We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt just like family!”
Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #9 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our experiences in and near Varenna were enhanced by staying at Monte Codeno. The room was large, clean and quiet. We had good breakfasts including one which was packed for us by Mrs. castelli when we left early to catch a train to Torino. We arrived on the afternoon of a day when there was to be a special dinner with all local dishes. We had a multi course dinner which was delicious and shared the evening with the local town residents. What fun.
If we are fortunate enough to return to Varenna we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some might think it noisy but we overlooked the main entrance and could see all the " action&qu...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prilby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monte Codeno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel is situated right on the main road and our room faced it. Very loud road when cars and motorcycles went by. Our room was set up for 3 people, very cramped, the lighting was strange, one big light on the wall, with two little lights coming off the headboard that just didn't go with the room. No view of the Lake, just a house across the street.
Had the breakfast every morning, minimal amount of food, fruit would have been a nice touch, and the staff was very loud during our breakfast. Did have air conditioning in the room, TV with no English channels, and we had to pay for the Internet.

Room Tip: Had to pay for the Internet, on the main street, cars and motorcycles very loud.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senseiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The Monte Codeno Hotel Ristorante is a wonderful place to find local food, away from the tourist places by the water. Walk up the hill from the ferry and you will find it on the main street through the village. Run by the Castelli family, the chef prepares delicious pizzoccheri and other delicacies, made to order. They are very friendly and helpful, even if you don't speak very good Italian. We loved this little restaurant in Varenna.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is a solid no frills place to stay in the most wonderful town. You can walk to it from the train pretty easily which was a big plus. While not in the center of town it's literally a 2-3 minute walk. The morning breakfast was pleasant. Would definitely stay here again. If you have a higher budget there are more high end places available, but Monte Codeno is a nice option to have

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We did not stay at the Montecodeno, but we did eat there. We were so glad that we did. It is excellent value, a real ma-pa place as opposed to the majority of Varenna's eateries, which tend to be trendier, more slick kinds of places. The fish-focus-food kept coming in such quantities that we asked for a doggie bag for the first time in years. The George Harrison portrait on the wall was cause for conversation with the owners, wonderful people. Highly recommended from a former travel writer. I am done. The End.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Varenna and Lake Como were the highlight of our trip to Italy. We picked Hotel Monte Codeno for it's price and proximity to train station and were not disappointed.
We stayed 3 nights and got a free dinner which was delicious. The staff was the greatest! We feel like we made friends. The hotel room was very simple but all we needed. It was a great base to explore Lake Como,

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcritic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed for six nights in June at the Hotel Monte Codeno and found it to be a good budget hotel. Our room was quite small, but it was clean. It had simple furnishings, a small TV, air conditioning and a long, narrow bathroom with shower. Our room's location -- on the second floor at the back of the hotel -- meant it was extremely quiet. Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the busy main road into town. The cold buffet breakfast proved to be adequate to start the day. Hotel staff provided excellent service, and there was always someone available who spoke English.

Though the hotel is not located at the edge of the lake, it took just a couple of minutes to walk downhill to the water and ferry terminal. A five-minute walk uphill brought us to the town's center. The nearby train station can also be reached on foot.

Many guests raved about the dinners served at the hotel, so we ate there our last night in Varenna. We were not disappointed -- great pasta and superbly prepared fresh fish.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £66 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Codeno Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing