We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed in the cassa Rossa apartment, which was stunning. The view from the balcony is breath-taking and the breakfast was quite good. Hams,cheeses, bread, cereals etc. The only negetive is we found the bed very uncomfortable and had two bad night sleeps. Varenna (and this hotel) has many steps, so if you have trouble walking I would probably not recommend this place. But it is gorgeous!

Room Tip: The properties connected to this hotel are all very near the main hotel so if you like more independ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbug32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    124
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
53
375
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our second visit to Varenna and we were looking for a more intimate experience. Previously we had stayed at the Villa Cipressi which has a lot of atmosphere but now seems to be the site of destination weddings, family gatherings and such. As it was fall, it was easier for us to get a room in the main part of the hotel and with a gorgeous lake view. Our dinner in the restaurant had to be moved inside because of the weather. The service was excellent and the food to die for! Very creative, not average in any way. Our room was very pleasant, not huge but adequate for sure. We found the owners to be very kind and willing to help in any way. Although we are retired we are in good health and easily walked each way from the train station. Back IS uphill but only a short distance. There are many beautiful places on this earth and Varenna with its view of Como is one of them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polarbearmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in Casa Rossa on our recent visit to beautiful Varenna. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The view from our balcony was incredible! Room was a bit small but we weren't there much, so it wasn't a problem at all. The room and shower were both clean and well maintained. It was very hot in Varenna when we visited, so we wished for A/C. We found the bed a bit hard, but other than that our stay was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

**4 1/2 Stars**

Albergo Milano is a tidy and comfortable hotel overlooking Lake Como. I have stayed at both the main hotel and Casa Rossa (Albergo Milano owns several nearby properties), and you can't go wrong with either. Casa Rossa is maybe a hundred feet from the hotel, so the walk over for breakfast takes mere seconds. It's hard to imagine that any place in Varenna would be more than a few minutes away since the town is so small.

Breakfast is a must, if only because of the view from the hotel balcony. Gazing across the lake as the boats begin shuttling travelers from town to town sets the mood for a relaxing day. If you want a cappuccino with your breakfast, be sure to ask. One of the staff members will prepare it for you.

The front desk staff is helpful. You'll need a timetable so that you can schedule your day of town-hopping with minimal time waiting for the boats. Varenna is small, and dining options are limited. If you wish to eat at one of the nearby restaurants, you may want a reservation, so check with a staff member, who can place the reservation for you. Also, the waters of Lake Como are not as cold as you might think, and the hotel provides towels if you want to swim.

The hotel is convenient to the train station (maybe a brisk 10 minute walk), but I noticed taxis stationed outside for those who don't want to make the trek. For my part, I'd rather walk and discover Varenna and Lake Como at my own pace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FmrPresJamesTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Casa Rosa in 2008 and loved our stay. This trip we booked a bit later and were only able to get a room in the main hotel (#8). We were staying during our honeymoon and were there for 3 nights. The room was lovely with a small balcony side view and was actually enough "view" for us. The room was clean, spacious, had lots of windows, had a safe and the complimentary Wi-Fi worked wonderfully up there. The bathroom was okay and included a shower stall. There was leaking issue with the toilet and the shower smelled mildewy but it was not not bad enough so that we would not return.

The breakfast was lovely and it was nice out so we were able to take it out on the deck. We did have a dinner there one night and it was absolutely fantastic and cannot believe we did not eat there at least once during our last visit.

There were some downsides to note such as that the safe is apparently quite delicate and one needs to be careful of the size laptop you shove in there. it is sensitive enough that if something makes contact with the door it locks up and we had to get Bettina up there to help us. She was very gracious about it and told us we were not the only ones. Also, given the area is a place to relax we would have liked to have a mini-bar to store our own wine.

One item we need to mention which did mess with our schedule was the water issue they seem to have. During peak times (around 7am) we found ourselves unable to get ANY water from the faucet or shower and when we did, it was cold. We raised the issue to the owners while someone else was obviously doing the same and it sounded like they were surprised it was as bad as we were claiming. I suspect there were just others who did not saying anything and just waited for a shower. While we were in no means in a hurry, when I want to shower, I should not have to wait for water while in a hotel of this price. It was disappointing and we never had issues like this while staying in Casa Rosa a few buildings down.

Also, although dinner was lovely we did not know we could just bill it to the room and oddly enough we kept trying to get the staff's attention to settle our bill and nobody would stop. it was strange...and we have traveled a lot. It would seem most were billing to the room...well, how would we know that was a given?

Other than all that, a very lovely place and we would definitely stay there again when we return to Varenna. (We might inquire on whether they fixed the water issue next time though...if we stay in the main hotel.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - even the side view with a balcony (at least room 8) was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Have just returned from 5 wonderful days at Albergo Milano cannot praise Edgidio and Bettina enough!!! Bettina was lovely extremely respectful nothing was too much trouble, Bettina went out of her way to be welcoming, helpful and gave us all the information we could need from where to go and what to see around Lake Como. Edgidio was charming and kept us laughing with wonderful stories in fact all of your staff were fantastic. Your hotel and the location is truly magical!!! To start the day with breakfast on the terrace in beautiful sunshine was amazing and then to finish with dinner on the terrace in the evening you just couldn't get any better and the food cooked by the hotel's chef was excellent. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake our views were amazing and our room was very comfortable with everything we needed. Varenna is so quaint and beautiful definitely our favourite place on Lake Como and we are so happy we chose to stay at Albergo Milano.

I am totally amazed by the reviews referring to the steps at Albergo Milano as Lake Como is full of beautiful and quaint towns and villages. Everywhere we visited around the Lake we encountered steps but this is part of the charm of the area. I do not understand how visitors can complain about the steps at the hotel but have no problem with the steps around Varenna and every other village or town around Lake Como it just does not make sense!!! I firmly believe if you treat people respectfully you will receive the same in return, we cannot compliment Edgidio and Bettina enough, we have stayed in many places in Italy and Albergo Milano Hotel and Varenna have most definitely gone to the top of our list, stunning and beautiful, we can't wait to visit and stay at your hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Not to be missed! Bettina & Egidio Mallone are excellent hoteliers. Egi's family owns and operates the Grand Tremezzo across the lake which is arguably one of the best hotels on Lake Como. Bettina grew up in St. Moritz in Switzerland. I live and work in NYC and in the course of my business travels I have stayed at some great boutique hotels in Europe, and this experience was terrific.
This couple truly owns and operates this hotel. They were available for any and all requests my girlfriend and I had. Bettina was very helpful in planning our day trips around the lake, making sure we understood the entire area and its highlights. We realized our departure was later than expected and they were very gracious in accommodating our last minute request for a late checkout. The meals were some of the best parts. Egi clearly grew up doing this.He is both very personable and understands how to engage or disengage from his clients based on his experience. My girlfriend and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner on the terrace. Egi told some charming stories then left us to enjoy our meal.

The hotel itself is stunning. We stayed in the apartment Casa Gialla which was beautiful. The weather during our stay was a scorching 95F 35C, and the humidity had to be 80% but inside that apartment it was always naturally cool due to the walls being stone 3 feet thick! What a savior.

Having read the three not so happy reviews of this hotel, clearly two were written by older folks of infirm health. Lake Como is an alpine lake - thus it is surrounded by mountains. Varenna is a village carved out of the mountain, that is one of the secrets to its charm. Many of the towns surrounding Lake Como require being able to walk, and walk well. If you don't fit this description perhaps stay in Como city or Lecco where the locations are more level.

As always I suggest reading any critique with a discerning eye. My girlfriend and I considered our stay in Varenna the highlight of our trip, which began with a wedding in Lecco. We look forward to returning to this hotel.

P.S. I put it along side: Lydmar in Stockholm for view, Urban in Madrid for service, and Place Vendome in Paris for room quality and appeal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Property: Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing