We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairytale!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fairytale!”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This must be the best place to stay if you want to experience the beauty of central Como. The hotel is beautiful, the staff likewise, the views are stunning. And - dining in the hotel restaurant is a genuine experience: Good food, real dedication to good food and a spectacular scene!
We stayed 4 nights in the two uppermost rooms facing the lake - what a dream! Don't tell anyone else....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne-Thorbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    124
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
53
376
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We spent two night in April in Albergo Milano and can only support what has been written in Tripadvisor about it. The location is absolutely marvellous and one can't just get enough from the superb view the rooms with sea lake view offer. The rooms are relatively small which is not unususal for Italian hotels but they are very well looked after and decorated with taste but the beds are really hard !! Otherwise every detail is well thought through and far away from being an ordinary tourist hotel. The breakfast though could do a bit better - when all rooms are booked you have to be quick. Nevertheless Milano as a "boutique hotel" offers still good value for money and Varenna itself is one of the prettiest places on lake Como anyhow.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilian2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This was a special place to stay on our last trip.

We stayed two nights as part of package. The package included dinner for two, wine with dinner and a welcome aperitif.

The room we were allocated number 2 was undoubtably the best room in the hotel, it was slightly larger than Room 1 and had access to a large balcony overlooking the Lake.

The view and location was stunning. The owner, his wife and staff member were at all tme friendly and helpful, and they made sure that all aspects of the package were delivered without us ever having to prompt for anything.

The meal was prepared by the owner, but was served in the location of the Hotel restaurant and was the equal to any meal we have had in a Hotel Restaurant.

We had to catch a train that left before breakfast on the final morning, the owner ensured that a special breakfast serving was prepared reay for us to consume before we left.

We wish we were able to stay at the property again, perhaps if we are lucky we will be able to.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Walked in without a reservation. They were just opening for the season. We chose a lovely double room with a gorgeous view. The room was comfortable and we experienced great hospitality! Ate our first meal there , as well, one of the best we experienced on our travels thru Italy. I would love to return during the season when more places are open, and qyou can take advantage of the lake activities. A warm and wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrossjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

This is a wonderful and elegant small hotel owed and managed by a delightful couple who pride themselves on operating a first class operation. The reception was quick and easy, the room, the welcome coktail and a dinner to die for were only complimentary to the whole experience. Not a place for kids. The location is within 15 minutes of the train station and is a steep walk both up and down hills to get there-taxi from the station may be your best bet. Rooms and amenties were first class all the way.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailbetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We stayed in Casa Rosa only for a weekend and loved the place. We booked a double room with balcony, and made a dinner reservation (in the main hotel) well in advance (beginning of March) for our stay in July - I would advise early booking.

As the previous posters suggested - this is not the place for large luggage as there are a lot of stairs to get to the hotel and also to carry inside of it (our room was on the fourth floor). If you are coming from a Milano airport, I highly recommend taking a taxi instead of bus/train/walk. While taxi is on a expensive side - 140 Euros from/to Malpensa, it is well worth it. After our experience on the arrival (overcrowded bus and train, and nothing scenic to see along the way), we decided to book a taxi for our way back (we had a luck for getting one for 70 Euros - thanks to a very kind and accommodating receptionist in Albergo Milano for calling a few taxi drivers from the reception).

Lake Como is definitely not a place to "cheap out", especially if you are planning to stay only for a few days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blok_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

After reading many positive comments on TripAdvisor, we decided to book one night at Albergo Milano in Varenna on the shore of Lake Como. The room/bath itself was perfectly servicable (very nicely renovated), and the restaurant was absolutely fantastic (freshest of seafood, great service, very nice local wine list and all at a very resonable price of 60 Euro/person, give or take). However, I do have a couple of caveats for anyone considering this hotel: first, the hotel is not air conditioned (which we were aware of), we had the misfortune to be visiting when the weather was extremely hot (high 90'sF during the day - after all, it was July) and we were advised not to open the windows due to insects. The area did cool down considerably once the sun went down, and there was an oscillating fan available in the room, but it was nevertheless a miserably hot, sleepless night. Second, there is no auto access so be prepared to "schlep" your luggage several long blocks downhill and then back uphill when you leave. We ended up going to our car, unpacking/transferring into a small roller bag the minimum we'd need for just the one night and leaving everything else in the car. We were on a 4 week driving trip of Europe so we had packed quite a lot. Knowing what I know about Albergo Milano now, I'd consider staying again (in the off season!) and I'd pack accordingly. It's worth a visit just to have dinner at the restaurant. Fantastic food, even better view. Just beautiful!

  • Liked — Location/views/restaurant
  • Disliked — Room was HOTTTTT!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Property: Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing