We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The setting, the service - top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The setting, the service - top notch”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times now, most recently in the apartment Casa Rosa. It's a lovely spot where you can truly unpack and settle in. Spectacular view from the terrace and a big, lovely room and kitchen to hang in. The staff and service is always very, very good. We'll be back (again).

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SportsTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    127
    47
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
386
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is down an alley completely inaccessible by car and the annex is further still, with many uneven steps down and then two sets of stairs to the rooms. No lift in the annex. The recommended drop off by the hotel is on a blind bend in a no stop zone. The car park is c.1 km away. The rooms in the annex do not have good sound proofing between the rooms.

Restaurant terrace is in an outstanding location with great views of the lake. Food is first rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A and L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What I Was Searching/Hoping For: It was the first stop of our honeymoon so I was hoping to find a romantic quaint town with a hotel that made us feel special. I went back and forth between Varenna, Menaggio, and Bellagio. Must haves were the location, a room with an awesome view, and nice amenities/staff to make our stay a special one for this occasion. I also booked the honeymoon package (555 Euros...for 3 nights plus a bunch of stuff ...didn't save us any money...but ended up essentially just purchasing some amazing worthwhile things and experiences).

What I Got: We ended up choosing Varenna since it seemed to have the better restaurants of the three towns and although it was the smallest, it was also the least touristy. Plus it served as an easy access point to tour the area by ferry and also the train to Milan. The hotel is located 3 minutes walking from the ferry. Arriving with two big suit cases was a bit cumbersome for my new wife and I, but it was a tiny detractor from the start of our honeymoon. I used my newlywed muscles to get both suit cases up the stairs to the entrance of our building in the Casa Rossa and then up 2 stories to our room (14). We walked in and we both laughed at how outrageously beautiful the view was. Our little private balcony had the most spectacular unobstructed view of the lake. The town's scenery surrounding helped frame a storybook picture. The room itself was great for our 3 night stay. The bathroom was surprisingly modern and felt like a luxury hotel. The beds (like all in Italy) were two twins pushed together...but still comfortable. The honeymoon package included olive oil, a bottle of bubbly, a 3 course dinner at their restaurant La Vista (had the best scallops of my life) and without a doubt the most stunning sunset I've ever experienced. It also included a picnic lunch with entrance to a villa garden. I thought it would be a simple sandwich and chips. I was wrong. It was a huge meal with little salmon sandwich bites, a roasted chicken with potatoes and tomatoes, a wonderful dessert, and of course some wine. Breakfast was also included at the hotel and is fairly standard for Italy. But eating it on the patio of La Vista made it magical. Lastly, Bettina, the owner was wonderful. I had a million questions for her before booking and once I got there. She answered all of them and communicated frequently. She made sure we could change our dinner reservations when we wanted to at the last minute (and still made sure we got the best seat in the house).

Final Word: Forget Bellagio (too touristy) - come stay to Varenna (they have an awesome castle at the top of the hill). I had high expectations (i.e. wanted a magical honeymoon start) and got exactly that and then some at Albergo Milano.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 or 15 in Casa Rossa have spectacular balconies. Make sure you ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DimitryCohen263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the understanding that we were staying in a double room for 4 nights. We turned up at the hotel and we were escorted (50m away) to an apartment with living room, bedroom and kitchen on two levels. The space was good to have but the apartment was basic and felt dark as it did not get any sunlight on it. There was a balcony to sit out on but it was overlooked and didn't feel private. The apartment was only cleaned on the third day we were there; we were expecting this to happen everyday. The traffic noise from the road was very loud and we had difficultly getting to sleep with windows open as there was no AC. The walk to breakfast on rainy mornings wasn't great and the girls were slow at bringing more food out. We asked to move but they could only move us for our final night and we didn't have time to move our things over in the day. Speaking to others at breakfast, they seem to have really enjoyed their experience and one couple booked for the following year. I suspect we had a bad experience because we were in the apartment (Casa 3 Archi). The hotel is in a great location and the hotel owner is really lovely to talk to.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjpparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Albergo Milano Hotel and Restaurant was the perfect place for my family of three to stay. The hotel and restaurant have an incredible view over the beautiful lakeside town of Varenna in Lake Como. The room was a bit small for our family of 3 but fine for 2 people. The management and employees were great to deal with and run a first class organization. The views from our room and the restaurant were awesome. It was one of our favorite places to visit in Italy a few weeks ago. The restaurant had the best food in town and we had a dinner that we`ll never forget. Bettina lined me up one day for a boat rental and that just made our trip. Going to Varenna is a must if you go to Italy. Albergo Milano is a charming hotel and the best place to stay. Their rates are reasonable compared to many places in Italy.

Room Tip: They only have a handful of rooms. If you can get a lakeside balcony room, that would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is a superb restaurant. The food is fabulous. The views amazing. If visiting Varenna do eat here. A very special restaurant. Or if celebrating a special occasion take the roof terrace over. They deal very well with big numbers and a high standard of food.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Albergo Milano is a family-owned, beautiful, unique property in the heart of old town Varenna with unbeatable views of the lake. Bettina and her staff are professional, courteous and go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and memorable. We stayed in the Tre Archi apartment located a block or so down the quaint pedestrian alley from the hotel. The apartment was nicely appointed and maintained with a fully operational kitchen. The nicest feature is the al fresco eating area on a small terrace sitting atop one of the arches that spans the street below. From the terrace you have a stunning view of the lake and surrounding mountains through the narrow street that leads to the shore and city waterfront below. There is a narrow spiral staircase that leads between the floors, so this apartment is not suitable for small children under 6, the elderly, or anyone with mobility issues. The bedroom and bath are on the bottom floor. The bed is unusually comfortable for a hotel with a high quality foam mattress and pillows. We slept well with the window open and the fan on for ventilation. The only real drawback for this unit is the lack of internet connectivity, which meant we had to spend a lot of time in the main hotel lobby with our tablets and phones. It was a bigger nuisance than we expected because we didn't realize how reliant on internet connectivity we'd become for managing business and communications. That being said, the staff did go out of their way to let us sit at a table on the terrace of the restaurant when one was available. And we also got to be good friends with the old blind cat, Sashimi, who has her run of the place. In summary, if you are looking for the Italian vacation of your dreams then Albergo Milano can help you make it a reality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
432 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Property: Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing