We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You will not find a better place to stay in...”
other travellers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
navsiva
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“You will not find a better place to stay in Varenna!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Julie's hospitality was highlight of our trip. She went above and beyond expectations to make sure our experience in Varenna was one we'd struggle to forget.
Her place is located on the edge of the lake and I cannot even begin to describe what having breakfast in her garden is like on a sunny, blue-skied morning. The entire experience was unforgettable and I cannot recommend her place enough.
Alfie, her dog, was friendly and we enjoyed having him around each day.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at Il Giardino B&B in April and loved our time there. The owner met us at the train station which was so appreciated. The room, sitting area, and breakfast and location (right on the lake) were wonderful. We certainly recommend this B&B.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tracey494
Emu Park, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Location is amazing, I should not be saying this as I would love to keep this a secret, but memories like this should be shared, I thought I had already left a review so I apologize for not doing it sooner. All I can say is just do it stay there the whole experience will be beyond your expectations, just a tip, make sure you hire the boats for a day on the lake it is the best day we have ever had on vacation and believe me we have had some magical moments on our travels around the world, the lake is stunning, the accommodation is beautiful and sitting outside by the lake every morning having breakfast was so special, the restaurants in town are amazing, everything is so close to the villa. Our host Julie is a very special lady she made our stay so special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dion R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed a magical 2 nights at Il Giardino sul Lago a couple of weeks ago. Fantastic location right on Lake Como , with very good cool accomodation . Julie is an excellent hostess who provided us with a lovely lakeside breakfast every morning. Julie went out of her with regards train station transfers as well as the important small details such as extra ice at cocktail hour. Varenna is a lovely place and I highly recommend this accomodation .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleL...
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at this lovely lakeside B&B!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely B&B for 3 nights in July. Booking was made via tripadvisor.com which was smooth and easy.

Julia, the owner, is a friendly, sincere and funny lady who made a great effort to make our stay as wonderful and trouble-free as it can be. She gave us a ride to and from the train station on the days we check-in and check-out. She had iced-cold drinks and snacks ready for us at the fridge. She had practical information like maps, ferry schedules ready for us. She recommended us great restaurants and made reservations for us. She offered to return the umbrella we borrowed from a restaurant we had dinner the night before. On the day we left, after knowing that we haven't bought our train tickets, she went out and bought for us so that we could take our time to enjoy our breakfast. She saved us tons of troubles, as there was a very long queue at the information counter at the train station and there's no ticket machine selling tickets. We would have missed our train if she hadn't bought tickets for us. So, it's advisable to buy tickets in advance. She really is a wonderful host.

About the B&B itself, the building is located right by the lake, walking distance to many restaurants, St. George's Church and the pier where you can take the ferry to nearby towns e.g. Bellagio, Menaggio etc. There's a large garden with great view of the lake where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts prepared by Julia. The rooms are at the basement level. There's a small common living room (shared with other guests in the double-bedded room) with sofa and fridge. We stayed in the twin-bedded room with ensuite bathroom. The room is nicely decorated, the twin beds are comfortable with nice beddings, bathroom is large, the room is not air-conditioned, but there's a fan and that was good enough for us as it was cool at the basement even in July. However, it was a bit humid at the basement.

Breakfast in the garden right by the lake was my favorite time of the day. It was peaceful, quiet and relaxing! Breakfast included croissant, bread basket, ham & cheese, fresh fruits, orange juice and coffee.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Lake Como / Varenna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you both fo staying and choosing "il giardino" to stay. It was wonderful to have guests from Hong Kong!
You are kind to take the time to write, unfortunately humidity is a constant battle here at lake level, especially after heavy rain, I try my utmost to make everyone feel welcome and help them as much as I can, to ensure they are free to relax and enjoy their time here.... "il giardino sul lago" is just that , it's all about the view from the garden really,
hope you had a safe trip home
take care
julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickblakl...
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, location, and service!”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Rare to find such a location as this. Plenty of space and service was excellent. We had rain the first morning, and there was a knock on the door, and they came in with a wonderful breakfast. Didn't have to lift a finger.
Left our wallet and Julie made sure it was sent to our next location in Italy.
That was a lifesaver. Julie made reservations for us and picked us up at the train station. All in all a wonderful experience.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing