We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel.”
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Beretta
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Another great Lake Como hotel. I stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed it very much. Varenna is a beautiful town, and the Albergo Beretta is a very inexpensive place with an extremely friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. Located near the ferry, and close to most of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeStalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

We found this place through Rick Steves. We had reservations but when we showed up our room was not available. The choice was to stay in a very tiny room with no bath, or a much larger room with a bath. They would not discount the price of the larger room, even though it was their fault our room wasn't available. (I had the printed confirmation with me.)

Then when it was time to check out, we gave them our credit card. (They had previously confirmed that they take credit cards.) We were told that their credit card machine was not working and we would have to pay cash. And there would be no discount for paying cash. (All of a sudden their English wasn't working either.) We hadn't anticipated this so we had to scramble to two different ATMs to get enough cash to pay them.

After returning home, we mentioned this to another couple we met who had also stayed there, and they said the exact same thing happened to them!

Other complaints - the local fishermen gather very loudly in the cafe downstairs before they go out to their boats well before dawn. And the hot water in the shower took forever to get hot. The pluses were the location and the breakfasts, both of which were great. But I would recommend against this place in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MichaelSeattle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Loved staying at the Albergo Beretta in Varenna. It was just a short walk from the station and another very short walk to Lake Como. We caught the ferry that took us all around the lake and was so reasonably priced. The staff at the Beretta were very friendly and the room was very comfortable. Downstairs was a corner shop and dining room where we decided to go to for our evening meal...enjoyed the home cooking. Breakfast was really nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Do you want to pay 70 euro for a good place or 140 euro for a better place? This hotel is convenient, reasonable price, people are very helpful, good food and wine. It is a little loud because of street noise but that really is the only complaint. you can see the lake and mountains, you are close to the train. The travel office next door sets up all of your trains for the rest of the trip. It is our second time staying here, would do it again because we would rather pay 70 euro for good than 140 euro for a little bit better..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel is quite conveniently located - near the train station and close to the water front. That said, Varenna is a little town so maybe most hotels are convenient. Also, the hotel staff was friendly and warm - even the ones who spoke little or no English.
The hotel lobby is literally a local coffee shop spilling over with locals, which is the coolest part about this hotel. There was a soccer match on TV one evening and the lobby was plum full with locals cheering for their team - this was a fun Italian experience.
The room was small, outdated and not very comfortable. The bathroom towels were really sheets and did a poor job of drying you off! This hotel is a place to sleep, but not a comfortable place, nor a place where you want to hang out. This was a little problematic for us because it was a cold rainy spell when we visited. Our hotel room was too dreary to hang out in.
The hotel was quite inexpensive, though, which is how I selected this particular hotel. It is a good value for those on a tight budget.
If I travel to Lake Como again, I will definitely spend a little more to get the charming, romantic Lake Como experience. This hotel was not that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swissmisslovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This hotel is one the corner fo two very busy roads. It was noisy all night long, for three nights, with cars turning, stopping at the stop signs, etc.. The view was great but bring earplugs if you want to get any sleep at all. The bar/cafe on the ground floor is open till 12midnight too, more noise. We has booked a room with a view for three nights. Upon arrival we were informed that we had to take a smaller room for the first night due to the guest in our room not leaving until the next day. When we realized how noisy it was after one night we approached Mrs. Tosca, the owner, about leaving, she said we had to stay or she would charge us the full amount of our stay. We stayed and hardly got any sleep. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that are much quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank betz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Hotel was absolutely perfect. Surprisingly spacious room with balcony looking towards lake and big shower room. Room tidied daily and towels changed every few days (tho the thin continental style, not big and fluffy). Cafe/bar popular with locals which gave it a great ambience, and prices of coffee, beer, wine were obviously pitched at the locals, not tourists. Location perfect, near train station, local bus stop and ferries so no need for additional cost of hire car. Very friendly and helpful lady owner. Varenna is a good place, not as touristy as Bellagio and nicer because of that. Great views West across the lake to the setting sun. Good range of restaurants and prices reasonable. Lots to explore. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for value and a local feel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#8 of 12 in Varenna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £78 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Beretta 1*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing