We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst pizza I had in Italy, worst cappuccino too. Beware of false items in the bill!!”

Ristorante Pizzeria Al Platano
Ranked #6 of 157 Restaurants in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant pizzeria located 200 metres before castle and old town of Sirmione
CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worst pizza I had in Italy, worst cappuccino too. Beware of false items in the bill!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A tourist trap for hungry customers that prefer eating out of the old city. It looks like a restaurant, but it has food and menu of a kiosk on the beach. The pizza here is disgusting, the only place in Italy where my son left most of the pizza uneaten. We ordered a Calzone, but got another disgusting pizza instead (with no explanations!). The cappuccino is also the worst I had in Italy, probably very old beans prepared in a cheap machine. You get better coffee in automatic machines at airports.

Finally, the owner put several false items (coffees, salads) in the menu. He hoped we won't notice, but we did. He apologized with a smile and will try to cheat other customers.

Please mark in your notes and go to any other place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AcademicWithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    226
    77
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable - and quiet compared to the old town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Nice selection of pizza and salads. Very nice wine as house selections. I enjoyed the fact that it was away from the hustle and bustle of the real touristy bits!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janettenreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Irritating atmosphere, good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I must begin by stating that when you're extremely hungry and do not care much about the restaurant you're going to pick after a long ride - don't expect much.
Al Platano looks touristic and sleezie inside out. There's a good variety of seafood, pastas and pizzas.
Our waiter was impatient. At some point he started raising his voice against a local customer a few meters away from our table - quite an awkward situation which can ruin your whole experience.
On top of that, he used a known trick, claiming that the octopus salad is not available today, but it is available as part of the "salads plate", a much more expensive starter.
The one who seems to be the owner of the restaurant gave the impression of a pleasant person.
In conclusion, Al Platano would not be the best choice you'd make in Sirmione.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Finally made it for a meal at this great-value basic restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I'd earmarked this place for a visit during TripAdvisor research before leaving England. It turned out to be closed, without any explanation, for all 5 full days of our holiday, opening only on the day of our departure, when lunch was the only option for us.
The set fish menu at only 19 Euros was well worth the wait: fresh seafood served piping hot and well sauced. No wonder the place is so popular- when it's open, that is!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnabee797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very good pizzas. Service not so good as we needed to keep asking for things so it felt like they were doing you a favour when serving you. Pizza’s were made quickly and the restaurant was full of locals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Al Platano also viewed

Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Al Platano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing