We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eremo Gaudio
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best View”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This review is a long time coming. My brother and I stayed here in the summer of 2012. To this day, I have fond memories of the hotel, the town Varenna, and the Lake Como. The view at the hotel was spectacular, both from the room overlooking the lake, the hotel grounds, and the top of the hotel after riding the lift up. A word of advice, car or cab is a must. We took the train here, and upon arrival could not find a cab and did not have a car. Which meant walking to the hotel with our luggage, which was not advisable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestTravelor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    176
    52
    20
    16
See reviews for
39
310
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay on the very top floor of this hotel. We took a funicular up the mountain to the 6th floor which had a view that was spectacular. The patio was large and we enjoyed sitting up there viewing Lake Como. The room was quiet and we slept well. The food in the restaurant is average yet the folks who ran the hotel were friendly and enjoyable. We will be back to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room of the Alto-top-and the 6th floor. It is up two funicular rides, which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pizzadunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights and have never found it so difficult to review a hotel!
Firstly there are 2 hotels - the lower where we stayed and an older (more expensive I presume) upper part which is 150m further up the mountain by private funicular. All rooms appear to have stunning views over the lakes.
Good - good service , cleanliness, the bar (fabulous view) and the bar food (simple and reasonably priced, with the views) and the views, the views
Bad points - our double bed was two singles that appeared to dislike each other intensely, the sound insulation between rooms was poor, the breakfast was very average with poor coffee and fruit juice, wifi was obtainable in our room and very poor elsewhere.

Similarly the location is good (high up thus the views, 10 mins walk from Varenna) and bad (MUST use a taxi if you aren't carrying your bags)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank macca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had the Varenna room at the tip-top of the hotel. This hotel is fabulous and a totally unique experience but it is not in the main part of the town. We reached it by climbing up the hill to the hotel, climbing stairs to an outdoor funicular elevator to get to a second funicular elevator, then taking an indoor elevator to the 6th floor. The view from high, high on the mountain was amazing and there are no other buildings around. We had a private balcony, clean room and bathroom, good breakfast, and nice staff helped us find a good restaurant and get a taxi. If, like us, you do not have a car, it is a fairly long walk from the ferry with part of it uphill and up stairs. If you come in at the train station I would suggest a taxi which you should probably arrange for in advance. It is worth the extra trouble to get to. You will never forget it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the very top floor with balconies are a little pricier but worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa,Fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went there for the views and location and no one could be disappointed with them unless it was obstructed by clouds. Telephone wires from your room? Go to the main patio and don't go without a good camera. Quiet and romantic too.

Room Tip: Read the reviews on this place and choose to meet your expectations. We did. Amazing. Amazing. Amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyBusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights here and absolutely loved it. We had a balcony that overlooked the lake, with the alps in the backkground. The views were awesome. The hotel is clean and simple. Nothing fancy. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast is included and it's nothing to write home about, but adequate. The hotel is up a pretty steep hill so when we left in the morning, we didn't come back until the end of the day. It's about a 10 minute walk into the town. There's a funicular that takes you to the rooms on the higher levels. We didn't have dinner there, since there's so many good restaurants in the area and the hotel did not have a very good menu. I would go back there in a minute.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a balcony. The lower level rooms would have no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southbeachdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The ad at hotels.com looks nice, but that's the upper building. The standard rooms are in a totally uncharming building below. The breakfast was the worst on our trip; everything wrapped in small plastic containers. No assosiation to great Italian food, and NO charm. Other hotels in same price-range have ber splendid, this sucks. The reception lady was nice, hence the one star...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Line D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
719 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
728 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
689 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Property: Eremo Gaudio
Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing