We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for a 3 star hotel”
Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gardenia Hotel
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine for a 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2007

After mistakenly thinking we were staying at another Hotel Gardenia in the Lake Garda region, I was very put off by most of these reviews when I realised my mistake. However, after coming back from what was a perfectly adequate stay for the price, I feel I must say a few things in the hotel's defense. The room was fine, with a very clean and spacious bathroom. We too booked a twin bedded room with Expedia and turned up to find that we had been allocated a double (perhaps the problem lies with Expedia's communication with the hotel?), but a camp bed was added within the hour with no fuss. Breakfast was plentiful, on the first morning we made sure we were there early after the comment about it running out 30 mins before the end, but this is just nonsense. There is adequate food up until the last minute. The pool is enormous and great for proper swimming. The location is fine, there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance and you can walk to the lake within 10 mins. On the negative side, the hotel staff are not the most charming (but pleasant enough) and the walls are very thin, so you don't want to find yourself next to any noisy children! All in all, there is nothing wrong with this hotel. If you want 5 star luxury, but only want to pay for a 3 star, then don't go, but if you are more realistic about what you get for your money then I'm sure you'll have a nice stay.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hols91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    66
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
84
40
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We (a family of four, children aged 8 and 13) stayed in a quadruple room for one night only at the end of July, on our way from Venice to Milan.

We had tried to get something closer to the beautiful old town of Sirmione, but everything was sold out, so we weren't expecting much from the Gardenia, especially at EUR 133 per night for a quadruple, including breakfast.

Our first impression was very positive. The hotel is located a couple of kilometers from the old town itself, but the area itself has a number of shops and restaurants and it's only a couple of minutes walk to the lake. The lobby and public area was sparklingly clean and air conditioned. We arrived before lunch and our room wasn't ready but we were allowed to put our bags in the room anyway, and we were well looked after by the reception staff, whose English wasn't great but at least better than my Italian!

The room itself was very basic, but what we expected for the modest price. It was small, with one double and two singles crammed into it, a small shower room and a large window opening out onto the verandah at the front of the hotel. A small television and an airconditioning unit (only on at nights), completed the picture. Even though we stayed on a Saturday night at the height of the season, we were not disturbed by noise, either from within or outside the hotel.

Breakfast was OK. Service was practically non-existent, but they had all the basics there and guests just helped themselves. Kitchen staff came in from time to time with a small plate of strange looking scrambled eggs or six small sausages, all of which disappeared by the time we walked to the buffet table, but otherwise, the guests are left to their own devices.

A big plus with this hotel is the swimming pool area. The view over the fairly busy road isn't great, but the pool itself is large and clean and the surrounding poolside area has several new sun loungers and nicely cultivated plants and flowers. No complaints about this four star amenity at a two/three star hotel.

Apart from the reception staff there is little service at the hotel. I've already mentioned breakfast but the lack of service also extended to the bar and pool area, and no one to help with the luggage either, which could be necessary as we couldn't find any lifts in the place and there are no rooms on the ground floor.

The hotel is perfectly adequate for the price, don't expect luxury, but I must admit, I wouldn't have liked to spend more than two nights here. Next time, we'll book earlier and try to get inside the old city, but don't despair if you end up at this hotel. I've stayed at worse.

Finally, I'm surprised no one has mentioned to boat taxi into the centre of Sirmione. Sure you can walk/bus/taxi the couple of kilometers but the best way is to take a boat taxi from the harbour at the bottom of via Sirmioncino (east from the hotel). It cost EUR 8 for a family of four and we had the boat to ourselves. Stops running at 19.00 though.

  • Liked — The price and availability
  • Disliked — Small very basic room. Lack of service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JENSBritinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2006

This hotel went out of its way to ensure that guests would be miserable in the hot weather by gluing the buttons on their thermostat remote-control so that no adjustments could be made. The in-room temp was 29C -- too stifling to get any sleep -- and with the door to the veranda open, traffic noise and endlessly-barking dog only made matters worse. TV remote control only worked for channels and volume, so you had to walk across the room and reach up to the ceiling to attempt to turn it on or off. Continental breakfast buffet ran out before we arrived (30 min. prior to the stated ending time) and there was no replenishment or service people in the vicinity. Wireless internet did not work, and the room was nothing like the "pastel-colored" room in the advertisement.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning even though they claimed to have it
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloemead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2006

My friend and I booked the Hotel Gardenia - we're both female and requested twin beds. We booked about three months before we actually took the holiday. We received confirmation from Expedia that our booking had been confirmed. On arrival at the hotel we were shown to a room with a double bed. You can appreciate our embarrassment. I told the Manager that I had requested a twin room and he said that the only room available was the room we were in. He said that the hotel was fully booked and that this was the only room available. I asked to be moved immediately when a twin bedded room was available, but surprise, surprise this didn't happen. Who's at fault? I've written to Expedia to find out whether they expect the hotel to advise them when only double rooms are available and will wait to find out if that is the case.

The hotel itself is very nice. Good room, basic but good. Nice bathroom. But I do feel that "my card was marked" after the altercation about the bed by the Manager ,and when my friend was asking for e.g. directions to various places we were getting unhelpful answers. For example, when we asked how to get to Desenz\no we were told five kilometers "that way" (pointing the direction). I reckon we got a shoddy deal on this and although the hotel itself was okay the service marred the holiday. Also the hotel is about a .2.5 mile walk from the main town of Sirmione, which is absolutely lovely. There are many hotels down the peninsula and I would recommend that you take a look at those before you book this one.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank lynndkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2006

We arrived at 10.00pm on A Sunday evening, the welcome wasn't brilliant, but he was probably a little tired.....we were shown to our room which should have been a twin room with balcony, it was a very small double bed with a windowledge type balcony overlooking the carpark on the ground floor. As we are 'just friends' my travelling companion said that we couldn't possibly share this bed so we were moved after quite a while to another room which was a double but would be a twin the next day! He wouldn't even show us the room, we had to find it ourselves. Very sparce, no air conditioning on, but my friend didn't need her inhaler until we looked at the en-suite bathroom! If you are in a hurry, it would be ideal as you can sit on the toilet and have a shower at the same time! To be fair, it was clean and I think this is where moist toilet paper originated! We did move hotels, and had a great holiday!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The Shower
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

Have just returned from a week's holiday in Lake Garda and was fortunate enough to stay at Hotel Gardenia. The Hotel is well maintained, with a bar, large dining area and lounge area with a television. The swimming pool was very clean, surrounded by beautiful gardens and is situated quite far back from the road. We had a triple bed room which was basic but sufficient with very spacious and clean en suite bathroom. The air conditioning in the room comes on at 6pm and switches off at 8am which was very welcome in the heat! The breakfast is served from 7.30-9.30am and although basic was quite sufficient. The family are friendly and the son does speak a little English.
The only misleading information is the distance of the Hotel from the Lake. To reach Sirmione Town centre where the shops are and the famous Castle, it is quite a long walk in the heat and we often commuted back to the Hotel by taxi. At around 10 euros (£7) a time this could get quite expensive. However, for the more athletic, active type the walk would be no problem and even quite enjoyable with beautiful scenery along the way.
Overall, the Hotel is great and highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WickySticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2005

for me the place is a little out dated and the grounds are run down. its on a main road so that was a little annoying especially when we have 2 small children with us. Its about 3 km from the Castle entrance to Sirimione. Not far, but when you get there, you are going to wish you had stayed inside the old city where it is absolutely beautiful. The staff was ok, the rooms clean but sparce. Beds were hard. Breakfast was a joke. I wouldnt go back

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank quicknick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riel
Hotel Riel
#24 of 67 in Sirmione
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alsazia
Hotel Alsazia
#49 of 67 in Sirmione
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#20 of 67 in Sirmione
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#32 of 67 in Sirmione
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiorella
Hotel Fiorella
#12 of 67 in Sirmione
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Property: Gardenia Hotel
Address: Via Brescia' 40, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardenia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gardenia Hotel in Sirmione where you will have a relaxing and regenerating holiday, also thanks to the spas in the vicinity. At our hotel a long tradition of hospitality comes together with modern services which are up with the times.The Gardenia Hotel in Sirmione was founded in 1949 by the Tosadori family which has kept it up to date and in line with its clients needs. The Hotel, which has air-conditioning in all its rooms and has been recently renovated, is situated near the Virgilio spa establishment, and is only 500 metres from the lake, as well as only 2 Km from the historical centre of Sirmione.The Gardenia Hotel in Sirmione is a hotel complex made up of two buildings: the main house is a dependence where the suites are located. The main house has the following general services: a reception, a hall, a restaurant, a bar, a reading room and a television room.The Hotel gives a good impression to its guests because of the floral and greenery setting in which it is located. The enormous and harmonious garden is a pleasant place to relax in and is cool during hot summer days.The Tosadori family and the Hotel staff expect you to come in large numbers!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing