We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ristorante - a review”
Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #9 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Ristorante - a review”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The Monte Codeno Hotel Ristorante is a wonderful place to find local food, away from the tourist places by the water. Walk up the hill from the ferry and you will find it on the main street through the village. Run by the Castelli family, the chef prepares delicious pizzoccheri and other delicacies, made to order. They are very friendly and helpful, even if you don't speak very good Italian. We loved this little restaurant in Varenna.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    33
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
48
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is a solid no frills place to stay in the most wonderful town. You can walk to it from the train pretty easily which was a big plus. While not in the center of town it's literally a 2-3 minute walk. The morning breakfast was pleasant. Would definitely stay here again. If you have a higher budget there are more high end places available, but Monte Codeno is a nice option to have

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We did not stay at the Montecodeno, but we did eat there. We were so glad that we did. It is excellent value, a real ma-pa place as opposed to the majority of Varenna's eateries, which tend to be trendier, more slick kinds of places. The fish-focus-food kept coming in such quantities that we asked for a doggie bag for the first time in years. The George Harrison portrait on the wall was cause for conversation with the owners, wonderful people. Highly recommended from a former travel writer. I am done. The End.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Varenna and Lake Como were the highlight of our trip to Italy. We picked Hotel Monte Codeno for it's price and proximity to train station and were not disappointed.
We stayed 3 nights and got a free dinner which was delicious. The staff was the greatest! We feel like we made friends. The hotel room was very simple but all we needed. It was a great base to explore Lake Como,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcritic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,883 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,272 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed for six nights in June at the Hotel Monte Codeno and found it to be a good budget hotel. Our room was quite small, but it was clean. It had simple furnishings, a small TV, air conditioning and a long, narrow bathroom with shower. Our room's location -- on the second floor at the back of the hotel -- meant it was extremely quiet. Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the busy main road into town. The cold buffet breakfast proved to be adequate to start the day. Hotel staff provided excellent service, and there was always someone available who spoke English.

Though the hotel is not located at the edge of the lake, it took just a couple of minutes to walk downhill to the water and ferry terminal. A five-minute walk uphill brought us to the town's center. The nearby train station can also be reached on foot.

Many guests raved about the dinners served at the hotel, so we ate there our last night in Varenna. We were not disappointed -- great pasta and superbly prepared fresh fish.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

When searching for a hotel in Varenna, I wanted a view and a reasonable rate for a one night stay. But 3 months ahead and the reasonable view rooms were booked. Fortunately for me, Montecondeno had availability. The hotel was located less than a 10 minute walk from the train station which was ideal since I was carrying my luggage on my back. They were kind enough to store our luggage for the day after check out so we could enjoy the lake before catching the train that evening.

Marina is very friendly, warm & welcoming, helpful, and speaks good English. Ferruccio & Rodolfo are also friendly, but we did not have a chance to chat.

We had an upstairs front room whcih was roomy and comfortable and had a window overlooking the street. We did not find it noisy, but we only stayed one night. The only complaint is the shower is small & enclosed by a curtain which billowed between the water pressure & room fan and tried to stick to your legs...solution was to turn off the room fan while showering. A glass enclosure would help. The breakfast had variety with yogurts, breads/croissants, meats & cheese, cereal and juice. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but I hear it's good.

The hotel location is a short walk to the dock/ferry and 10 minutes to the other side of town. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again and glad I had the opportunity to meet Marina. She's a dear!

  • Liked — The hotel owners
  • Disliked — The shower curtain
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PakiCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

At the end of our month trip to Italy, my sister and I decided to chill out in one place for a few days and chose Lake Como..Varenna. We had no reservations, but were lucky to get a room for four days at this hotel right on the main street just a short walk from the train station. the chef teaches all over the world and specializes in the lake fish. They do a wonderful breakfast and the price was very good for having a view of the alps and Lake Como.

  • Liked — Location, food, price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Property: Hotel Monte Codeno
Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Codeno Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing