We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible breakfast, super rude staff...”
Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #9 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very unprofessional staff, super rude...we were welcome by a very moody lady with a yelling baby in her arms (super unprofessional). Looks like it's owned by a family with lots of internal problems since they were all yelling at each other. The breakfast was maybe the worst I have eaten in Italy. Super low quality food... old bread, bad quality ham, they gave JUST ONE NAPKING, one of them had a death fly on it... even the honey was horrible.
The rooms are OK, just OK for maybe a very easygoing backpacker. The only positive thing is that the bathroom was clean and it had air conditioning.The location is excellent but I'd rather stay faraway and be treated gently than stay in a nice location (horrible hotel) with a super rude staff.
Avoid staying there and pay an extra dollar to stay at a better place... WHAT A NIGHTMARE.

Room Tip: no room is better than a room here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarianBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014
Google Translation

Buongiorno,
sono il nuovo proprietario dell'hotel monte codeno,
spero in futuro possa soggiornare con noi ancora per valutare se lo staff è la colazione sono migliorati!
Buona giornata!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monte Codeno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for one night and OK the décor isn't fancy but our room was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff were incredibly helpful and for Varenna the price is very good. Loved the location up one of the little cobbled alleys and it is close enough to walk to the bars and restaurants around the lake but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. A bonus was the air conditioning that was controllable and actually worked which is more than I can say for some more expensive locations on this trip!

Really good breakfast and if we hadn't had a huge lunch would have tried the restaurant which has won lots of local awards........next time!

Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

First, we would stay here again. For the price, especially in this town, it is a good hotel.

The beds were adequate, that's all. The rooms were typically small for an Italian hotel. The room was clean. The bathroom was cramped and the shower was damn near claustrophobic. The grout in the shower was in dire need of some bleach.

Breakfast was adequate... Standard Italian continental breakfast.

The location is good in terms of distance to the train station and is a short walk to the ferry dock, but is located next to the main road, so expect some road noise, but not a lot since there is not a ton of traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014
Google Translation

Buongiorno!
sono il nuovo proprietario dell'albergo!
Grazie per i consigli, Spero che lei torni da noi presto per poter vedere se la nostra struttura è migliorata!!
buona giornata!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is a 3 star hotel, which in my experience is a low rating in Europe. This hotel was nice enough with the average size rooms in Europe (smaller) and older beds. My only real complaint about this hotel was the beds. I woke up every morning with a sore back. The hotel was about a block from the lake and at the base of a trail to a castle overlooking the lake. The area is gorgeous and the hotel staff was a friendly family that helped us with every request. The greatest surprise was the first night, upon arrival on a rainy night, we chose to eat at the hotel because of the rain. This was the best decision we made. At first, we were a little weary of the restaurant, as it definitely looked in need of some updating. There is a Rick Steve's special 3 course meal for 26 Euros, but there is also a special for hotel guests, a 3 course meal for 20 Euros. The catch with this is that the chef chooses the meals available for the night rather than choosing from the menu. It turned out to be an excellent meal. We eventually noticed many older locals coming into the restaurant, which is always a good sign, and they were there every night we were there. This was by far the best meal we had in the Lake Como area. For the price, this was a great place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmY38474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. About a five minute walk from either the train station or the ferry. The owners we very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious. Its very close to the water but not right on it, but there are so many benches by the water you don't need to pay for the view. The rooms are a little basic but I couldn't think of anything else I would want.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbeanie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner flew out to Italy for a few days as we are planning our wedding for 2013 and we just needed to check out a few places. The hotel is great for what you pay for, great location two minutes from the train station, five minutes from the ferry port. A little noisy but hey you are in Italy everyone rides motorbikes, it certainly did not disturb our sleep! Would reccomend to everyone! Ciao x

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunshine2010186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. Very friendly staff. Marina runs the hotel and her husband runs the kitchen. Marina's quite a character and very helpful. She speaks English well and even taught me a little Italian. Reasonably priced. Clean. GREAT food. Hotel is right on the path to castle de vezio up the mountain. It's worth the hike to the medieval castle and the open air restaurant there is pretty good. Great views but very windy. Very close to lago. Marina got us a taxi for the drive to MXP Milan. That was great and reasonable. The town itself, Varenna, was very quiet and relaxing and I enjoyed that very much. The only drawback with this hotel is the NOISE of the road right outside the hotel. Do not get a room that faces the street if you want any sleep. There is no AC until mid June, which is a bummer if it's hot in May as it was when we were there. Great restaurant and the black pasta and seafood and dessert and wine is very satisfying.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room facing the street if you want to sleep. Vespas growl past all night long. There...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano
Albergo Milano
#1 of 12 in Varenna
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £66 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Codeno Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing