We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific location with a beautiful view of Lake...”
other travellers have booked this property
breakfast on the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
breakfast on the balcony
where we are out side the building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
breakfast on the balcony
where we are
out side the building
view from the windows
where we are 2
large terrace
on the front lake
view from the windows 2
living room
bathroom pic 1
bathroom with wind pic 2
bed room pic 1
terrace on the mountain side
view from window pic 4
view from window pic 4
bed room pic 2
living room pic 2
kitchen
view from window pic 5
view from window pic 6
view from window pic 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Marian334
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific location with a beautiful view of Lake Como”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location of the apartment was wonderful! And the balcony was so enjoyable with the beautiful view of Lake Como while sipping some champagne or morning coffee! The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and towels supplied. Also, nice to have a washer to use. The apartment was very clean and we appreciated the ride to/from the train station to the apartment. The hostess was very kind and even had a beautiful welcoming gift (towel of Lake Como). Very thoughtful.
The weather was extremely hot while we visited and all windows needed to be open! At times, the noise was unbearable with barking dogs, garbage trucks, noisy cars. That is the only reason I did not give this visit a 5 rating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaBr...
Brookline, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and kind hosts”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment worked wonderfully for my husband and I. There was a bit of confusion around our arrival, but Christina took us out for a gelato while the apartment was being made ready. Mary, had cleaned the apartment, and she accompanied us to the carabinieri to report my husband's stolen passport, and she translated for us. Our plan was to stay three nights and return to Milan on the night before our return flight, but they had a night open and we were able to stay another night and get back in plenty of time to Malpensa for the plane.

The apartment has a spacious bedroom with lots of storage, a kitchenette with a stove top and a good size bath with a washer. The private terrace was lovely with a fantastic view of the lake, hills, and fireworks. The location could not be beat. It was about 5 minutes to walk to the train or ferry and close to the town center. The decor is simple, which is to my taste. This is a 4th floor (American) walk up, so if you have trouble with stairs, it is probably not the best choice. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa W
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Mary met us at the Train Station with a warm smile and truly excited to see us. She drove us to the property and showed us the Apartment. On the table she had a beautiful card, a chilled bottle of Champagne for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and a welcome gift. She truly is a such a sweetheart. The location of the Apartment is so convenient to everything, Ferry, Train Station, Hiking, etc. The views are gorgeous. Everything was spotlessly clean. When we return to Varenna we will definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sheilag13...
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room with a view”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have just returned from the Casa Mary and I couldn't have asked for better accommodation and position in Varenne Lake Como.
The view from the room and balcony was spectacular. The appartment had every thing you would need for a self catering holiday and very close to the ferry port , train station and parking in a locked area if needed. The appartment is near shops, restaurants and a lido so all needs are met. The owners are very nice and friendly and offered to collect me to and from the train station and gave me a welcome present on my arrival. My pictures don't give justice to the views and accommodation. I recommend this property for long stays and stop over.as The appartment can be used as base to discover other areas of lake como as ferry is just by this appartment going to Bellagio and Como.
Only down side to this property is, if you have any mobility problems it is on the third floor so could cause you some issues. If I return to Lake Como I would look to book this property again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallace11
Kyle,TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very nice apartment, beautiful views, great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fourth floor apartment, fantastic views, located 2 minutes from the ferry. Apartment had all the amenities needed. Very clean and compact. Mary picked us up at the train station and explained everything about the apartment, restaurants, and places to visit. We had a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superferr...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON A BALCONY”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

probably the best apartment we have stayed on our many visits to italy.met at the train station by mary and driven to the wonderful large house opposite the ferry . 5 minutes walk from the train station and very near all the beautiful walks,restaurants,bars.romantic,intimate and beautiful.very quiet and sitting on the very large balcony opposite the lake and mountains was breathtaking and tranquil.beautiful apartment with excellent views from every angle and wonderful communication between mary and her son andreas.Mary gave us a small present on arrival which was a very nice gesture and the apartment has a wonderful selection of literature on every aspect of the lake and its surroundings.the 62 steps up to the apartment with balcony are no problem at all and mary and andreas are a credit to the local community and varenna tourism.Many happy memories here and i do believe Varenna is the pearl of Lake Como and not Bellagio.THank you both for a memorable and relaxing stay and good luck to you both for a most enjoyable experience and great memories.
ciao!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: balcony and friendliness of owners
Liked least: not staying longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;