We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”
Review of Orange House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange House
Ranked #10 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

It's probably very hard to find this good of a deal. Piero and Mara are very very welcoming. The breakfasts are filling and the location is very convenient. Yes, it can be a bit noisy at night because it is near the road and some of these Italians have LOUD mufflers. Harley Davidson loud. Besides that we love the place. It is clean and comfy. Would be stay again? Yes.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

For us, this was perfect! The small, lovely town of Varenna with it's tiny train station within an easy commute from Milan is also connected to the excellent ferry system on Lake Como. Orange House, with it's 2 bedrooms and bathrooms meant that we had this little house to ourselves! Although there is no access to the kitchen, there is a living/dining room with room to relax. Our hosts, Piero and Mara, were warm and welcoming, and very helpful with local information. We loved Mara's breakfasts!
The value for us was excellent. I would recommend it especially for families or friends travelling together. For couples looking for a romantic setting, there are many lovely small inns with lake views. Orange House is conveniently located very close to the train station and ferry dock on the edge of town. It is more of a modern town house, but steps outside your door, you have all that Lake Como offers. It was wonderful to return to after exploring. The town of Varenna is very lovely, we loved the walking along the passarella with cones of Eros' gelato, enjoying lovely waterfront meals at Molo, climbing up the many steep steps to the ancient castle- as well as exploring the other towns of Menaggio and Bellagio. We were also able to visit Lugano, Switzerland for the afternoon and if more time allows you could even take the train up to St. Moritz!
A heartfelt thank you to Piero and Mara for making us feel so comforable and welcome!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KellyBedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Orange House B&B from May 25 - 31, 2012. It is conveniently situated in Varenna, being close to town, ferry and train station. Mara and Piero are gracious, warm and accommodating hosts; they made us feel like family. Mara’s breakfasts were delightful and delicious. Piero did everything from making dinner reservations for us to providing us with excellent suggestions and directions on things to do the area. We were very comfortable in the double bedroom on the second floor. The B&B is extremely clean and spacious. Our room was tidied up every day and clean linens were provided throughout our stay. We have had a lot of experiences with staying at B&B’s over the years and we both agree that the Orange House is one of our very favorites. If you are planning a visit to the central region of Lake Como, Varenna is a quiet and serene village away from tourist congestion and crowds. I cannot say enough about our recent experience staying at the Orange House in Varenna; it’s one of the highlights of our memorable trip to Italy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pschery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Orange house is a perfect b and b, large spacious room upstairs if you get that one, and the breakfast prepared each morning was delicious, the home made panacotta a must have! It is a 5 minute walk into its not in the middle of the village , but thats also good as the noise at night is low. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Orange House in Varenna in September. Mara and Piero are so warm and welcoming! Piero gave up his parking spot for us because we had a rental car. The B & B is in a perfect location!! We fell in love with Varenna and will return. If you are lucky enough to find a vacancy here - grab it!!!! It is a wonderful B & B run by a terrific couple!!!!! Noise was NOT an issue!

Room Tip: We did not hear any noise from our room and had our window open!! We were there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pchaivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This guest house has only two rooms as well as a central breakfast and community area. My wife and I stayed in the room on the entry level. Upon arriving in Varenna and ringing the bell to the enclosed compound, Piero met us at the gate and took us to our room. He took the time to show us around and to explain the breakfast routine as well as the community area. Later, we met the other couple staying there; and with whom we enjoyed breakfast every morning. We were given keys for privacy and shown how to enter the compound area. The Orange House was very comfortable and in a great location from both the train station and the waterfront. Piero and his wife were available even though they reside off the premises. We recommend the Orange House and would definitely return. The price was extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, so they are on a first come-first served basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gs8055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Based on a Rick Steves' recommendation, we stayed at Orange House July 8-10, 2011. Piero and Mara have created a comfy, home-away-from home for their guests, and we would recommend Orange House to anyone. The 2 bedroom/2 bath apartment on two floors with a family/breakfast room was perfect for us (husband & wife, nephew, and friend). Piero waved to us as we walked from the train station; it was very easy to find anyway. He also provided train and boat schedules and made some sightseeing recommendations. Mara's breakfast was the best we had in Italy. There isn't air conditioning; however, the open windows and ceiling fans made the rooms comfortable. The only noise we heard at night was the stream (which we loved to hear). We had an early plane to catch; Piero confirmed our pick up time with our driver, and Mara even packed a light breakfast for us to take along.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kloop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo B&B
Michelangelo B&B
#4 of 12 in Varenna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Torretta
Villa Torretta
#2 of 12 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange House

Property: Orange House
Address: Via Venini | Lecco, 156 - 2382 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orange House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange House Hotel Varenna
Orange House Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing