is worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobsLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for your good words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We Always try to welcome all our guests at best.

Thanks so much, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in this hotel. Paid extra for a lake view room, which I would definitely recommend. View is fantastic. Staff are friendly and helpful, hotel is nicely decorated. The garden area is well kept and the pool is nice but it's not heated so a shock to the system when you jump in, Even if it is July and 25 degrees. Breakfast is okay nothing special. Service is good though. The restaurant attached to the hotel dose a great pizza but it is quite pricey like all the restaurants in varenna. Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paulief84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for your good words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We'll take your suggestions better to improve.
We always try to welcome all our guests at best.

Thanks so much, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was wonderful. Situated in a charming piazza, it includes nice grounds in back with a small swimming pool, lovely tables under an arbor for an afternoon aperative and even a small beach on the amazingly beautiful lake.

Our room (110) was small but about the normal size for Europe. It had a small Juliet balcony with one of the most beautiful views of any hotel we have stayed in.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Delicious breakfast buffet had everything you could want and more. Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for your good words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us.
Thanks so much, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked this hotel for 6 nights with 2 rooms and lake views. We were not disappointed. The rooms were first class, the food for breakfast and dinner was excellent quality and plenty of it. However my rating goes to the staff for their excellent attention to detail and the helpfulness. Our luggage was lost and they could not do more to help. What great place with the best staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room on floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for your good words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We Always try to welcome all our guests at best.

Thanks so much, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We would highly recommend this hotel. Both Varenna and the hotel are well placed to reach Bellagio, Menaggio & Lenno. The service we received from all the Staff was excellent (particularly in the Restaurant from Livio, Lorenzo & the rest of their team), we were staying half-board for 7 nights and the food was excellent, not one bad meal. The Hotel has a swimming pool which is well maintained. We had a lake view room and we were not disappointed. We read other reviews before we booked and whilst we appreciate we all have different expectations we do not agree with any of the negative reviews. However, I do understand the hotel has been going through a major refurbishment. If you have a room overlooking the square, then yes, you will hear the church bells as it is opposite the hotel. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends; and I am sure that we will re-visit this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilbey313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay by us. We always try to welcome our guests at best. We wait for you next time you'll be in Varenna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
13.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £142 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of Como Lake. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing