We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albergo Milano was Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed at Albergo Milano for three nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly, the view from our room was breath taking, and the food at La Vista was delicious. We highly reccomend this hotel and the cooking class at Il Caminetto http://www.ilcaminettoonline.com/beb_e.php. We learned how to make lots of different pastas and sauces from scratch and the chef was very friendly and helpful. Varenna was very romantic and beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2009

We loved our 2 night stay at this place. The pictures do not lie. The room was great and very clean. You can tell they put a lot of time into the renovations. Everything is very new and updated. We were in a room with a balcony and lakeview. It was perfect. There are 2 rooms like this, 2 rooms with a terrace and then 4 rooms on the side of the building with balconies but a sideways view of the lake. Really any room would be fine. We sat on our balcony each evening reading and drinking a glass of wine. I would highly recommend this place. We did make a trip over to Bellagio and I was so thankful I had chose Varenna over Bellagio. Varenna is much less touristy and more of what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We spent two wonderful nights at this hotel. The room was lovely - Room 8 - with a small balcony and view of lake Como. The staff were extremely friendly and most helpful.

The restaurant is fabulous - you have to eat here at least once. The menu changes daily, so you may well eat there every night. Varenna is an excellent "headquaters" from which to see Lake Como. You can walk to this hotel from the train station and the ferry to other Lake Como cities is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

With spectacular views of Lake Como, and a wonderful staff, Albergo Milano is the perfect place to stay in Varenna, Italy. The hotel is small, intimate, and friendly. The rooms, while not large, are well decorated and spotless. Two of the rooms have large balconies overlooking the lake, and two have "Romeo and Juliet" balconies. We stayed in a room with the smaller balcony and thought it perfectly adequate for lake viewing. No elevator, so travel light. A short, picturesque walk from the hotel will lead you to the town landing where you can take ferries to other nearby towns, Bellagio, Mennagio, Como. But Varenna is the gem of the lake in our opinion

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The hotel is tucked away on the hillside of old Varenna, right down near the water along the footpaths through the old part of the village. The location was excellent for catching the ferry to the other major towns and for exploring Varenna. The hotel is small and charming while still affording lots of privacy. We had one of the front terrace rooms and the view of Lake Como and the surrounding town was outstanding. The terrace was larger than our room, which was on the small side. The furnishings were antique and lovely. The bathroom was modern, clean and fresh. The terrace was furnished with a table and chairs, canvas recliners and many beautiful plants and bushes.

The staff were always happy - joyful even. They seemed to love sharing information about Varenna with us. The owner, who is also the chef, is passionate about cooking and his restaurant was one of the best in Varenna. The breakfasts were not extensive, but everything was very fresh and good. The evening menu is also limited, but again, the chef gives what is fresh and everything is excellent. It was much better than many other restaurants with large menus and large breakfast buffets. I reccommend it to everyone.

We found it difficult to leave this hotel and tried repeatedly to exend our stay, but it was fully booked. If you are able to get into this hotel, especially if you can get a front terrace room - take it. I can't imagine any reason why anyone would not love this hotel and restaurant. However, do not book this hotel if you will have difficulty climbing the stairs up and down the hillside.

By the way, if you do stay in Varenna, make sure you book Maureno's cooking lesson at his restaurant way up in the hillside. It is wonderful - whether you like to cook or just eat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianAbroad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Stayed in room 10 which is in Casa Rossa. The views are breath-taking and the room is comfortable. Tastefullly, plainly furnished but the little balcony is what made it. Our first day was quite cold and we were glad of the radiators in the room. After that it warmed up and we spent quite a bit of time on the balcony with a bottle of wine. View straight out to lake, down below could watch 2 or 3 fishermen, to the left the comings and goings at a lakeside bar/restaurant. Wonderful.

Bathroom newly done with very good shower and trendy basin. Only downside was nowhere to put toiletries – a small shelf of even a stool would have been handy. Nice shower gel and soap provided.

Flat screen tv and enough storage in room. Wood floor. Small dressing table.

Website mentions steps – do not underestimate! Casa Rossa is half way down a steep flight of cobbled steps( which actually end in the lake). Then once inside there are 2 flights of stone steps and a flight of wooden steps to the room. It could be really difficult if you have luggage and/or are a bit shaky on your feet.

Breakfast in Albergo Milano fine. Dining room is beautifully situated overlooking lake and nice decor. Nice bread, some meats/cheeses, limited juice choices, some cereals. Highlight was home made bircher muesli which was absolutely fantastic. Only gripe would be that coffee/hot water is in big heated containers – looks nice but both mornings was luke warm. Didn’t seem worth making a fuss but missed a hot coffee! Did see others ordering cappuchino/chocolate etc

We didn’t eat in restaurant but heard great reports from others – set menu read very well and was I think around 27 euros? We took cookery class with Chef Moreno from il Caminetto - a restaurant in the hills about 10 mins away, which was the highlight of our stay. Got picked up in town square at 10 and back at 5 (not usually this long but I think everyone enjoyed so much – including Moreno – that we just kept going!) He also recommended food in hotel “La Vista” restaurant. We followed another of his recommendations when in Bellagio and it was superb.

Very pleasant and helpful staff.

If you want room service, lifts, bars, amenities etc it’s not for you – and perhaps neither is Varenna. If you want simple, done well and location to die for – it’s a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We could not disagree more with the previous post. The hotel is a super charming 8 room hotel with STUNNING views of Lake Como. The owners are fantastic, and help out however they can. The entire hotel and rooms were recently re-done, and the room, quite frankly, was not nearly as small as others that I have stayed in while traveling in Europe. Our breakfast experience was fantastic, and the only down side was having to leave the hotel and Varenna. Sure, if you are looking for a Four Seasons with room service, etc, then this may not be your place. But, if you are looking for a small boutique hotel, with great staff, and all around to die for scenery and relaxation then this is your place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
524 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £99 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing