We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying here”
Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #8 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed here in the past, it is now under new ownership and it is a vast improvement. This is a family run B&B and the level of concern for a comfortable and pleasant stay is apparent. The greeting and registration process was as if you were coming to a relatives home for the first time.

This is not the Ritz Carlton, but you are not paying.g for the Ritz. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is a typical Italian breakfast. The staff is attentive to your needs and check with you to see if there is anything else that you need.

The family that owns and runs this hotel take pride in their business and enjoys interacting with their guests !

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet and there is no need to ask for a.room that would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Don't know how this place rates 4 stars as it is very basic and old. Convenient to train station and harbour. Had a bit of trouble with the wifi but Marco very quickly sorted it out for us. We weren't inspired to try the restaurant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peterke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Hello,

The hotel Monteocdeno is 3 star hotel, not 4 star,
I'm sorry that you hadn't the inspiration to try our restaurant cause we'd like all people fell like into a big family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights in beautiful Varenna. This hotel is under new management. Marco speaks english and is very helpful. Free breakfeast from 8-10.This new team aims to please and we were very satisfied.We had great weather which helped make our experience very enjoyable. This is a clean and well run facility with not many frills,but who wants to be indoors when on Holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We traveled to Italy September 23 and our first stop was Vareena. The hotel room was a bit noisy since it faced on the main road but the cooler fall nights allowed us to close the window and cut down the sound. We were so exhausted we barely noticed the noise the first night anyway! The room was nice and had a US style bathroom. The breakfast was great - featuring homegrown figs and jams, meats and cheeses, teas, coffee, etc. There is a nice patio out back for relaxing. The owners were very helpful and friendly.
Just one note, if you book through Booking.com or other service, you will not get the Rick Steves free dinner for booking 3 nights. I wish we had known that. Cost us $60.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parishfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a great time staying here in Varenna. The staff was very nice, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast was GREAT!! The breakfast had great choices, including homemade jams. The staff was very helpful with whatever we needed. Also, the chef/owner is a world renowned chef! There are awards, newspaper articles, and pictures of him cooking all over the world! The food showed this also. I had the BEST breaded pork dish ever! It was all good, and I ate too much :)
The rooms were clean and basic, which was exactly what we expected. All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tab-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 26/8 till 31/8. Hotel Monte Code no is a nice little hotel managed by a charming couple. Rooms were just good as expected. We ( 2 adults and one boy 17 years old and one girl 7 years old ) stayed in bed and breakfast formula as there are plenty nice little Italian restaurants around as well in Varenna as other surrounding villages.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very unprofessional staff, super rude...we were welcome by a very moody lady with a yelling baby in her arms (super unprofessional). Looks like it's owned by a family with lots of internal problems since they were all yelling at each other. The breakfast was maybe the worst I have eaten in Italy. Super low quality food... old bread, bad quality ham, they gave JUST ONE NAPKING, one of them had a death fly on it... even the honey was horrible.
The rooms are OK, just OK for maybe a very easygoing backpacker. The only positive thing is that the bathroom was clean and it had air conditioning.The location is excellent but I'd rather stay faraway and be treated gently than stay in a nice location (horrible hotel) with a super rude staff.
Avoid staying there and pay an extra dollar to stay at a better place... WHAT A NIGHTMARE.

Room Tip: no room is better than a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarianBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014
Google Translation

Buongiorno,
sono il nuovo proprietario dell'hotel monte codeno,
spero in futuro possa soggiornare con noi ancora per valutare se lo staff è la colazione sono migliorati!
Buona giornata!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano
Albergo Milano
#1 of 12 in Varenna
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#7 of 12 in Varenna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Codeno Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing