We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Breakfast Included”
Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #8 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Seconds from the water and from where the boat drops you off, this hotel was perfect. It included a bathroom (small but adequate) a good size bedroom, the bed was nice and there was wireless, one hour per day is free. The person on duty will give you a code. The wireless did not work on my tablet, but my friends worked fine on her iphone. This hotel is located about ten minutes walk from the train station and literally a two minute walk from where the boats drop you off.. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were taking a road trip in Italy; it was pouring rain and we just wanted to land somewhere for the night. At first we were unsure about this place. The room was very clean but quite small and basic but we decided to check in and we are glad we did. This place was great. The staff made us feel right at home from the minute we arrived. Anything we needed, they were anxious to help. We felt like we were staying with a family not just in a hotel. There was hotel parking for us across right across the street and it could not have been more convenient to the ferry terminal, which was only a few hundred feet away. The room was very reasonably priced and included internet, parking and breakfast. Other meals were available and very reasonable. Unless it is really important to you to have an elegant room, we whole heartedly recommend Hotel Monte Codeno for your visit to Lake Como!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

It was difficult finiding hotels open the last week of March however the day before I left for Varenna I called and found Hotel Monte Condeno open. The hotel staff were friendly and the location was excellent for walking to the train station and ferry. However the room, though clean, was small and would be to cramped for more than two people.

The room I was given overlooked the main street where the noise at night and early morning can keep light sleepers awake. If you wanted internet it cost extra, there are no clocks and the very small TV had stations in Italian only. The breakfast was contental style with what seems to be common in this area, cereal, assorted breads, coffee and juice

This hotel is minutes to the ferry and several cafe / restaraunts.

I took a ferry to Mannggio and Bellegio and decided to switch hotels for my second night; for only 10euro's more I stayed in a lovely Hotel in Bellegio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarena1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The staff were delightful, and made this a welcoming and comfortable place to stay. The room was nice, bright and cheery, the bed comfortable. I felt like I was greeted like a member of the family each time I came in.

The hotel is an easy walk from the train station, the town center, and the ferry dock. It has air conditioning, and you can get WiFi at an extra charge. I thought it was pretty quiet, even though I had a room on the main road.

The restaurant is great. Breakfast (included) is the usual light Italian breakfast buffet, except with homemade jams (yummy.) Dinner was some of the best food I had this trip -- smoked trout pasta was to die for! The specialty is fresh (caught that morning) seafood, but they have really good pizza, too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back would be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our experiences in and near Varenna were enhanced by staying at Monte Codeno. The room was large, clean and quiet. We had good breakfasts including one which was packed for us by Mrs. castelli when we left early to catch a train to Torino. We arrived on the afternoon of a day when there was to be a special dinner with all local dishes. We had a multi course dinner which was delicious and shared the evening with the local town residents. What fun.
If we are fortunate enough to return to Varenna we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some might think it noisy but we overlooked the main entrance and could see all the " action&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prilby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel is situated right on the main road and our room faced it. Very loud road when cars and motorcycles went by. Our room was set up for 3 people, very cramped, the lighting was strange, one big light on the wall, with two little lights coming off the headboard that just didn't go with the room. No view of the Lake, just a house across the street.
Had the breakfast every morning, minimal amount of food, fruit would have been a nice touch, and the staff was very loud during our breakfast. Did have air conditioning in the room, TV with no English channels, and we had to pay for the Internet.

Room Tip: Had to pay for the Internet, on the main street, cars and motorcycles very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senseiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The Monte Codeno Hotel Ristorante is a wonderful place to find local food, away from the tourist places by the water. Walk up the hill from the ferry and you will find it on the main street through the village. Run by the Castelli family, the chef prepares delicious pizzoccheri and other delicacies, made to order. They are very friendly and helpful, even if you don't speak very good Italian. We loved this little restaurant in Varenna.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano
Albergo Milano
#1 of 12 in Varenna
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#7 of 12 in Varenna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Codeno Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing