We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking view of Lake Como!”
other travellers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traveling...
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Lake Como!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My friend and I had a lovely stay at Il Giardino Sul Lago. Julie was a warm host who even gave us a lift to and from the train station. We felt very at home, enjoyed the breakfast, clean accommodations, and best of all -- feeling like we had the very best private view of Lake Como from Julie's garden. Varenna was the perfect base for exploring the area...so picturesque and relaxing. I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiJor...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Varenna”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Beautiful rooms.
Great location.
Good breakfast.
Fantastic lakeside garden.
Extremely pleasant and helpful hostess.
There is no central heating, but electric heaters are available.
Varenna is an excellent base for a holiday in Lake Como.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fan1420
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best view in Varenna”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Totally enjoyed our stay. The view is breathtaking and the owner Julie and her daughter Sophie (and Alfie the dog) were so nice and generous. The only negatives for me was I could not get on the internet and on our last day we found spiders in the bathroom & hallway. Made me glad we were leaving. That being said the breakfast was perfect and Julie allowed us to stay later than checkout so we sat on the patio overlooking the lake and read our books for a while. She also provided us water and beer to enjoy. Our time in Varenna was so relaxing. Perfect way to start our two-week vacation traveling around Northern Italy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwblack
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us (two couples) stayed in a two bedroom unit for two nights in early October 2013.
The suite was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The owner, Julia, was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was awesome!! A great selection of cheeses pastries. The view and location were super - on the lake front and about a 10 minute walk to the ferry. Staying at Il Gardino sul Lago was a treat to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, breakfast and friendliness
Liked least: finding the place from the ferry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2013
Thank you, your opinion means a lot and I loved meeting you all, Alfie and I wish you a very happy holiday season !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnK4327
Acitrezza, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great waterfront location in Varenna”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Beautiful garden, comfortable rooms, and a perfect location for both the waterfront and the center of town. Julie is a wonderful hostess and the breakfasts were excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we get a chance to come back to Lake Como!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2013
I'm glad you had a good time whilst you were here, I was happy to meet you, and hope you can return again one day, hopefully with better weather !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaObe...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Varenna, Italy”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled for a quiet get away and sight seeing trip to Varenna this past week. We were thrilled to find this place was in the heart of Varenna next to the shops, restaurants and within walking distance (a few blocks) to all of the attractions.
The il giardino sul lago was absolutely beautiful. The room we stayed in was quiet and had all the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay. The bathroom had all new appliances, and the living room was cozy and comfortable with a television, books and coffee station. There was also a small fridge where you could keep snacks, drinks or food. The backyard had an amazing patio with a view overlooking the lake where we spent time drinking tea and listening to the waves brush against the shore. We took thousands of photos. Everywhere you look is a photo opportunity. Don't forget to bring your camera.

We were greeted each morning with an amazing breakfast on the upper patio. Fruit, rolls, muffins, tea, juice, and hot steaming coffee in the quiet crisp autumn morning overlooking the lake - does it really get any better than that?

While we were there, another single guest Gretchen came to stay. We shared the bathroom and the main living area with her. She was polite and fun to be with and there was never a time we felt crowded or had to wait for the bathroom. It was perfect.

The only thing more amazing than the accommodations was the lovely hostess Julia. She is so kind, thoughtful and an absolute delight to hang out with. We were so sad when it was time for us to say good bye to her, her family, puppy, home and the beautiful Varenna.

We can't wait to come back again. We loved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty, comfort, location, hostess, food...my list is about twenty pages long. :-)
Liked least: All of the hotels, shops, and restaurants are on the waterfront are at the bottom of a steep hill accessed by steep cobblestone stair and alleyways. If you are elderly, you may need assistance with your luggage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2013
You are very kind, thank you for putting your visit into words! I remember your visit with fondness, I enjoyed hanging out with you both too...
Alfie and I wish you a happy holiday season...and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeMc37
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this property with my Mother for a long weekend just this last weekend. Absolutely loved it. Private accommodation in a first class location just a short walk to the centre of the town but without hearing any noise. Julia, the owner couldn't do enough for us and was great fun. Everything you want it provided.
What I loved most about the property was the garden and view, just perched on the edge of the lake. Enjoyed sitting there relaxing in the sun on sun loungers watching the boats go by. Alfie the adorable dog was lovely company too and was only let out of you wanted him there. I did. Wanted to bring him home with me!
Il Giardano Sul Lago is one of those secret treasures that won't be a secret for loo long I would imagine. Can't wait to bring my husband back. Not suitable for small children though I should add.
Enjoy your stay....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The privacy of a fabulous garden all to ourselves where we could sit in comfort to sunbathe, sip prosecco or have a play with the beautiful 'Alfie
Liked least: My mother struggled a bit with the steps around Varenna but comes with the territory. The property was very comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your stay, it means so much ...Alfie is still his cheeky, charming self and we both wish you a very happy Christmas and a great New Year....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$139
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing