We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views of the Lake”
Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eremo Gaudio
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We had an "inferior room", but there was nothing inferior about it. The rooms in the top building of the resort were booked, but our room in the bottom building still had amazing views and a little balcony. The room was very clean. The terrace/bar area was lovely and the staff was accomodating. We only stayed two nights, but wish would could have stayed more. Lake Como was certainly the highlight of our trip! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Eremo Gaudio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

We kicked off a month-long trip to Italy with 3 nights here, and it couldn't have been better. The setting is something out of a novel...pictures don't capture the breath-taking perspective of the funiculare ride or rooms at the top...the staff (especially Lorna!) were fantastic, and the room was great. The top floor has 4 rooms, all of which have their own balcony, but the one we had (Varenna room) and Lecco have such huge balconies, it's like having an extra room. Although I'm sure all rooms are wonderful, I'd strongly suggest trying to get one of those 2 if possible. The deck/balcony was so inviting and private we ended up spending most of our second day just soaking up the sun and view from there.

The breakfasts are great...especially the blood-orange juice, which I'm still trying to find back home...and although we never ate dinner there, other guests who did all gave thumbs-up.

All in all, it was magic, and a perfect place to reset your dial to the Italian way of life.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My husband and I waited a whole year to book at this hotel because on our first attempt they were booked. We managed to stay at the very top and it was well worth the wait. The room was spotlessly clean and very adequate for a weeks long stay. The walk from the town after having a large plate of pasta and drinking wine was sometimes a challenge but it's a great way to get in some exercise. Breakfasts were good and dinners in the restaurant were lovely, especially when sitting outside taking in the unbelievable scene of the lake in front of you. We absolutely loved Varenna and the convenience of this charming town on the lake. We also booked the day long cooking class with chef Moreno which was excellent and hiked to the fort nearby. What can you say about a hotel that features glass elevators up the side of a mountain to your room?? SIMPLY AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capekathybrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Beautiful views, great moutain-side restaurant (get the cheese plate), large rooms with beautiful balcony, perfect distance from town (about 10-12 minute walk). View from every part of hotel is breathtaking! Hotel also arranged for car transportation to Milan airport for reasonale price. Take the cooking class that leaves from the town square with Chef Moreno.... great fun!

Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank hmlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed here for one night on our trip from southern France through Austria back to northern Europe. We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and I have to agree with the majority of comments written. I'll try summarise the facts regarding this hotel.
+ Amazing view (this is the reason you choose this hotel!!!)
+ Clean rooms and toilet
+ Possible to park close by (when you see the place you understand what difficulty the hotel has in providing a big number of parking slots)
+ The lift to the upper section

- The owner (with his attitude he should not be meeting customers)
- The breakfast (low quality, cheap, worst one I had in Italy ever)
- The parking (there was a wedding when we stayed at the hotel, hence every spot was taken, and it was difficult to drive up the road because there was simply no space. We had a big car, so this added some extra difficulty into it)

Finally, I'm a little bit surprised by the people who state this hotel is outside the town. It is just a 5 minute walk down to the main parking square of the city, and this is a very easy walk. Safe and a nice view. You do not need the taxi to get to this place... perhaps from the train station, but otherwise not.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Our 2nd stay at Eremo Gaudio. Wonderful room with a great view. Front desk was extremely helpful. Good breakfasts. Restaurant has slipped in quality.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This past summer we traveled to Florence, Venice, Rome, Cinque Terre, and Varenna. Varenna was the most relaxing and refreshing place we visited on the trip. Varenna is also the most convenient stop to see the lake. The train stops right in town and connects through Milan. We arrived from Venice and left for Cinque Terre with almost no hassle at all. The hotel was a bit outside of town, but the views were well worth the walk. The room was nice and the a/c worked well. There is a trail head next to the hotel and we ended up walking up to the castle for the heck of it. We took a short trip to Bellagio and found where all of the crazy tourists were staying on the lake! On the second day there we decided to get a few bottles of wine, sit out on the deck and take it all in. When we arrived in Varenna were a little worried about catching the train back out at 600am on a Sunday, and luckily we asked the cabbie if she would pick us up that day at 545am at our hotel. She agreed and showed up early and we made it on time. The train station is a bit of a walk from the hotel and we saw a couple wandering up the hill to try and make the train the same morning... not sure if they tried to call for a cab that early or not?

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sopas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £119 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing