We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, safe budget option”
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Beretta
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This place is about 5 minutes from the train station, the travel agency is right next door, and it's about 2 minutes from the lake, so you won't have any problems getting around. The rooms are basic and small, but adequate. The main downside if the wifi, which you need to get a password for using an Italian cell phone, but if you ask the hotel folks they might be able to find it for you. If you bring Rick Steves' book, you get a free croissant and capuccino for breakfast. Yes, only a few of the hotel employees speak English, but with my limited Italian I was able to get by OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiveupstove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

i stayed here for 2 nights. i found the room to be spacious and clean. the owner, who did not speak english, was very pleasant. the 2 girls on staff who did speak english were very nice. i could not get the free wifi to work as an american. it was quite confusing, a pin number. i tried my social security number, but that didn't work. if anyone could explain what the fiscal # would be, that would be appreciated.

this albergo seems to be quite the hang out with the locals. it is close to both the train station and the ferry, very convenient. and a short, pleasant walk to the "town." i opted out of the 6 euro breakfast and instead had an espresso and brioche for breakfast, which they included for free which was very nice of them. all in all, yes the 2nd floor is a bit noisy but i would recommend staying here!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank supertearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

my wife and I were on a driving holiday in Italy. By chance we drove past Hotel Beretta with the intention of going to Switzerland. When I stopped at the STOP sign opposite the Hotel I suggested to my wife that we should perhaps see if we could get a room for the night. One night turned to three and we only then move on because we had already booked further on. Hotel Beretta was an amazing experience, just what I imagined a Hotel in Italy should be like. The room we had was small, but accomodating, nothing flash but with just the right amount of character and a bonus view of Lake Como. The staff were welcoming and friendly, just ilke good family. I would definitely go back, one of the most enjoyable and memorable experiences I have had in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweedlesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I think that the other reviews before mine have given a good idea of the pros and cons for this place. It is not the romantic experience that some pricier Varenna hotels offer, but it is a good value at a very convenient location to the train station, and certain rooms offer excellent value.

We arrived early in the day (noon) and were offered a choice of rooms. I saw four and can say that if you do not mind the bathroom down the hall, room 9 is an excellent value. In June, we paid 60 euros and were able to get breakfast thrown in as we were staying three nights. The room had lots of space, a fair amount of charm, Sky TV, and the best thing--a lovely, big balcony with full length windows, offering a view from bed! At night we were not at all bothered by street noise, but when the windows were open while we were on the balcony or in the room wanting fresh air, it could be a bit noisy. It was a small price to pay for an excellent value room. As there is a real range in the quality of rooms. I would definitely recommend 1) trying to see whatever rooms are available to pick what suits your needs, and 2) describing your priorities in a room if reserving. The woman who owns/runs the albergo is very accommodating if you are pleasant to her.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobePedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Another great Lake Como hotel. I stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed it very much. Varenna is a beautiful town, and the Albergo Beretta is a very inexpensive place with an extremely friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. Located near the ferry, and close to most of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeStalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We found this place through Rick Steves. We had reservations but when we showed up our room was not available. The choice was to stay in a very tiny room with no bath, or a much larger room with a bath. They would not discount the price of the larger room, even though it was their fault our room wasn't available. (I had the printed confirmation with me.)

Then when it was time to check out, we gave them our credit card. (They had previously confirmed that they take credit cards.) We were told that their credit card machine was not working and we would have to pay cash. And there would be no discount for paying cash. (All of a sudden their English wasn't working either.) We hadn't anticipated this so we had to scramble to two different ATMs to get enough cash to pay them.

After returning home, we mentioned this to another couple we met who had also stayed there, and they said the exact same thing happened to them!

Other complaints - the local fishermen gather very loudly in the cafe downstairs before they go out to their boats well before dawn. And the hot water in the shower took forever to get hot. The pluses were the location and the breakfasts, both of which were great. But I would recommend against this place in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MichaelSeattle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Loved staying at the Albergo Beretta in Varenna. It was just a short walk from the station and another very short walk to Lake Como. We caught the ferry that took us all around the lake and was so reasonably priced. The staff at the Beretta were very friendly and the room was very comfortable. Downstairs was a corner shop and dining room where we decided to go to for our evening meal...enjoyed the home cooking. Breakfast was really nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#8 of 12 in Varenna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £78 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Beretta 1*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing