We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot on the St. Lawrence River”
Review of Auberge du Portage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

En-route to Halifax from Toronto, we stayed at this beautiful spot instead of staying in a roadside motel. And what a good decision that was. Could have spent more than just a night, what with free kayaks, bikes, lovely walks, sunset watching. It is just west of Rivere-du-Loup,only a few minutes off the Trans Canada. Worth it. And definitely add on the breakfast which was great. Lovely dining room overlooking the river.

Room Tip: We didn't reserve ahead, so we took what we got and it was very reasonably priced. There were be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynT1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were at this hotel for one night being part of a travel vacation. Rooms were outdated, bed was tired if not dead with a result that I could not sleep most of the night.
The location is great with a great view. We were welcome by a young gentleman who was helpful.
Unfortunately, that was the only positive thing with the view from the dining room.
They pretend to offer gastronomic dinners: the entree was uneatable and the main course was ok without real good taste. For the same price, I would have had a great dinner in Quebec City in a very exclusive restaurant and that would be the same for the room.

It's one of the only places where no one ask about if you liked your meal (and I did not complain about the dinner) and when leaving, if you liked your stay...as if they were afraid.

All in all, a failure and a bad souvenir... It happens somtimes.

Room Tip: Choose a B&B instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JD-Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the newer section which is pleasantly furnished. The auberge offers a number of spa treatments and we both found our massages to be excellent. We only had one meal at the Auberge which was a breakfast which was included and it was fine. The main issue we had was that the main window is covered in sheers with fabric panels on each side. This means that in the day, the view of the river is blocked and at night everyone walking by your room has a clear view in to your room when the light is on. You also can't close the drapes to block the light from the porch at night or the sun in the morning. It was a bit odd and uncomfortable. All of the staff we interacted with were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtemisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Some places do not need to be luxurious. They offer what you expect the most: a little country road, tranquillity, peace, sunny and shadowy spots under the trees dressed with comfortable seating, simple rooms and comfortable beds, just perfect with all the amenities, other beautifully decorated little rooms where you can grab a magazine or a good book from the shelves and a view of the St. Lawrence River in one of its widest spots, breathtaking sunsets that you can't miss from the elegant dining room. But on top of it all, smiling, professionnal personnel that go out of their way for you, always in a dignified manner. And the good food! A place where you can make your own little vacation, give it a special twist, something to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giteauboisjoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here on our trip visiting the region of Quebec. The location is absolutely fantastic, and the Auberge du Portage has a lot of facilities available for its hosts. People were very friendly, and we all regretted that we had to leave after only one night... A place to come back to!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Came here to celebrate my Lover's birthday.

Got a package that included 5 course dinner and breakfast along with hot tub, sauna, gym and cycling. Our room was supposed to overlook the water, but it was only the bathroom window that faced the water. Our room was very small. In fact the rooms and bathrooms are better at the Holiday Inn.

Dinner was a disappointment. We were earlier than most and arrived when the dining room was only half full, but the servers didn't show up. We were left waiting for ages before anyone came to take our orders and then the place was full and we had to wait some more.

Our bottle of wine was brought to us but they kept filling my boyfriend's glass and the wine was all gone before the food arrived. Appetizers were tasty but very small portions. The main course was bland. We both ordered the same dish but mine arrived without the potatoes or sauce. Why the discrepancy? Our waiter didn't speak English and the food was already cool when it arrived and the whole show had already taken so long, I just didn't bother. Needless to say, I left the table hungry. We had a drink at the bar afterwards and enjoyed the ambiance of the sea. I looked forward to breakfast. Disappointment again. Breakfast was a buffet of cereals, toast & jam and some croissants. Fruit. Since I'm lactose intolerant I can't have any dairy. I had one toast and half a banana. The service was awful. There was no coffee, we waited forever for someone to bring it. No napkins. I asked one waiter if there was anything else available for breakfast other than the buffet and was told no. Then I saw people getting a la carte menus which was never offered to us. So again I left the table hungry. So maybe it was all lost in translation, or apathy, but I would not go there again.

As for the Spa: the hot tub was not clean. It was greasy and had a band-aid floating in it; the water was murky. The outdoor pool was heated but not much. Too shallow to swim. This is a place where people come for massages and everyone walks around in a bathrobe. The clientele is mostly women over 60.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are nicer of course but the walls in the main lodge don't offer much p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The good.
1.Beautiful spot
2. Very clean room
3. Reasonably priced
4.Lots of stuff to do like kayaking, hiking, tennis(all of which is included)
5 The staff at the front desk was quite helpful

What could be improved?
1.The food at the restaurant was bland and overpriced(I would suggest avoiding it for both breakfast and dinner).
2.The way our room was furnished seemed odd to me. It reminded me more of a Rooms To Go showroom than a quaint in by the sea.


I would suggest without question paying extra for a room with a private balcony. You are pretty much sitting right on top of the St. Lawrence River. If those rooms are taken ask for a superior room across the street on the second floor(you still will get a view of the river and a semi-private balcony).

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Notre-Dame-du-Portage
1.7 mi away
Auberge Sur Mer
Auberge Sur Mer
#2 of 2 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
143 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
393 reviews
7.8 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
655 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auberge Sur le Fleuve
Auberge Sur le Fleuve
#1 of 2 in Saint-Andre-de-Kamouraska
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Chute Couette Cafe
B&B Chute Couette Cafe
#1 of 3 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Portage

Address: 671 Route du Fleuve, Notre-Dame-du-Portage, Quebec G0L 1Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of the St-Lawrence River, the Auberge offers a pleasant and relaxing stay. More than fifty different treatments are available in our renowned Spa. The gastronomic restaurant provides extra pleasures to your stay. You will be charmed by the terrace of the restaurant witch offers a spectacular view of the islands. The Auberge offers a large number of activities including: outdoor and heated salt water swimming pool, spas, saunas, kayaks, bikes and pedestrian trails. The Auberge du Portage is one of the Spa pioneer in Canada. Located only a few kilometers from the charming town of Rivière-du-Loup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing