We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo Beretta
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$321
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel du Lac(Varenna)
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$606
US$576
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
47
66
19
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
66
19
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrain stationcoffee and pastriescouple nightscafe barlake comovery nice place to staybreakfast includednice view of the lakeshort walkhotel stayfriendly hotelnice breezefamily run hotelquiet at nightstar hotelbeautiful town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Another great Lake Como hotel. I stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed it very much. Varenna is a beautiful town, and the Albergo Beretta is a very inexpensive place with an extremely friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. Located near the ferry, and close to most of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeStalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We found this place through Rick Steves. We had reservations but when we showed up our room was not available. The choice was to stay in a very tiny room with no bath, or a much larger room with a bath. They would not discount the price of the larger room, even though it was their fault our room wasn't available. (I had the printed confirmation with me.)

Then when it was time to check out, we gave them our credit card. (They had previously confirmed that they take credit cards.) We were told that their credit card machine was not working and we would have to pay cash. And there would be no discount for paying cash. (All of a sudden their English wasn't working either.) We hadn't anticipated this so we had to scramble to two different ATMs to get enough cash to pay them.

After returning home, we mentioned this to another couple we met who had also stayed there, and they said the exact same thing happened to them!

Other complaints - the local fishermen gather very loudly in the cafe downstairs before they go out to their boats well before dawn. And the hot water in the shower took forever to get hot. The pluses were the location and the breakfasts, both of which were great. But I would recommend against this place in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MichaelSeattle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Loved staying at the Albergo Beretta in Varenna. It was just a short walk from the station and another very short walk to Lake Como. We caught the ferry that took us all around the lake and was so reasonably priced. The staff at the Beretta were very friendly and the room was very comfortable. Downstairs was a corner shop and dining room where we decided to go to for our evening meal...enjoyed the home cooking. Breakfast was really nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Do you want to pay 70 euro for a good place or 140 euro for a better place? This hotel is convenient, reasonable price, people are very helpful, good food and wine. It is a little loud because of street noise but that really is the only complaint. you can see the lake and mountains, you are close to the train. The travel office next door sets up all of your trains for the rest of the trip. It is our second time staying here, would do it again because we would rather pay 70 euro for good than 140 euro for a little bit better..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel is quite conveniently located - near the train station and close to the water front. That said, Varenna is a little town so maybe most hotels are convenient. Also, the hotel staff was friendly and warm - even the ones who spoke little or no English.
The hotel lobby is literally a local coffee shop spilling over with locals, which is the coolest part about this hotel. There was a soccer match on TV one evening and the lobby was plum full with locals cheering for their team - this was a fun Italian experience.
The room was small, outdated and not very comfortable. The bathroom towels were really sheets and did a poor job of drying you off! This hotel is a place to sleep, but not a comfortable place, nor a place where you want to hang out. This was a little problematic for us because it was a cold rainy spell when we visited. Our hotel room was too dreary to hang out in.
The hotel was quite inexpensive, though, which is how I selected this particular hotel. It is a good value for those on a tight budget.
If I travel to Lake Como again, I will definitely spend a little more to get the charming, romantic Lake Como experience. This hotel was not that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swissmisslovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews