We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful-Will be Back!”
Review of Albergo Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We could not disagree more with the previous post. The hotel is a super charming 8 room hotel with STUNNING views of Lake Como. The owners are fantastic, and help out however they can. The entire hotel and rooms were recently re-done, and the room, quite frankly, was not nearly as small as others that I have stayed in while traveling in Europe. Our breakfast experience was fantastic, and the only down side was having to leave the hotel and Varenna. Sure, if you are looking for a Four Seasons with room service, etc, then this may not be your place. But, if you are looking for a small boutique hotel, with great staff, and all around to die for scenery and relaxation then this is your place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

April 23-24, 2009
We began our 3-week Italian trip here, and we are pleased that our trip began so well. Arriving early we were welcomed to our requested room, number 8, which had a 90° view of the lake and cross to Menaggio. Our room was not large but with a king bed and noticeable cleanliness, we were pleased with the room. The bathroom had a glaring fault of water spray getting out of the shower and flooding the floor. Each night we used our towels to absorb the excess water. I informed Bettina and she said that I should not aim the spray at the crack which I thought was unpractical and unhelpful. Outside our room were workmen operating jackhammers and chisels. The noise prevented us from using the balcony except in the very early morning.
Another inconvenience was the number of steps in and out of the hotel. Our room is on the third floor and there is no elevator. Outside the hotel is many steps above the lakefrfont marina and commercial areas.
The family-owned hotel is practically new with a lot of thought going into the design. The location is about 15 minutes walking from the train station. Again there are steps. A taxi is not a bad idea if one has mobility problems.
Do not miss the hotel's dining room offering. The La Vista offers a fine lake view with the meal. I thought the fixed prix of 27 Euros was very reasonable. The following night's dinner at Il Caminetto was also memorable. Owner-chef Moreno picked us and other guests at the town square and transfered us to his restaurant hide-away in Gittana, high above Varenna.
I would recommend Albergo Milano as the place to stay in not only Varenna, but also Lake Como. Next time though I'll reserve one of the four lakefront view rooms.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We found the hotel rather disappointing considering the rave reviews on this web site (which . Some of the rooms are seriously so tiny that you can only fit a bed in. The furnishing is very basic. The hotel is over-priced for the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acustomer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This must be the best place to stay if you want to experience the beauty of central Como. The hotel is beautiful, the staff likewise, the views are stunning. And - dining in the hotel restaurant is a genuine experience: Good food, real dedication to good food and a spectacular scene!
We stayed 4 nights in the two uppermost rooms facing the lake - what a dream! Don't tell anyone else....

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arne-Thorbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We spent two night in April in Albergo Milano and can only support what has been written in Tripadvisor about it. The location is absolutely marvellous and one can't just get enough from the superb view the rooms with sea lake view offer. The rooms are relatively small which is not unususal for Italian hotels but they are very well looked after and decorated with taste but the beds are really hard !! Otherwise every detail is well thought through and far away from being an ordinary tourist hotel. The breakfast though could do a bit better - when all rooms are booked you have to be quick. Nevertheless Milano as a "boutique hotel" offers still good value for money and Varenna itself is one of the prettiest places on lake Como anyhow.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilian2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This was a special place to stay on our last trip.

We stayed two nights as part of package. The package included dinner for two, wine with dinner and a welcome aperitif.

The room we were allocated number 2 was undoubtably the best room in the hotel, it was slightly larger than Room 1 and had access to a large balcony overlooking the Lake.

The view and location was stunning. The owner, his wife and staff member were at all tme friendly and helpful, and they made sure that all aspects of the package were delivered without us ever having to prompt for anything.

The meal was prepared by the owner, but was served in the location of the Hotel restaurant and was the equal to any meal we have had in a Hotel Restaurant.

We had to catch a train that left before breakfast on the final morning, the owner ensured that a special breakfast serving was prepared reay for us to consume before we left.

We wish we were able to stay at the property again, perhaps if we are lucky we will be able to.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Walked in without a reservation. They were just opening for the season. We chose a lovely double room with a gorgeous view. The room was comfortable and we experienced great hospitality! Ate our first meal there , as well, one of the best we experienced on our travels thru Italy. I would love to return during the season when more places are open, and qyou can take advantage of the lake activities. A warm and wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrossjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
538 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy (Formerly Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £106 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing