We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel”
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Beretta
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I've been there at June. The room was small but nice and clean. There was wonderful view from the window. The place and the town is marvelous! And the hotel is situated just in 5 minutes walk from the lake Como. Only one flaw - the staff faintly speak English. Anyway it is cool and the price is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xen0m0rph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and i selected Albergo Beretta Hotel for the convenience of near the train station and ferry. We didn't have a car and were toting bags, so this worked out great. Other than the grumpy gentleman who is responsbile for breakfast, the rest of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Not much if any English, but that didn't pose a problem for us. The room was basic with a private bath. I do recommend paying extra for a lake view as our 2nd floor room had no visibility except for the smallest opening through the trees.

My only complaint, like others, is the noise. Every morning, likely because our room was directly over the bar/newstand/cafe, we were awaken at 0630 by the noises below. Sat night, it was the noises above! If you are a heavy sleeper, one who wakes up very early, or the ones making the most noise, this hotel is an affordable and convenient option. Else, you may feel like the savings was not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlkdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Near Varenna-Esino station and not far from touristics attraction, Staff very friendly,clean and nice room, value for money.I love all.I dinner at the reataurant in the hotel,home-made pork sausage is yummy.

Room Tip: Up to you . Everything is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khanasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I arrived in Varenna mid September (not peak season). I tried to get help finding somewhere to sleep that night at tourist information in Varenna itself (they weren't in the slightest interested in helping, gave me a listing for the whole of the lakes and a map with no street names).

I to decided I would stroll around to near the station where I was catching the train next morning found this place, the woman at the desk was very helpful (excellent english) it was cheaper than the other places in the book for someone on their own. The finish was dated but it was very clean and comfortable it faced onto the street but this not being peak season the road was quiet at night and the shutters were effective. I could slightly hear next doors snoring but I slept ok.

I had a rushed breakfast next morning because of catching the train, was basic but fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imogen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this family run hotel. Stairs led to a large clean room with a street and lake view. Others have mentioned the street noise but as one reviewer said, it's Italy. The bar/restaurant downstairs is rocking when soccer games are on and busy in the morning as school children stop in here for breakfast before walking to the train station up the hill and off to school. We had our choice of a couple other hotels but choose this on the price and availability for our dates. A two night stay was pleasant. Only the oldest daughter speaks fluent English but Mom understands enough to make communication possible. Very helpful and accommodating host.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I was a bit dubious about booking here due to some bad reviews on this site, but was very pleasantly surprised. This is a great little family run hotel in an excellent location. Varenna is much nicer than the over touristy Bellagio or Menaggio, with wonderful ultra picturesque steep streets, little hidden docks, tiny balconies festooned with flowers. I recommend the Bar il Molo, stunning location and good food, as well as the restaurant in the hotel, good honest Italian food at a very reasonable price. I really liked this place, and the owners were so helpful, especially the lady who took the booking who spoke such good English and was so nice. It is a bit noisy at night, but hey, that's Italy, and it was a Friday night, anyway all travellers should bring earplugs. Great wireless reception too! Room was big, with plenty of space and very clean and neat with parking available nearby, and breakfast included too!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 55hermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A group of ten of us arrived to discover that the ownership had changed since our reservations were made and that we had not been expected, due to a 'change over' mistake. The owner was amazing in how he handled a very delicate situation with 10 overheated, senior citizens at dinner time who had been on a train all day. He quickly went into gear with gracious creativity. His clerk spoke English, but frankly, we didn't need to know Italian to know he was making things right for us. We had a lovely three day stay in an authenticly Italian accomodation. Hugs were shared as we left and we had an excellent experience. This is an honorable, hospitable place that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnflathmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
538 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
829 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Beretta 1*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna, Lake Como, Italy
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing