We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #7 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a great time staying here in Varenna. The staff was very nice, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast was GREAT!! The breakfast had great choices, including homemade jams. The staff was very helpful with whatever we needed. Also, the chef/owner is a world renowned chef! There are awards, newspaper articles, and pictures of him cooking all over the world! The food showed this also. I had the BEST breaded pork dish ever! It was all good, and I ate too much :)
The rooms were clean and basic, which was exactly what we expected. All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tab-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    33
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
46
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 26/8 till 31/8. Hotel Monte Code no is a nice little hotel managed by a charming couple. Rooms were just good as expected. We ( 2 adults and one boy 17 years old and one girl 7 years old ) stayed in bed and breakfast formula as there are plenty nice little Italian restaurants around as well in Varenna as other surrounding villages.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very unprofessional staff, super rude...we were welcome by a very moody lady with a yelling baby in her arms (super unprofessional). Looks like it's owned by a family with lots of internal problems since they were all yelling at each other. The breakfast was maybe the worst I have eaten in Italy. Super low quality food... old bread, bad quality ham, they gave JUST ONE NAPKING, one of them had a death fly on it... even the honey was horrible.
The rooms are OK, just OK for maybe a very easygoing backpacker. The only positive thing is that the bathroom was clean and it had air conditioning.The location is excellent but I'd rather stay faraway and be treated gently than stay in a nice location (horrible hotel) with a super rude staff.
Avoid staying there and pay an extra dollar to stay at a better place... WHAT A NIGHTMARE.

Room Tip: no room is better than a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno,
sono il nuovo proprietario dell'hotel monte codeno,
spero in futuro possa soggiornare con noi ancora per valutare se lo staff è la colazione sono migliorati!
Buona giornata!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for one night and OK the décor isn't fancy but our room was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff were incredibly helpful and for Varenna the price is very good. Loved the location up one of the little cobbled alleys and it is close enough to walk to the bars and restaurants around the lake but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. A bonus was the air conditioning that was controllable and actually worked which is more than I can say for some more expensive locations on this trip!

Really good breakfast and if we hadn't had a huge lunch would have tried the restaurant which has won lots of local awards........next time!

Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

First, we would stay here again. For the price, especially in this town, it is a good hotel.

The beds were adequate, that's all. The rooms were typically small for an Italian hotel. The room was clean. The bathroom was cramped and the shower was damn near claustrophobic. The grout in the shower was in dire need of some bleach.

Breakfast was adequate... Standard Italian continental breakfast.

The location is good in terms of distance to the train station and is a short walk to the ferry dock, but is located next to the main road, so expect some road noise, but not a lot since there is not a ton of traffic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno!
sono il nuovo proprietario dell'albergo!
Grazie per i consigli, Spero che lei torni da noi presto per poter vedere se la nostra struttura è migliorata!!
buona giornata!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is a 3 star hotel, which in my experience is a low rating in Europe. This hotel was nice enough with the average size rooms in Europe (smaller) and older beds. My only real complaint about this hotel was the beds. I woke up every morning with a sore back. The hotel was about a block from the lake and at the base of a trail to a castle overlooking the lake. The area is gorgeous and the hotel staff was a friendly family that helped us with every request. The greatest surprise was the first night, upon arrival on a rainy night, we chose to eat at the hotel because of the rain. This was the best decision we made. At first, we were a little weary of the restaurant, as it definitely looked in need of some updating. There is a Rick Steve's special 3 course meal for 26 Euros, but there is also a special for hotel guests, a 3 course meal for 20 Euros. The catch with this is that the chef chooses the meals available for the night rather than choosing from the menu. It turned out to be an excellent meal. We eventually noticed many older locals coming into the restaurant, which is always a good sign, and they were there every night we were there. This was by far the best meal we had in the Lake Como area. For the price, this was a great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmY38474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. About a five minute walk from either the train station or the ferry. The owners we very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious. Its very close to the water but not right on it, but there are so many benches by the water you don't need to pay for the view. The rooms are a little basic but I couldn't think of anything else I would want.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbeanie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#9 of 12 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Property: Hotel Monte Codeno
Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Codeno Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing