We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mary Varenna

the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1 the house from outside2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1
the house from outside2
kitchen and living room
bath room
bed room
living room
view from inside3
view from inside4
out side the house 1
view from inside2
view from inside1
out side the house 2
the front lake position of the house 1 view from the lake
varenna from the lake 1
varenna from the lake 2
varenna from the lake 3
the front lake position of the house 2 view from the lake
varenna and its front lake walk
varenna1
varenna2
varenna3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glyn872
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were a party of 3 adults, staying in 2 apartments for 5 nights during May 2017. Mary met us at the train station, and drove us the short distance down to the complex. She was very nice and welcoming, and left a present in both apartments. A nice touch and much appreciated. We chose these apartments for the location and were not disappointed! Both apartments have stunning views over the lake, one was on the top floor and had a terrace. Eating breakfast on the terrace looking out over the lake and mountains beyond will stay with me for a long time. The apartments themselves had everything you would want for a self catering break. Very clean and comfortable, a real home from home. We were also very close to the ferry terminal, so getting around the lake was no problem at all. The lovely centre of Varenna was just a very pleasant short walk away and had lots of place to eat looking out over the lake. These apartments were some of the best I have ever stayed in, and I cannot recommend them too highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

After being greeted at Varenna train station by Mary we were taken to our accommodation which was in a perfect location with the most stunning views. The apartment was very comfortable and had everything we needed to self cater. The apartment was 2 minutes walk to the ferry terminal and easy access to other towns along the lake. There were plenty of good quality bars and restaurants and even the train station bar served great food. The area boasts great walks with stunning views.
A word of advise: If you are buying a ferry ticket from Bellagio terminal check your change as I nearly got ripped off. The staff at Varenna terminal were spot-on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Casa Mary was perfect! Wonderful location, hostess and amenities and no car needed!”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Casa Mary is just a few blocks from the Varenna-Esso station. Despite the convenience, the owner, Mary, picked us up at the station and dropped us off! The location is perfect right by the lake, the water taxi and ferry are just steps away. The apartment is beautifully furnished . The view from the windows is of the lake and the Swiss snow coved alps in the background. There was a vase with fresh cut roses, a gift and a bottle of wine left for us to enjoy. The sheets were beautifully laundered and ironed professionally. There were 3 of us ladies and we each had a comfortable separate place to sleep. We fell in love with Varenna. The restaurants and shops were great and the monastery and gardens were lovely. I want to go back and stay at Casa Mary with my daughter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B R
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful location for visiting Lake Como area. We loved Varenna! Prettiest of all the towns in the area that we visited. Apartment was very comfortable and the owners were very helpful with any and all questions that we had. You really don't need a car at this location. We didn't move ours between arrival and departure. Having a secured parking place was convenient. Being located across from the ferry was great. The walkway along the water was used by us daily and we loved discovering new parts of town and restaurants everyday. Museums, hikes, a fantastic cooking class and even a 'castle' were all here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful outlook”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Easy and friendly check in.
Parking on site.
Wonderful view from living area and easy stroll to ferry, shops, restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEKOntheg...
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic views with great location”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time at Lake Como and Varenna is centrally located to Bellagio and Menagio, just a short ferry ride from the ferry station 2 minutes walk away. The apartment is on the third floor of a secure gated apartment complex which used to be a hotel. Plenty of car parking is available. There is no lift - so its up the marble staircase to the apartment which has spectacular views over Lake Como.

The owners organised for us to be met at the train station, again only 10 minute walk, and driven to our accommodation. While not centrally located in the township, this is only a short walk away and is much easier to access with suitcases.

Varenna itself only has one grocery store - if staying for longer than a couple of days, investigate shopping at one of the other islands.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonesjfl
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and hospitality!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and 9 year old son stayed at Casa Mary for the second time for many reasons. The location is perfect...short walk to the ferry and train station. Views are amazing, from every window! The family that rents is very accommodating and hospitable. My only complaint is we couldn't stay longer! But we will definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing