We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!!”
Review of Orange House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange House
Ranked #10 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at the Orange House in May this year for a wonderful 3 days. Mara and Piero were fantastic hosts. Breakfast was delicious, room was clean and spacious. Location was great, not hard to find, but we had a GPS. Piero met us out front and helped us to our room. We will definitely go back in 2 years.
Hope they will still be around.

John and Mara

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2009

We arrived by train from Milan and found the Orange House quite easily after a 5 minute downhill walk from the train station. The owners Piero and Maria were waiting for us when we arrived. They were both very warm and welcoming, and very eager to get us acquainted with Varenna. They offered us maps, restaurant suggestions, and help with ferry schedules. Another nice perk was the free wireless internet (if you have your own laptop). Maria prepared a nice breakfast for us in the morning, something a little different each day. She even had breakfast ready for us very early on our last day as we had an early train to catch.

We stayed in the double room with ensuite bathroom which was upstairs. We had plenty of space for 2 people and luggage. Everything was very clean and tidy. We enjoyed sleeping with the windows open and listening to the relaxing sound of the stream outside. The location of the Orange House is perfect. A very short walk to and from the train station, but also just a 5-15 minute walk to anywhere else in Varenna since it is such a small town. There are only 2 rooms at the Orange House so it is very private. It would be a great place for a family or large group traveling together.

We loved everything about the Orange House and its owners. We wouldn't change a thing, and we would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stinapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

After reading the good reviews the Orange House received on TripAdvisor, we decided to book it for our stay in Varenna. After our stay, we have to agree with all those good reviews. The location is pretty close to the train station (don't worry, you can't hear the train) and is a beautiful stroll away from the ferry and the center or Varenna. About a 5 to 10 minute walk. Upon our arrival, it was a little tricky to find the Orange House. Maybe because we were expecting a "house". It is actually more like a condo (which was fine with us). They posted a small, but bright orange sign in the window to help identify its location in the complex. So look out for that orange sign from the street. Once we found the Orange House we were pleasantly greeted by Piero and Mara who welcomed us in. The inside was very nice and spacious. We really enjoyed what the Orange House provided. The Orange House set up was perfect for us because my wife and I stayed in the double room upstairs and our friend stayed in the single room downstairs. We had the whole place to ourselves. Very nice. Also, there is a bar across the street that we really enjoyed. We had a very good time sipping wine with the locals and the bar staff offered us complimentary limoncello drinks before the bar closed. Of course we had to return the next couple of nights. Good times.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSTREK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We agree with all the positive comments posted to date.
Mara and Piero are exceptional hosts, thoughtful, kind and very welcoming. Mara’s breakfasts are huge, delicious and well presented. Piero’s English is good and he was extremely helpful, providing us with lots of tourist information and maps.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SD-Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

I would have to agree with the previous Reviews in several instances: (1) Very convenient to train station (but a little tricky to find; (2) Decent - but pleasant walk -- to the village. (3) Piero is a warm and friendly host, but is not available on the premises to consult whenever you need help - but he'll give you lots of help and advice when you arrive.
My only disagreement is with the breakfast critiques -- maybe "Mara" was gone. We were served the puniest breakfast of our one month trip - some Musilix, a small glass of OJ, and a roll. Maybe Mara was visiting relatives, but there were no wonderful home-baked tarts and bacon when we stayed there .

Also, as an American I was expecting the Orange House to be a "house" -- a detached structure -- but really it was just two rooms in what I would refer to as an apartment building. But, of course, that was my bad -- just an ethnocentric American!! But I thought that I would add this caveat for other ethnocentric Americans, in case it matters to you.

All in all, the Orange House was a good value; but if you want to live closer to the Varenna action, you might want to spend more and get yourself closer to the village and lake.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJTCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

I booked the Orange House B&B for 3 nights after reading favorable reviews on TripAdvisor and Rick Steves. We were very happy with our room (very clean!), the location, and especially our hosts. Mara made us a very nice breakfast every morning and Piero helped us with brochures, maps, directions, and excellent restaurant choices in Varenna. They just go out of their way to please their guests. Since there are only 2 units, you have a lot of privacy if you want it, but we ended up with new friends in the other unit. The location is wonderful if coming from the train station. If you're walking down the street towards the lake, it's just to the left (sign in the window) which makes it very easy to access with luggage. It's also just a short walk to the ferry terminal and the rest of Varenna. Although there isn't a panoramic view of the lake, we had a wonderful view of the river and could see a slice of the lake if we stuck our head out the window.Since Varenna is so small, we would run into Piero in town. It was like running into a local friend, which made Varenna seem like home. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chartravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We stayed at Orange House for three nights based on previous reviews and we would highly recommend it for a stay in the Lake Como area, particularly if you are travelling by train. It was at least half the price of our other accommodations during our three weeks in Italy.

Clean, comfortable rooms, good location (a short walk from the train station), great breakfasts and excellent hosts. As others have mentioned, it's a bit difficult to find (the small sign in the window is hard to spot), but Piero was out on the road to meet us. Varenna is a very pretty town with lots of atmosphere. Small and quiet enough to feel relaxed in, but with plenty of sights and restaurants to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#8 of 12 in Varenna
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo B&B
Michelangelo B&B
#3 of 12 in Varenna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange House

Address: Via Venini | Lecco, 156 - 2382 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: £71 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orange House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange House Hotel Varenna
Orange House Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing