We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizza Ever; Best View Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nilus

Nilus
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever; Best View Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

For the second year in a row, we had the best Pizza that we have ever had in our life, accompanied by spectacular views of the lake! I cannot imagine having better Pizza anywhere, than we have experienced at the Nilus Bar for lunch on our last two visits to Lake Como. P & J

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpuppy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    82
    22
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Caprese Salad OUT of THIS WORLD!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Oh my goodness! I had to have this Caprese Salad three times - all three days we were in Varenna! Rick Steve's was right again!! This is an amazing place for food. It is reasonably priced with amazing views of Lake Como. I wish I could have brought the flavor of the Caprese Salad home to America, but it just does not translate. You have to try it while you are in Varenna because you will not find it as good anywhere else!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This restaurant has a great waterside location but the food was nothing special. Service was average. Too touristy for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fpwoodlief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice spot to eat overlooking the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had lunch here and while the food was not amazing, it was still good and very reasonably priced for Varenna. The main draw card is probably the good view over the lake. But a nice place to eat, with a glass of wine and a pizza, while in Varenna.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qarak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good food, great place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It's the location that draws you in to sit at the Nilus. Food is quite good, pasta dishes are E9.50, and a bottle of wine is E18.00. This is not MacDonalds, so do not expect instant service, just sit down and drink in the beauty of the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillcrestroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nilus also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Nilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing