We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Convent 1613
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Fresneda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July, a family of four, two children aged 12 and 7. We loved it from the moment we walked across the courtyard. The building is ancient but very well maintained, extremely clean and full of beautiful old artifacts. We stayed in a family suite which was two Spacious rooms joined by an interconnecting hallway. Off the hallway were two bathrooms, both with baths, showers and copious amounts of hot water. The air con was very efficient (very necessary as it was 100degrees outside) and the windows were shutters with heavy wooden shutters so we slept in very late every morning. The breakfast was served until 10.30 and was of standard Spanish fare; bread, cheese, ham, yoghurts, home made cakes and biscuits, cereal, bacon, sausages, eggs etc. The coffee was made to order and excellent. We lunched by the pool twice (gazpacho, mozzarella salad, jamon) and it was wonderful. On our second day the waitress was acting as cook and made us a soft chocolate fondant pudding for dessert....she told us it would take 30minutes and it arrived steaming hot out of the oven. Amazing!The hotel is situated in a very pretty medieval town which feels very remote but has all the facilities you could want. The restaurant at El Convent was closed on the two nights we were there so we dined in the town at the two little tapas bars which are a short walk from the hotel. All the locals came out to drink and chat as the night progressed and we loved watching the locals enjoying life in their beautiful community. The village has beautiful walks around it and we walked up to the church and old fortress to watch the sun set each night. This village is in a stunning location. The drive from Barcelona through the mountains was spectacular, the village was beautiful and unspoiled and the hotel was magical from beginning to end. We would not hesitate to travel from Australia to Spain again purely for the privilege of staying at El Convent.

AR

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank marinapsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
101
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed two nights in this old monastery turned into a hotel. We had a room in the new section where the two rooms had a balcony with a beautiful view over the nearby hills. Some other rooms seemed to have windows and entrance to the garden full of flowers, trees and a fountain. The personell were very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast and dinner in their restaurant. We really liked the food and also the surroundings. An extra bonus was a nice collection of local wines we much enjoyed - to the extent that we bought a bottle from them to take home. We stayed in the hotel in July during a hot weekend. Thus, we appreciated the possibility to refresh ourselves in the hotel's pool. All in all, the stay in El Convent was definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I choose this hotel for a number of reasons for a one night stay during a driving holiday from Valencia to Barcelona. It was very affordable, it has free parking on site, in house restaurant looked wonderful, and the ambiance of staying in a restored convent suggested peace and beauty. El Convento was an excellent choice based on all these criteria.

Parking can be an issue in many of the small medieval towns in Aragon, especially if you have luggage. El Convento was easy to find an to access, with open but roofed over parking spots. Our room was La Sala in believe, perfect for the to of us and our 11 year old son. A large common area with two separate alcoves each having a queen sized bed. Lots of antique furnishing in the room.

Throughout the hotel there were common areas for reading, playing games, or just relaxing. Being a convent the floor plan is arranged around the central courtyard, which allows in a lot of natural light and provides for little corner spaces. The thick stone walls provide peace and quiet.

The weather was unseasonably cool and windy when we were there so we did not get to sit and enjoy the gardens and pool. The gardener was hard at work in what appeared to be lovely gardens.

The breakfast buffet was extensive, fresh pasteries and breads produced in house, fresh juice, and local sausage and ham. On quiet days eggs are prepared as you like them in the kitchen. Dinner in the restaurant was a joy, I have reviewed the restaurant separately.

This is a small family run hotel (all sisters) and is is clearly a labour of love. They staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the accommodation excellent. The town is a bit off the beaten track for non national tourists, the town and this hotel deserve a visit for authentic, sincere hospitality in a spectacular setting. Extremely good value!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesOB523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

La Fresneda is the most beautiful of the villages in this region and El Convent is a wonderful place to stay. The family who runs it are all very friendly and helpful and also great cooks! It was cold when we were there and the fire in the lounge was lit - we spent some very relaxing hours in front of the fire with a coffee or red wine. The hotel has a well regarded restaurant. We also ate in the bar area from the 'tapas' menu and enjoyed this meal even more. Breakfast is also delicious with a great variety of local food to choose from. The hotel is so peaceful and the rooms are really lovely with the most comfortable king size beds.
La Fresneda itself is very rewarding to explore, we climbed up to the old Castillo and Ermita, and enjoyed a few drinks in the Plaza Mayor.
Don't leave without buying some of the local olive oil and olive tapenade. In fact, don't leave at all...

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room which had a lovely sunken bath...heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed there for three nights and we truly felt like in paradise. We were in many hotels all over the world but we have never seen such a lovely place before. The staff were very friendly, our room was exemplary clean and full of antique treasures. We enjoyed a rich and varied breakfast buffet (freshly squeezed juices, homemade pastry...) The attention to detail and the charm of the historical convent is really perceptible in every corner. This hotel we can fully recommend for all those who are searching for a place of silence and relaxation and for people who are interested in breathtaking nature, far away from the mass tourism. We will definitely return! :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prinzessin1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Convent1613, Propietario at Hotel El Convent 1613, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel El Convent 1613 in La Fresneda to spend your holidays.
We appreciate your positive comments on the clean hotel facilities, the quality of food & beverage and the friendliness of our staff. Getting the best satisfaction of our guests is always our main goal.
Thank you for your visit

Hoping to see you again in Hotel El Convent 1613
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our 3 night stay in Feb 2013 was fantastic. Every aspect of our stay was truly great. From the welcome to our lovely spacious room with a balcony and sunbeds. The ambiance of this place is really quite special and totaly relaxing. The buildings are totaly unique and have to be seen to be truly appreciated. The guest sitting areas are very comfortable with plenty of superb books to flick through. The staff and family are so friendly and helpful. Our particular thanks to Sandra and Anna for everything, especialy helping us out with an extra night's accomodation. The restaurant was first class. Not cheap , but worth every cent. This really is a lovely relaxing, peaceful place. If you are considering a stay. STOP searching now and book it. We will return!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor room in the annexe. It had a balcony and sun beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Convent1613, Director de Recepción at Hotel El Convent 1613, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Mr. Preston

thank you so much for the great opion on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our house. Such positiv feedback honor us and confirm our daily effort.
We hope to welcome you and your wife soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I have stayed at the El Convent on many occasions over the past few years. It is the most friendly and welcoming hotel I have stayed in, and I have stayed in some good ones.
The building is amazing and the new rooms that they have built in the outside annex are well equipped with the best fixtures and fittings.
The staff of family run hotel will do almost anything to please as we have found over the years and the food and well stocked wine cellar is a must for any foodies.
It's not far from the motor racing circuit Motorland Aragon and the countryside is out of a spaghetti western. We have stayed there on business but I can't wait to get the chance to go with my partner to show her. John Barnett

Room Tip: You can either stay in the old convent building with amazing shabby chic rooms or in the modern outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnhBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Convent1613, Propietario at Hotel El Convent 1613, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Mr. Barnett
Thank you very much for your opinion on Trip Advisor about our Hotel & Restaurant. We are pleased that during your visits we met your expectations, We´ll communicate your dedication to the team and family of the Convent Hotel & Restaurant .
Look forward to welcoming on a future occasion.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fresneda
8.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel El Cresol
Boutique Hotel El Cresol
#1 of 2 in Calaceite
220 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Mas de la Costa
Hotel Mas de la Costa
#1 of 4 in Valderrobres
62 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Moli De L'Hereu
Hotel Moli De L'Hereu
#2 of 2 in Rafales
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Consolacion
Hotel Consolacion
#2 of 2 in Monroyo
229 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Torre del Visco
La Torre del Visco
#1 of 2 in Fuentespalda
188 reviews
11.2 mi away
Posada Guadalupe
Posada Guadalupe
#1 of 2 in Monroyo
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convent 1613? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convent 1613

Property: Hotel El Convent 1613
Address: Calle Convento 1, 44596 La Fresneda, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Matarranya > La Fresneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Fresneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Convent 1613 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Convent 1613 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convent 1613 La Fresneda, Spain - Province Of Teruel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing