We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good rooms”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment for three set in a separate building. It was a good location and very comfortably furnished.
We also stayed in a lake view double room. This room was small but the view was superb.
Breakfast was quite limited but service was good.
Would recommend the hotel but with lots of steps, it's not ideal for anyone with a disability or difficulty walking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank srejtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    127
    47
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
383
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Thankyou Bettina and Egidio! We loved our stay with you and especially as it was out of season and so quiet with the most incredible blue skies and warm weather for March. We really appreciated our two huge balcony rooms on the front of the lake . Everything about the rooms are perfect and although one of our rooms was very tight, (Room 1) it all works, especially the great ensuite. (one had a shower, the other a bath if you have a preference) We had lots of fun on our deck chairs watching the sun go down. Good for two couples to be right next to each other. The breakfasts were with everything you could want and it was a pleasant change to see cereals but the usual meats and cheeses are there. (Diet and Cholesterol tabs needed once home!) If were werent travelling with such large bags with ski boots and helmets and winter coats there would be no problem in Room 1 for gear. Have a lovely summer and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 with bath and balcony/deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rascalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in the main hotel after having two nights in Milan, we wanted to go and see Lake Como and have a good base to see the sights. The hotel is easy to find from the train station and on arrival we were welcomed by the owner. She was very helpful with suggestions of how to spend our time and what was possible during our visit. The room was amazing, perfectly adequate space, you don't expect massive rooms when you are in a character village, it's not specially designed 5 star plush hotels in this area but very quaint original houses. The room was spotless, well equipped, and the bathroom, although small was perfect and even had a view of the lake from the shower. What more could you wish for. Breakfast ticked all the boxes and again, the view over the lake was spectacular.

Lake Como is expensive to visit, but it was well worth it for a once in a lifetime trip. Varenna is a quieter village than Bellagio but it really is a charming place to stay and with regular ferries to the other villages it's perfect to stay in as the train from Milan was easy.

Room Tip: I would think any room in either the hotel or apartments is perfect, the location is so good you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyloWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We were only there for one night after a city break in Milan. The location is very conveniently located, manageable walking distance to the train station and ferry. It was a rather quiet area which was exactly what we wanted. The dinner and the service was very good. Our room was not big but sufficient for a one night stay. The overall experience was great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LWMV W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent 4 nights at Albergo Milano in October 2013. Except for the owners and most of the staff, the hotel met my expectations. The owners and desk staff were unfriendly. I never saw a smile, heard a welcome, hello or thank you from any of them. The servers at breakfast and dinner were the only gracious people I met in this hotel. Bettina was aloof and her husband seemed evenless interested. Very chilly, especially for HOSTS. The hotel, room and food were allgoo

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank jackietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAIRHOPE
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed three nights in the Casa Rossa as did our friends (two other rooms). The Casa Rossa was one of our favorite locations and hotels during our three weeks in Italy. The view from our room and balcony was breathtaking, you couldn't ask for a better view. The breakfast buffet was great, the staff were helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were spotless. There's a safe, a fridge, and yes - there are stairs. If you don't like stairs don't go to Varenna or you won't be happy. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station but our group (all of us are late 60s) managed to make it both directions without incident. The directions from the website are adequate to find the hotel. Lots of restaurants within a short distance from the hotel and a great place to relax. I don't know how the rooms are in the main hotel but I would ask for our room in the Casa Rossa again and I plan on going back soon. IF the weather is nice breakfast on the terrace is worth the price of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HAROLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A few caveats when reviewing a place to stay in Varenna: 1) rooms that don't necessitate climbing stairs are few and far between 2) unless you plan using your room simply to sleep (no lounging around), you must ask for--and pay for--a view 3) Varenna and the surround Lakes district is quite spendy, even in the off-season.

And this leads me to the 4-star review, instead of 5. Room was spotless and perfectly comfortable. The bathroom looked like it was recently updated and was very clean. Staff were nice enough (there was a large-ish tour group when we arrived so the staff was a bit busy). We paid for a lake view (but stayed in Casa Rosa--just a few steps away from the main building to save a tiny bit of money). The view from our tiny balcony was stunning and it was nice to have balcony doors opening up to the lake for fresh air. (Note that all rooms in Casa Rosa are on the third or fourth floor; generally, if you want a room with a view in Vernazza, you will have to climb stairs.)

Why the four stars then? Without a view, this room would have felt claustrophobic. Having traveled in Europe before, I am accustomed to small rooms; however, this one was tiny (and I am a tiny person myself). Also, although we traveled in the off-season (late October), the price was quite steep for what you get. I think this is the "average" going rate in Vernazza; but, still . . .

So, no problems overall with this hotel (or the staff) but it's helpful to adjust your expectations when visiting the Lakes district

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JetSetLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Property: Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing