We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very welcoming.”
Review of Albergo Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent 4 nights at Albergo Milano in October 2013. Except for the owners and most of the staff, the hotel met my expectations. The owners and desk staff were unfriendly. I never saw a smile, heard a welcome, hello or thank you from any of them. The servers at breakfast and dinner were the only gracious people I met in this hotel. Bettina was aloof and her husband seemed evenless interested. Very chilly, especially for HOSTS. The hotel, room and food were allgoo

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank jackietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Milano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed three nights in the Casa Rossa as did our friends (two other rooms). The Casa Rossa was one of our favorite locations and hotels during our three weeks in Italy. The view from our room and balcony was breathtaking, you couldn't ask for a better view. The breakfast buffet was great, the staff were helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were spotless. There's a safe, a fridge, and yes - there are stairs. If you don't like stairs don't go to Varenna or you won't be happy. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station but our group (all of us are late 60s) managed to make it both directions without incident. The directions from the website are adequate to find the hotel. Lots of restaurants within a short distance from the hotel and a great place to relax. I don't know how the rooms are in the main hotel but I would ask for our room in the Casa Rossa again and I plan on going back soon. IF the weather is nice breakfast on the terrace is worth the price of the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAROLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A few caveats when reviewing a place to stay in Varenna: 1) rooms that don't necessitate climbing stairs are few and far between 2) unless you plan using your room simply to sleep (no lounging around), you must ask for--and pay for--a view 3) Varenna and the surround Lakes district is quite spendy, even in the off-season.

And this leads me to the 4-star review, instead of 5. Room was spotless and perfectly comfortable. The bathroom looked like it was recently updated and was very clean. Staff were nice enough (there was a large-ish tour group when we arrived so the staff was a bit busy). We paid for a lake view (but stayed in Casa Rosa--just a few steps away from the main building to save a tiny bit of money). The view from our tiny balcony was stunning and it was nice to have balcony doors opening up to the lake for fresh air. (Note that all rooms in Casa Rosa are on the third or fourth floor; generally, if you want a room with a view in Vernazza, you will have to climb stairs.)

Why the four stars then? Without a view, this room would have felt claustrophobic. Having traveled in Europe before, I am accustomed to small rooms; however, this one was tiny (and I am a tiny person myself). Also, although we traveled in the off-season (late October), the price was quite steep for what you get. I think this is the "average" going rate in Vernazza; but, still . . .

So, no problems overall with this hotel (or the staff) but it's helpful to adjust your expectations when visiting the Lakes district

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JetSetLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying for two nights in October. Varenna was the first stop in a two week tour of Northern Italy and we could not have been more pleased to have started our trip at this lovely property. Due to a late bus from the airport to the Milan train station we missed our anticipated train and were not able to arrive until 9:30 in the evening. After calling the property to inform them of this they graciously accommodated us for a late dinner which was absolutely wonderful. We highly recommend having dinner here if you can. The staff was warm and welcoming and very helpful in answering any questions we had during our stay.

We stayed in Room 5 with a small balcony. The view is the star here, waking up to a first row view of Lake Como with the mountains in the background was breathtaking. I highly recommend enjoying a glass of wine while taking in the natural beauty and the charm of Varenna around you. The room was simple but comfortable. The proprietors have done an excellent job of renovating the property, updating where necessary (compact, but modern bathroom, great shower) while respecting the character that makes the house unique. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate for breakfasting on their terrace, but the dining room takes full advantage of the stunning views to enjoy while planning your day over great coffee and good food.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Albergo Milano as well as Varenna itself. Highly recommended as a home base to enjoy the beauty of the area and let your pulse slow.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a view, you'll be glad you did.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lebnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Loved this boutique B&B! It was even nicer in person than on the website, which is rare...I feel like it's usually the reverse. Everyone was very nice and accommodating. We stayed in the Casa Rossa with a lake view that I felt was an excellent value. The room was clean, comfy and the bathroom was beautiful, as well as the view!! It was a great location in Varenna, and I would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: I didn't mind staying out of the main hotel part in the Casa Rossa...I thought it was quiet and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in one of the Cassa apartments. It was great. Plenty of room, small kitchen, nice bathroom. Short walk to the main hotel where breakfast is served each morning. The view from the hotel is awesome. The food at the hotel restaurant was also fantastic.I would recommend the fixed price menu 3 coarse dinner..several selections to choose from. Staff very friendly and helpful. If going to Lake Como stay here in the small town of Varenna.Great area to explore the lake from.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakenagsheadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice place with clean small rooms. Our partial lake view room was exactly that. Updated bathroom. Wifi in room iffy. Nice couple runs this but it wasn't as good as expected, especially for the price.. Very difficult to get to unless walking in Italy. First time in 15 years of traveling by car in Italy to small towns that I could drive up to, or even close to,the hotel. No help for luggage. No parking. Breakfast was typical for small Italian inn. Nice to eat on the terrace in good weather.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guanacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
525 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy (Formerly Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £100 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing