We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel olivi review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Reviewed 3 September 2013

it was an amazing hotel. All the staff there were very good and helpful if you have an allergy. it was in an amazing location about 5 mins walk from the town where there are beautiful shops and so many restaurants and attractions like a beautiful interesting castle, the lake boat trips and so much more on practically the door step but not to close into the town so it was nice and peaceful and quiet. Me and my family had to change rooms on the last day because of a double booking but we knew that before we went, however they did try and put us in the nicest room posible which they susceeded to do. the first room was a beautiful and big room with a hige balcony and space. it has a bath and shower which was nice. it was clean. the only complaint was they didnt replenish our toiletrys every day and we had to ask at the receptioon for more shampoo which i think was odd. all the pool stuff are so friendly and lovely and there is a bell at 5 oclock when afternoon tea is served with a lovely collections of teas, biscuits and cakes. breakfast was lovely with a good selection and everything was very good. i enjoyed my stay in sirmione and in hotel olivi and would happily stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our second trip to Hotel Olivi, and to the wonderful medieval walled town of Sirmione on the shores of beautiful Lake Garda. Since we were last there in 2010, they have refurbished the Hotel and installed a 5 star, absolutely top quality 'natural' spa - which you must go to if you visit the hotel. My wife has been to many of the world's top spas and says this is up there with the best!
We took the half board option, with a double room overlooking the Lake and the pool, with balcony. It was the most relaxing week I can ever remember - wonderful hotel, wonderful food and drink, some of the friendliest staff of any hotel we have ever stayed at, (and the owner works hard there every day) - and the evening strolls after dinner into Sirmione, perhaps a 6 minute walk at most, to do window shopping, relax and have a coffee amongst the bustling tourists who come to the town for its great restaurants and shops, not to mention the hisitoric castle and old buildings. Sirmione has the substantial remains of an awesome Roman Villa, one of the best in Northern Italy, so well worth a visit.

All in all, 5 out of 5, superb experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclistmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel offers reasonable value for money. At the same time be prepared for a few surprises. The visit to the very much promoted and advertised spa (indoor pool, saunas, etc) is charged for. This was a true life experience to be offerred to pay 23 EUR for a dip in the pool. Rooms are small, wardrobes hand made with veneer. Same plywood probably used for the walls because once can hear everything happenning next door and probably two doors away too. Nice pool, nice breakfast.

On a next trip to Sirmione I will look for alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at the Olivi Hotel for 3 nights last week (Aug 2013) with my husband to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time, we love Sirmione and Hotel Olivi.
We had a lake view room with a large balcony (room 102). The room was beautifully decorated, it was clean and had plenty of space for all our luggage etc. The room was cleaned and fresh bathroom towels provided every morning and every evening we received fresh pool towels for the next day.
All the staff were friendly and pleasant and seemed happy to help, although we never really had to ask them for anything.
The pool is a good size with plenty of sun loungers both with shade and without. Waiters will bring over drinks for you from the pool bar.
Afternoon tea was served at 5pm at the pool bar and I'll have to admit this was a high point for me.
The hotel location is great, its in a quiet location so you're not disturbed at night by other holiday makers but its so near the restaurants, bars and gelato shops of the old town. The old town is lovely to stroll around both day and night.
We found it very busy in Sirmione but always managed to find a restaurant with a table over looking the lake or the castle.
We didn't use the hotel spa so I can't comment on that. We stayed on a B&B rate as we like to eat in different restaurants every night but we were very pleased with the breakfast. I've never seem such a large selection of food on a breakfast buffet.
This is the one of the best Hotels I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, 103 & 104 have the largest balconies.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The first thing that you should do with this hotel is to book half-board if you can afford it. The food is wonderful, exceptionally tasty (especially the sea bass) and served with efficiency by a friendly group of waiters. The breakfast is standard and unexceptional but the evening meal is terrific and the fruit is delicious both at breakfast and in the evening.

Against this, you should ask yourself "do I want to eat on a very romantic patio with 3 or 4 cats wandering up and down every night?" Some stupid guests fed them. Food and animals in hotels should be kept miles apart.We ate inside.
Again, the animal lovers are out in force on Tripadvisor slobbering about the owners' German shepherd which wanders around the pool. If I had children with me, I wouldn't be staying there no matter how docile and friendly the animal.

Nevertheless, this is a warm and friendly hotel if a little lax. On arrival, the welcome was genuine if a little over the top. However, there is a lax attitude as to who uses the pool and who lies on the sunbeds, especially at weekends when local Italians know a good opportunity for free sunbathing when they see one.The afternoon tea is a nice touch but those who wait on must be disgusted at guests who pile up the free cakes on their plates and the unseemly pushing just to acqire a cup of free tea.

Another piece of advice is, do not book a premier suite. We paid extra and the only benefit was an exquisite view of the Lake from the balcony. First, it was not a suite, it was a duplex apartment with a tight & dangerous sharp edged iron spiral staircase leading to a wasted upstairs room with an old fashioned TV and a put you up settee. Like one or two others on Tripadvisor, we did not use it. (it would be dangerous for children and impossible for older guests) The room was decorated in a bizarre manner, rag-rolled walls with dust-harbouring trinkets and lamps. Nothing matched and for all that inefficient, wasted space, the only wardrobe & drawer storage area was in the bathroom!! The shower head was filthy, there were hairs in the shower tray when we arrived and the shower closet itself was like a vertical coffin so tight to get in and out of. The basin taps were bizarre, one for power and the other for hot AND cold. They were so ancient that the result was they were hard to turn and this led to warm cold water and tepid hot water!! On the plus side, bed linen and towels, including pool towels were changed every day and the air conditioning worked efficiently. We were given a small booklet when we arrived extolling the virtues of all the premier suites which were given individual girls' names. Believe me when I say the whole thing is bizarre and it is an absolute con trick, cashing in on the wonderful views from the balconies. The rooms need modernising and upgrading. Compared to the best suites in other hotels (e.g. the owners want to take a trip to Berlin & the de luxe rooms in the Mandala Hotel), these are very shabby and certainly not worth the extra money.

Having said all this, the location of the hotel, the staff and the wonderful evening meals made for a very pleasant holiday - just don't pay extra for a premier room!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is located at the quieter end of the old town. It is slightly elevated and whilst not at the lake side it has views of the lake over the top or between the buildings in front of the hotel.
The hotel has a very nice swimming pool with Jacuzzi and plenty of space for sunbathing – all kept clean and tidy. Unfortunately, the pool service was very poor. It was difficult to get a drink and there was no towel service by the pool. Towels were provided in the room and we found if we had a pair of towels through room service the best strategy was to hang on to them – and there seemed to be no opportunity to have more than one each – very disappointing for the best feature of this hotel.
The pool lunch bar (La Bissa) was quite peasant and we chose to eat there 3 times during our 6 night stay – and we found the service pleasant and efficient, with pricing being quite acceptable.
The hotel has recently built a spa that is located at the front of the hotel close to the reception/lobby area. We indulged in a full body treatment just after our arrival which was very good and acceptably priced. The thermal pool outside and inside was really good, but we were unable to use it after our first visit unless we were prepared to pay 20 euros for 3 hours/day – we found this very disappointing and expected it to be part of the hotel facility for guests. Needless to say it was rarely occupied by paying customers.
We occupied a premier suite (room 301), which was not at all up to the standard we expect from a hotel of this rating. On the positive side it had a good balcony so we could enjoy the lake views, but it was directly above the spa thermal pool so there was a strong smell of this, particularly in the morning. The rest of the room was quite frankly a little weird to say the least – it was a bit like the product of DIY enthusiast. The room had a mezzanine floor which was accessed by a narrow iron staircase from the corner of the room. The view from the mezzanine was blocked by heavy timbers from wall to wall hence dark and more like a den than a suite – consequently we didn’t use this space.
The bathroom was appalling; it was very small but managed to squeeze in a tiny shower, bath with hand shower, loo and bidet. The tiling was dated. The entrance to the bathroom provided washbasins and the wardrobe which wasn’t convenient at all.
The bed was large which was great, but very hard, and the ‘chandelier’ above the bed had missing light bulb covers. The TV looked very promising, but SKY wasn’t working, and even though the technician came to resolve the problem it remained unworkable throughout our stay. A CD player was provided but no CDs – not much use when we wanted an iPod player! Internet access was very poor throughout the hotel, sometimes it worked. Whilst the hotel reported this was due to their supplier, we felt that some of the problems were due to a lack of technical competency within the hotel.
The restaurant was to the far side of the hotel, and although the literature suggested it overlooked the gardens it actually overlooked the side road, other hotels and some spare ground that was due to be developed.
A breakfast buffet was included in the price, but it wasn’t that great. It offered the standard buffet fare – nothing high quality and nothing refrigerated. Being Gluten Free there was little I could enjoy, although the hotel did offer a gluten free basket – nothing of which I could enjoy for breakfast apart from the muesli. I did request an omelette on two occasions, the first time my request was fulfilled the second time I was told the scrambled eggs in the buffet breakfast was all that was available unless I paid extra. – the waiter was quite rude. So no egg chef or gluten free bread available. There was also a notice at breakfast indicating that food should not be removed and must be eaten in the restaurant – reminded me of the comedy series Duty Free!
Room service wasn’t great, the turn down service removed towels and didn’t replace them, offered bedside sweets at night and quite important to us, no complimentary water. At one point during our stay we were down to 1 towel, until a complaint remedied the situation.
Generally, I felt I was not a valued customer. There were a number of notices around the room indicating that items taken out of the minibar, whether or not consumed would be charged for and an indication of towels that were soiled with makeup would incur a charge - not very welcoming?
The reception area of the hotel accommodated a small lounge and bar and the entrance to the spa. There was nowhere we could enjoy a drink in the evening in the grounds of the hotel, the services were all inside, so we ventured out every evening to enjoy al fresco drinks and dining.
Whilst this hotel has some potential, the service varied amongst staff and the facilities were not to our liking, apart from the pool. The spa has great potential (although oddly located) but the restricted offerings prevented us from visiting more frequently. We were rather disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick_Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

just returned from a very pleasant week's stay at the hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a holiday in Sirmione which is a delightful resort on Lake Garda. The hotel is in a nice position away from the hustle & bustle of the town although in the heatwave we had to endure, the last walk up the slope up to the hotel was tough after a day sightseeing. The hotel's pool was a godsend! I have to praise the hotel staff, especially at the front desk. They are all fantastic and couldn't be more helpful with any questions we had both before we arrived(by email) and whilst there. They certainly know their stuff! They couldn't have done more. A few little niggles though like the chamber maids not washing the glasses in the rooms. I couldn't understand that and why there were only one fluffy hand towel per room with another that was like a tea towel.

Room Tip: definitely a lake view
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank DameD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmione
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
671 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa

Address: Via San Pietro in Mavino 5, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#12 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: £122 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uncontaminated garden surrounded by centennial olive trees - this is how Hotel Olivi welcomes you. An exceptional four star hotel that knows how to offer you hospitality made of sought - after ambiance and atmospheres filled with comfort, but without forgetting availability and discretion. Perfect ingredients for a Vacation with a capital V.Set amidst olive groves, in the mild Sirmione climate, a few steps from the lake, is a very special place where you can have a truly relaxing experience: bathing in thermal waters, purifying your body in enveloping aromatic mists, letting yourself be pampered by expert hands and by the scents of essential oils and fluids. Welcome to the world of wellness. Welcome to Natural Spa.NATURAL SPA:Thermal swimming pool 34 degrees (Thermal water of Sirmione). Indoor pool with salt water 34 degrees Sweet Sauna 65 degrees in natural oak and Thermowood oak Sweet Sauna 90 degrees in natural oak Sweet Spa (steam bath) temperature 47/50 degrees, humidity 98% - aroma eucalyptus Sweet Spa (steam bath) temperature 47/50 degrees, humidity 98% - aroma citrus Emotional showers:cold mist - minty essence cold drizzle – pine essenceIce font Relax areaRefreshment area Beauty Treatment rooms for therapeutic facial and body treatments. RoomsAll our rooms are with air-conditioned, flat screen television Lcd, Sat or digital, SKY-TV decoder, Wi-Fi connection, private phone, minibar, electronic safe and hairdryer. Single Comfort Classic Quality Family Premier Swimming Pool and garden Immersed in the garden is a corner where silence and relaxation rules. It is here where you will find the swimming pool. Cool off in the water, lay out in the sun, or simply enjoy the freshness of the shade. You may also wish to practice sports, dine at the restaurant facing the pool, or have us reserve spa treatments for you.The finest dining Inviting fragrances, unequivocal tastes of Italian and Mediterranean cuisine, generous wine lists... There are many ingredients that render dining at Ulivi’s Restaurant a memorable experience. Our central restaurant is a “temple” of refinement and elegance: fine cuisine, beautiful furnishings and warm lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Olivi Sirmione
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing