We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo Beretta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Lac(Varenna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
47
66
19
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
66
19
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrain stationcoffee and pastriescouple nightscafe barlake comovery nice place to staybreakfast includednice view of the lakeshort walkhotel stayfriendly hotelnice breezefamily run hotelquiet at nightstar hotelbeautiful town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this family run hotel. Stairs led to a large clean room with a street and lake view. Others have mentioned the street noise but as one reviewer said, it's Italy. The bar/restaurant downstairs is rocking when soccer games are on and busy in the morning as school children stop in here for breakfast before walking to the train station up the hill and off to school. We had our choice of a couple other hotels but choose this on the price and availability for our dates. A two night stay was pleasant. Only the oldest daughter speaks fluent English but Mom understands enough to make communication possible. Very helpful and accommodating host.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I was a bit dubious about booking here due to some bad reviews on this site, but was very pleasantly surprised. This is a great little family run hotel in an excellent location. Varenna is much nicer than the over touristy Bellagio or Menaggio, with wonderful ultra picturesque steep streets, little hidden docks, tiny balconies festooned with flowers. I recommend the Bar il Molo, stunning location and good food, as well as the restaurant in the hotel, good honest Italian food at a very reasonable price. I really liked this place, and the owners were so helpful, especially the lady who took the booking who spoke such good English and was so nice. It is a bit noisy at night, but hey, that's Italy, and it was a Friday night, anyway all travellers should bring earplugs. Great wireless reception too! Room was big, with plenty of space and very clean and neat with parking available nearby, and breakfast included too!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 55hermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A group of ten of us arrived to discover that the ownership had changed since our reservations were made and that we had not been expected, due to a 'change over' mistake. The owner was amazing in how he handled a very delicate situation with 10 overheated, senior citizens at dinner time who had been on a train all day. He quickly went into gear with gracious creativity. His clerk spoke English, but frankly, we didn't need to know Italian to know he was making things right for us. We had a lovely three day stay in an authenticly Italian accomodation. Hugs were shared as we left and we had an excellent experience. This is an honorable, hospitable place that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnflathmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had this hotel as a stopover back to home, for just one night. Rooms are kept very clean but they are worn, especially the bathroom. The walls are not so thick, so you can hear the neighbors rather well. It was however such a typically very hot day in Como, and it was really impossible to get the room at a good temperature to sleep. We arrived in a very hot room with some afternoon sun coming in through the open windows, and without any airflow it was really impossible to get a lower temperature in the room (even if at night the outside temperature had dropped to 25°C). The only option was to sleep with the windows and shutters open, letting plenty of streetlight and noise from traffic inside...
Breakfast was OK, nothing special. Staff was really friendly, although some lacked even a basic knowledge of English. Although it is advertised that you can park for free on the street, street parking is with a ticket and finding place around the hotel is very difficult. They however offered us a free spot in a parking place which was apparently from the same owner

Overall it is a pity that we had to sleep in such a hot room. For what you get prices are very high, especially as we came from Tuscany where you get much more for this price. I would not advice to stay here more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Nice hotel not far from the lake with a little view on the lake.
for 80 € / night the room is big, clean and well equipped for the bathroom.
if you expect a TV in a the room just avoid this place. there is a TV but just 15-inch more or less.
it seems this hotel need to qualify for a category and had to install anything called a TV in the room.

the service and reception is very friendly.
there is no close care park but you can park your car outside.
this hotel would be very nice at 60€ not 80€.

Room Tip: insist on room facing the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djchrisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews