We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eremo Gaudio
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2008

This place was amazing. We stayed in the Suite Teodolinda. We travel a lot and this was the most expensive room we've ever stayed in. (We are Laquinta / hotwire.com people normally) This was by far completely worth the money. With our own private balcony, great views, fun elevator, delicious dinners, this place and/or this room is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueberrypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2008

We've spent some time in Varenna over the last couple of years, but noticed this hotel from the ferry and having read the reviews, decided we'd stay here for a change. Everything that's been said about the views are true. Our room was right at the top with a balcony and although basic was sparklingly clean. We ate in the restaurant at night and although the food was not fantastic, it was more than adequate and we enjoyed the lake views from dusk to dark!
My only slight criticism was of the manager who we found to be very surly and unfriendly and rather gruffly acknowledged the guests as if they were putting him out ! On the other hand, one of the girls who worked in reception and in the bar was really welcoming and chatty. It seemed she did most of the work while the manager sat round playing cards with his wife!
All in all, we loved our stay and hopefully will return for a few days next year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We took a cab from the railway station to the hotel being forewarned of the climb to get there.
The hotel was once a monastery and instead of the winding steps that lead up the mountain they have put in two glass elevator/lifts on sleds to speed you to your room. As you ride up in these contraptions the beauty of lake Como and the mountains are spread out below you.
The rooms are simple but roomy and bright especially when you throw open the windows to see your view of the lake.
The staff was courteous and very helpful throughout our stay.
I highly suggest the hotel's restaurant on the fourth floor. It has a beautiful patio with views that are stunning. The food is local as are the wines and the prices are very reasonable especially compared to the prices in Varenna or Bellagio. The food was so fresh and tasty we almost ate there again the next night. Do know that the restaurant is not open on Mondays.
It is a short down hill walk to Varenna (about 10 minutes) and onto the "lover's walk" and to the ferry station.
The continental breakfast was good with croissants and rolls and cereal, coffee, juice and spreads and honey. The breakfast is offered from 8-10am.
There is also a bar/patio where breakfast is served near the front desk and this is where we usually ended our evenings with a nightcap.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tatugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week trip to Italy and we both agree that it was our favorite accomodation/ town. Varenna is unbelievably beautiful and Eremo Gaudio offers the best views you can get. We arrived at the train station and took a taxi up to the hotel (money well spent, even with our backpacks). Check in was quick and painless and we were escorted to our room up on the 6th floor (highest level of the hotel- pay extra to stay up here, it is definitely worth it!). The room itself is a little bland- but the large, spotless bathroom and enormous balcony definitely made up for it. The views outside are breathtaking. Like others have said, the pictures just don't do it justice. After we dropped off our luggage, it was easy to make the walk to town and back. We ate dinner at the restaurant on our last night and it was excellent. Reserve a table at sunset and be amazed! Varenna is quiet and cozy. We took the opportunity to slow down and relax. Hopefully we'll make it back some day. If we do, Eremo Gaudio will be our accomodation of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amestuh_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

What can we say that the other's haven't already! The views from the hotel are totally breathtaking. Pictures just can't do it justice! Yes, the rooms are a bit sparse.....but just open up the door to the balcony and you have more beauty than you can ever imagine. We stayed 2 nights and really loved the slow pace of Varenna and our short visit to Bellagio. It is easy to walk from the hotel back to downtown and then to catch the ferry over to Bellagio. We loved walking along the waterfront and sharing a glass of vino at the little bar by the beach. It was such a great way to end our honeymoon. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoHuskies!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed for 3 days as we were guests at a wedding.

On arrivial the staff were friendly. Jon and I were booked to stay in a superior room which was on the top floor, what an amazing experience to travel up in the glass lifts, a bit scary at first but you get used to it. The room was a great size, adequate bathroom and was spotlessly clean. Seriously, for me to say that and to write it down that mean alot.

The breakfast unfortunately wasn't very exciting, bread, bread, croissants, cheese, yogurts and sweet fruit juice but the views more than made up for this.

Highly suggest you take comfortable shoes to walk in, as when you go into town and walk through the little alley-ways its very cobbley. Thought it would be a chore walking up and down to/from the hotel, but to be honest walking from town it was less than a 10 minute walk.

Will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermajestyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms at Eremo Gaudio in mid-July, 2008. Because we booked late, about two weeks before, we had no balcony. Instead, one room had a large window and the other a smaller one, but it was still great. The rooms were nice, although a bit basic (both on the lower level). The glass elevators offered stunning views and the restaurant on the top was quite good. The receptionist was very helpful as well and Varenna, the town below, was charming with lots of restaurants and little shops.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gimi393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £120 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing