We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Albergo Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We spent two night in April in Albergo Milano and can only support what has been written in Tripadvisor about it. The location is absolutely marvellous and one can't just get enough from the superb view the rooms with sea lake view offer. The rooms are relatively small which is not unususal for Italian hotels but they are very well looked after and decorated with taste but the beds are really hard !! Otherwise every detail is well thought through and far away from being an ordinary tourist hotel. The breakfast though could do a bit better - when all rooms are booked you have to be quick. Nevertheless Milano as a "boutique hotel" offers still good value for money and Varenna itself is one of the prettiest places on lake Como anyhow.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilian2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2009

This was a special place to stay on our last trip.

We stayed two nights as part of package. The package included dinner for two, wine with dinner and a welcome aperitif.

The room we were allocated number 2 was undoubtably the best room in the hotel, it was slightly larger than Room 1 and had access to a large balcony overlooking the Lake.

The view and location was stunning. The owner, his wife and staff member were at all tme friendly and helpful, and they made sure that all aspects of the package were delivered without us ever having to prompt for anything.

The meal was prepared by the owner, but was served in the location of the Hotel restaurant and was the equal to any meal we have had in a Hotel Restaurant.

We had to catch a train that left before breakfast on the final morning, the owner ensured that a special breakfast serving was prepared reay for us to consume before we left.

We wish we were able to stay at the property again, perhaps if we are lucky we will be able to.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Walked in without a reservation. They were just opening for the season. We chose a lovely double room with a gorgeous view. The room was comfortable and we experienced great hospitality! Ate our first meal there , as well, one of the best we experienced on our travels thru Italy. I would love to return during the season when more places are open, and qyou can take advantage of the lake activities. A warm and wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrossjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

This is a wonderful and elegant small hotel owed and managed by a delightful couple who pride themselves on operating a first class operation. The reception was quick and easy, the room, the welcome coktail and a dinner to die for were only complimentary to the whole experience. Not a place for kids. The location is within 15 minutes of the train station and is a steep walk both up and down hills to get there-taxi from the station may be your best bet. Rooms and amenties were first class all the way.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailbetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We stayed in Casa Rosa only for a weekend and loved the place. We booked a double room with balcony, and made a dinner reservation (in the main hotel) well in advance (beginning of March) for our stay in July - I would advise early booking.

As the previous posters suggested - this is not the place for large luggage as there are a lot of stairs to get to the hotel and also to carry inside of it (our room was on the fourth floor). If you are coming from a Milano airport, I highly recommend taking a taxi instead of bus/train/walk. While taxi is on a expensive side - 140 Euros from/to Malpensa, it is well worth it. After our experience on the arrival (overcrowded bus and train, and nothing scenic to see along the way), we decided to book a taxi for our way back (we had a luck for getting one for 70 Euros - thanks to a very kind and accommodating receptionist in Albergo Milano for calling a few taxi drivers from the reception).

Lake Como is definitely not a place to "cheap out", especially if you are planning to stay only for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blok_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

After reading many positive comments on TripAdvisor, we decided to book one night at Albergo Milano in Varenna on the shore of Lake Como. The room/bath itself was perfectly servicable (very nicely renovated), and the restaurant was absolutely fantastic (freshest of seafood, great service, very nice local wine list and all at a very resonable price of 60 Euro/person, give or take). However, I do have a couple of caveats for anyone considering this hotel: first, the hotel is not air conditioned (which we were aware of), we had the misfortune to be visiting when the weather was extremely hot (high 90'sF during the day - after all, it was July) and we were advised not to open the windows due to insects. The area did cool down considerably once the sun went down, and there was an oscillating fan available in the room, but it was nevertheless a miserably hot, sleepless night. Second, there is no auto access so be prepared to "schlep" your luggage several long blocks downhill and then back uphill when you leave. We ended up going to our car, unpacking/transferring into a small roller bag the minimum we'd need for just the one night and leaving everything else in the car. We were on a 4 week driving trip of Europe so we had packed quite a lot. Knowing what I know about Albergo Milano now, I'd consider staying again (in the off season!) and I'd pack accordingly. It's worth a visit just to have dinner at the restaurant. Fantastic food, even better view. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed at the Cassa Rosa annex of Albergo Milano in Varenna, Lake Como for 2 nights. I could have stayed longer in beautiful Lake Como. Definitely not for those traveling with larger suitcases. We walked from the train station to the main hotel, very easy to find and an nice 10 min walk, not too hilly. After we checked into the main hotel we were shown to our room next door by Bettina. My boyfriend carried both our 50 lb bags up several flights on stairs (thank goodness he's in good shape!). My comments on the room, very small, bathroom was small, shower was extremely tiny, but complaining aside the view from our tiny balcony was so amazing, directly on the lake, and to be honest we really spent minimal time in the room, we were out exploring the different towns all day long. The first night we had dinner at the main hotel, what a great location. Unfortunately, they were experiencing a cold front, but we still ate outside and they brought bright yellow fleece blankets for the ladies. Our hosts were the best, very helpful and accommodating. Next time I'd like to check out the main hotel, but I recommend doing this well in advance. I tried to book in March for a September trip and the hotel was sold out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelgirl056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy (Formerly Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £90 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing