We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Rossa”
Review of Albergo Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our days in Casa Rossa were amongst the best in our lives. Albergo Milano is a treasure and Casa Rossa is a special addition to that experience. We slept in a firm and lovely double bed with an elegant ceiling fan above our heads. Our door to the balcony was but a few feet away and we fell asleep and awoke to the sweet and gorgeous setting that is Lago di Como. Service at the Albergo Milano is top notch. Dinner on the rooftop restaurant is an experience not to be missed. Could never give a stronger recommendation with one caveat: Travel lightly and be capable of some serious climbing up and down. There is a small price for one of your best travel experiences ever!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in Casa Rosa on the second floor. We had an amazing view with a small balcony that overlooks Lake Como. The double bed was comfortable and felt like one mattress.

It was so nice to wake in the morning to the sounds of Italians on the street below greeting each other and getting their day started. The sounds of the town are just amazing.

Varena is one of the quintessential Italian villages with very old cobble stone streets bordered by colorful brick and stone walls, flower pots and amazing glimpses of the water below.

There are no cars in the heart of the village. If you will be driving, plan ahead and work with your hotel to reserve a parking place. DO THIS VERY EARLY. We had a car and thankfully had access to a private garage through the hotel.

We had a fantastic experience with this hotel. They provide WiFi and a great restaurant a few blocks from Casa Rosa. Such a wonderful visit. YES YES YES! We would visit again and again!

Room Tip: You must have a room with a balcony to soak in the wonderful atmosphere of Varenna and Lake Como!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at Albergo Milano at the end of August 2013, all in Casa Rossa, a second guest building a couple of blocks over from the main one that also features the dining terrace. The first two nights were in the fourth floor at the top of the building, the last one in a very small room on the second floor.

The fourth floor unit is awesome! A nicely situated and quiet balcony directly overlooks Lake Como with a spectacular view. The unit is spacious with a nicely equipped kitchenette with refrigerator (but we weren't there for cooking), lots of windows and a comfortable bed. It's really quite enthralling to wake up with a mountain view directly before your eyes! The bathroom was ample and well equipped, attractive in red tile and the shower had fine pressure. The unit has basically windows on three sides and when the side ones are open, you can hear quiet conversation of the locals on the sidewalk below and then pinch yourself to make sure this fantastic setting is where you are staying. It was well worth carrying both of our 50 pound suitcases up four flights of stairs!

The room on the second floor (there are two on the floor, I believe this was unit 15) was clean and well furnished and quiet, but tiny. It has an enjoyable but shared balcony that also directly overlooks the lake and is adequate. However, the two of us could barely avoid tripping over each all the time. It was a challenge finding space for the suitcases. And there was no kitchenette. We would not have been happy campers had this been our only room. (We had to move because the fourth floor wasn't available all three nights.)

Bridgette and her husband are superb hosts. And the staff was very attentive, helpful and knowledgeable about local activities. Breakfast was very good. We appreciated the different espresso and coffee options and the breads sourced locally.

All in all, a wonderful stay and the place we would definitely return to when we go back. No question about it.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify you are interested in a room with a direct lake view. Avoid the tiny room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlbythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights ( two in Albergo Milano and one in one of the nearby apartments). Our room in the hotel had a fantastic view and both places were well equipped. The staff were very attentive and could not have been nicer. The restaurant on site, overlooking Lake Como is excellent. Highly recommend it. Scott, Florida August 2013

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the largest Casa Rossa apartment as all the smaller rooms were taken. It was a little more than we had planned on but it was really worth it. We had a full kitchen and a wonderful terrace. View was incredible. So beautiful and peaceful. Quick, easy walk to dock to catch ferries to all stops on Lake Como. Varenna was a perfect choice for us. Tiny, quiet town with beautiful gardens to explore, restaurants on the waters edge or in little alley ways. Perfect way to end a three week trip around Italy!

Room Tip: I recommend this room because of large terrace with two lounge chairs and a table and chairs to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel Milano, which is top rated in Varenna is very popular and difficult to reserve but they have four rooms in a nearby building. We stayed in the "Casa Rossa" which was quite nice though up four flights of steep stairs.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Casa Rosa which is an adjunct of the Hotel Milano. Beautiful very small room but up 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Loved staying at Albergo Milano. We splurged and got a room with a terrace. INCREDIBLE view. The room was very inviting with a great bathroom. Breakfast was the typical Italian breakfast but with outdoor dining. Everyone was very nice there. As with most places in Varenna, stairs can be an issue but are manageable. There is no air-conditioning but the rooms have ceiling fans which do the trick. It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Splurging on a terrace is great. They also have small balconies on some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy (Formerly Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £100 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing