We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night in Varenna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Sole
Ranked #3 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Qld
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One night in Varenna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Firstly, the owners are very polite and helpful. Like many places in Italy which did not start their life as accommodations, the rooms and bathrooms are quite small. We had a triple room, though it consisted of 3 single beds, rather than a double and single - as we were a family travelling together, this wasn't what we expected, however, it was not big deal. The shower curtain could have been a little cleaner, but other than that, the bathroom and room were clean. Wi-fi was free and worked well, always a bonus! Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent and very good value. I would return, however I would request a different room as ours was above the garden restaurant and it was quite noisy late into the night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2, as it's above the restaurant's garden and can be noisy and smoke wafts up into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    42
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
45
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Under new management this year, the "Albergo del Sole" is a centrally located hotel with reasonably priced restaurant and pizzeria downstairs with both a covered terrace and tables looking out on to the main square.
Staff are friendly (free limoncello after your meal !) and helpful, although it pays to book a table, especially at weekends, as it is popular with locals as well as with visitors. The sea fish dishes especially Spaghetti allo Scoglio, are fantastic !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

we stayed for 2 nights. comparatively cheap, clean, friendly and could have stayed longer
had a sense of being a local rather than with the tourists our room looked out on to a square where the locals gathered and shopped
walking distance to everything
8 rooms including 2 singles
no wi-fi but coming
noise levels low but it was early in the season

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We feel fortunate this hotel had a room for 2 nights when our first choice closed for "renovation" without any notice to us. The hotel is immaculate, colorful, central to the small town, and not far to the lakeshore. The staff member we dealt with most spoke enough English to be very helpful, and he was eager to help us enjoy our stay. The restaurant it rests upon offered a basic but tasty breakfast with fresh fruit and excellent cappucini. The decor of the restaurant is crisp and well thought out. Our only complaint is the proximity of the hotel to the church and its very loud bells at 0700 every day. Even so, our stay became our relaxation hotel in the midst of a sometimes hectic 21 day Italian vacation. We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not sure of all the options. Our room on the first floor had a balcony that overlooked the piazza wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is a family-runned hotel with clean rooms and basic amenities. Breakfast is also basic with nothing to shout about. If you are looking for a clean, safe and convenient hotel that doesn't burst your budget - this is the place to go.

There is a pretty good pizzeria opposite the hotel..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mezzapazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

As a solo female traveler, safety and location are a high priority for me. Albergo del Sole is right in the center of Varenna. If you don’t have a lot of luggage, you can easily walk from the train station down to the hotel. Otherwise, take a taxi.

The hotel isn’t posh or romantic if that’s what you’re looking for but it’s a perfect home base. Also, since I was in Lake Como for a wedding and had to travel between the Villa Cipressi and a villa by the ferries to meet friends, the location was ideal. As some reviewers mentioned, the owners don’t speak English well (they speak Italian and German) but I thought they were nice enough and tried to help me if they could.

The breakfast selection was limited, but had very good croissants. The pizza, which I had for lunch was also very tasty. There’s free Wi-fi but it was only available downstairs and had to be turned on by the receptionist. This was inconvenient, but not a big deal. Also, there’s no air conditioning. Oh and remember to get the front door key so you don’t get locked out if you stay out late.

If you want something more posh, need AC, or need regular Wi-Fi access then look elsewhere. If you’re a low maintenance, easy traveler that wants a good, central location for a home base, then I would recommend the Albergo del Sole.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mighteenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The hotel was new and clean. We got the room on the rooftop, so we got to see the lake from our window. Bring your own soap and shampoo if you like quality. It was one minute from the lake and everything else. We love the coffee at Hotel Du
Lac nearby as the price was very cheap (2 euros for a coffee) and the seating area is overlooking the beautiful part of the lake. The pizza at this hotel is popular. The breakfast was surprisingly good for an Italian hotel, including ham, cheese, cereal, eggs, milk, fruit and croissants. There was an elevator if you bring a baby stroller although it was hard to get around with it. There was a pharmacy next door as well as a little shop selling water and grocery. The wifi only worked from downstairs and they have to turn it on for you when you ask. We loved it there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.0 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#2 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole

Property: Albergo del Sole
Address: Piazza San Giorgio 17, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo del Sole is a nice hotel in San Giorgio Square. It was totally renovated in 2003 and has very nicely furnished bedrooms and a suite overlooking the lake. It has also its own restaurant and pizzeria. Luigi, the owner, is the chef and restaurant manager. Car is not necessary as the hotel is located in the historical centre, only 50 meters from the old port, and 300 meters from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albergo del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing