We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Albergo del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Sole
Ranked #5 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was perfect. The rooms were clean, bathrooms clean, beds comfortable, breakfast good. Francesco was extremely helpful. Always assured we had enough to eat at breakfast. The location couldn't have been at a better location. Varenna is such a beautiful little village. We thoroughly enjoyed our walks back and forth to the the ferry always enjoying the wonderful scenery. Listening to the children play just outside the hotel was also a delight. Look no further for a place to stay.

Room Tip: we based our decision on trip advisor reviews and were extremely pleased.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1958Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Albergo del Sole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed on lake como and were very happy to have chosen Varenna as our base. It is a smaller, quieter and more picturesque village than those other on the lakes. We visited Bellagio and found it very touristy. The ferry for all the villages leaves from here. Albergo del sole is very nice, situated over a restaurant in the corner of the village square. The lake front is about a 2 minute walk away. The food in the restaurant is excellent, the rooms are very clean and modern and the owners are very hospitable and friendly. What more could you ask. A few tips, if all you are doing is visiting here and a few other towns on the lake, there is no real need to hire a car, I would take the train to varenna and you can walk into the village in about 10 minutes, the ferry will bring you everywhere. Parking in varenna is about €20 a day. If hiring a car do not use Firefly without looking at the reviews on trip advisor, from our experience they are all vertitable!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Here only for two nights, but everything wonderful. Just a short taxi ride from the train station; located on a piazza across from a historic church whose lovely sounding bells will wake you each morning. Easy access to sites and the waterfront to the ferry service. Our room on the top floor was large, comfortable, a nice sitting area, large wardrobe and tall windows that opened to allow a lovely breeze and beautiful view of the alley ways, houses and a view of the lake; bathroom small, but had a sky light which was the best light I had for putting on makeup on our entire trip through Italy! Breakfast was simple, but good: meats, cheeses, melon, breads, juice & coffee, but quite plentiful. What we didn't eat, we made little sandwiches to snack on later in the morning as we were out and about. Francesco and the gentlemen at breakfast (sorry we can't remember his name), were always so hospitable and it's obvious they care about their guests. The restaurant is quite popular and a couple of the locals said del sole had the best pizza in town (they also have other items on the menu). Internet was intermittent and wasn't working when we tried to use a credit card to check-out, so plan to pay with cash, but this is not a complaint as it wasn't necessary for us to access internet each day. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Room on top floor facing the lake is probably better than being at the front with all the activity i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great little hotel with Pizza restaurant. Room was very clean and quiet. Located right in the central upper square its position is ideal for exploring all the magical streets and ally ways of Varenna
i would say it is probably the best value for money place in the town. Always busy in the summer!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter but smaller
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustgoflying1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here and loved it. Rooms were small but clean. Quiet and very well located along the piazza in magical Varenna. Ask for a room off the Piazza as they are quieter. Francesco the owner is ever present, kind, and helpful. The hotel is very well located despite not having a view. Close to all dining, easy access to main roads, lovely walking to the ferry. We woke to the peel of bells each morning. Breakfast was a little dry but served with a smile. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the piazza. Quieter in back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRJ_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We're a family of four-- kids ages 6 and 8-- and we loved Varenna and loved this hotel! Much more affordable than most that offer a lake-view, and we actually really liked being on Varenna's main square, the Piazza San Giorgio. The owner and staff were so, so nice and helpful... room was bright and clean, and we loved our balcony that looked out over the square. Breakfast was wonderful, and when we finished our coffee or were running low of anything on our breakfast table, it was quickly replenished. Even if you don't stay here, definitely try the hotel restaurant/pizzeria while in Varenna-- the food is delicious, wonderful service, and fun to look out and people-watch on the main square while enjoying your meal. Great restaurant if you have kids, as the kids can hang out on the wide steps leading down to the restaurant area, rather than being stuck at the table the entire time. Wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This is nice little hotel at the piazza San giorgo small modern room very clean, breakfast was very basic if you now what mean. The restaurant served very god food i ate there 2 times and enjoyd it very much. I paid €90 for a single room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inge_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.0 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 17, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £106 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo del Sole is a nice hotel in San Giorgio Square. It was totally renovated in 2003 and has very nicely furnished bedrooms and a suite overlooking the lake. It has also its own restaurant and pizzeria. Luigi, the owner, is the chef and restaurant manager. Car is not necessary as the hotel is located in the historical centre, only 50 meters from the old port, and 300 meters from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing