We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hostel is more upscale than this place”
Review of Orange House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange House
Ranked #10 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Indian Land, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hostel is more upscale than this place”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I drove in and they made me park in a garage. Extra un expected cost

The towels were so harsh you got a defoliation after each shower. No soap in bathroom, shampoo etc.

They have a washing machine, but you cannot use it.

No A/C - room has 1 window and is on the road where you hear motor cycles all nite long going thru there gears up the hill outside the window.

Room Tip: no room is good here, no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Piero and Mara give you a warm welcome to their B&B in Varenna, a small town on Lake Como. Easily accessible by train, the bed and breakfast is a short walk from the train station. Check in is between 1.30 and 3.30 pm but earlier or later arrivals can be accommodated by advising Piero and Mara prior to arrival. You receive a key to the house on arrival so you can come and go as you please. We were given a room with twin beds and a private bathroom across the hallway. There is a double room with en suite bathroom upstairs. Our room was very clean, the beds comfortable and there was plenty of cupboard space, as well as a small desk. Breakfast, which is optional, was simple but ample: tea and coffee, cheese, ham, bread, juice, yogurt and cereal. Enough to set you up for the day. Piero is very helpful with tourism information, and he has materials in English for non-Italian speakers. We stayed two nights and thoroughly recommend Orange House. With only two rooms, you'll need to book ahead. Check out is at 10.00 am. Prices are extremely reasonable given the popularity of the area. We paid €68 per night including breakfast. The rooms are not air conditioned, but they do have ceiling fans which is more than adequate. The B&B is five minutes from the ferry wharf from where you can visit other lake towns like Bellagio.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Piero was a warm and friendly host. His apartment is well located near the train station and is quite cool in summer (with the ceiling fan) even though it had no air conditioning. We had a difficult time locating the apartment though, so it may be helpful to note that his apartment is the block at the corner of the road, opposite a bar and a travel agency (p.s. you can buy train tickets here).

The room (upstairs) that we had was clean, of a good size, and came with free wifi. We were allowed to use the living room where cable tv was available. Even though Piero does not stay at the apartment, he was kind enough to leave an old handphone at his place so that we can contact him in case of emergencies. Overall we were happy with our stay and would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the orange house for 2 nights. It was perfect. Right next to the train station. Piero was very nice and gave good recommendation s. his wife speaks little English but we are in Italy. My boyfriend tried to say have a nice evening in Italian to her in which she said "I don't speak English". Haha. I guess his pronunciation was poor. Had breakfast one morning which was fine. Would stay again especially for the price

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayArnold479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern IN
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am so glad we (my daughter 23 and myself 51) chose Varenna and Orange House for our trip. The B&B is very close to the train station (less than 5 min.) and an easy walk to the ferry (5 min.) as well. Just know-everything is up hill! We had heavy luggage to tote and there are steps up to the B&B, but it was not a problem for us. Piero was very kind and helped us. We only ate breakfast 1 morning and it was a very good breakfast. I was pleased with our room and the bathroom was a good size. I loved that the windows could be open and it also had a ceiling fan to keep the air moving. There is a breakfast area with couch and TV if you want to use it. We didn't spend much time there as we were always on the go. The wifi worked great for us. The price was right, loved the location, and the room was just what we needed. I recommend this to anyone that can climb some stairs and doesn't have too much luggage to carry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensSouthernIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGTN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We loved our stay in Varenna - it is a magical spot and this is just the place to rest after a day exploring and eating. Piero was just such a gentleman, gave great recommendations and his wife was so lovely bringing in breakfast each morning. We weren't great fans of Italian breakfasts throughout Italy but we certainly found enough here to tide us over for the day & appreciated the little touches. Overall, we would return in a heartbeat.

We hope to return, thank you for the great stay!

(Three month trip around Europe - this was in our top 10 accommodation picks!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melia000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Great place to stay! Mara and Piero give the Orange House personal touches that make a stay there delightful. We are in our late 70's and appreciated that the Orange House was an easy walk from the train station and a short walk to where the boats dock. We hope we are fortunate enough to visit there again. It is like staying with relatives that you really like.

There was a light, but persistent rain, the morning that we left, Piero insisted on walking with my wife and I and helping her with her pull along luggage so that she could better manage an umbrella. It was a kindness the likes of which we had never seen in many years of travel. Thanks again Piero. Carolyn and George

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#8 of 12 in Varenna
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Stacy
Casa Stacy
#1 of 6 in Varenna
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange House

Property: Orange House
Address: Via Venini | Lecco, 156 - 2382 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orange House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange House Hotel Varenna
Orange House Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing