We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Hotel Sirmione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sirmione
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is almost the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, which is as shame as, owing to its location it should have been the best. The main problem was the staff, which must be the fault of the management. It was almost impossible to get served - there was never anyone in the bar, even in the hour before dinner in the evening. The restaurant staff were offhand and couldn't have cared less about the guests. In the annexe, where the pool was, it was almost impossible to get any lunch - there was never anyone to take an order. It was necessary to leave the annexe and go over to the main hotel to ask if there was anyone to take orders at the pool bar. The pool was wonderful, but entirely let down by the staff. I was so disappointed. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels, but this was not in the same league as the others.

Room Tip: I would advise anyone to give this hotel a miss. My hotel room in the annexe looked over the harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo R, Direttore generale at Hotel Sirmione, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

about your complain on tripadvisor we are very upset and we have read all comments with great concern.

We are sorry to recive your review just now, about one year later after your departure, because an immediate complain will give us the possibility to resolve the matter immediately.

Anyway, if you decide to come back and visit us again will be seen that the staf has been implemented in all department in order to offer an always better service.

On this occasion, we are also proud to inform you that the entire spa areas has been completely renovated and enlarged.
A very beautiful bar area adjacent to the pool offers a wide range of food and drink open from 9 am until 9 pm no stop time and our restaurant with the romantic terrace on the lake will let you enjoy an unforgettable evening.

Hoping to welcome you again, we thank you for your attention and we remain with our best regards.

Lorenzo Ronchi
Hotel Division Manager
Terme di Sirmione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    431
    145
    53
    29
See reviews for
153
654
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This four star hotel is one of a chain of "Therme" hotels in the area, benefitting from the hot natural sulphurous streams coming from deep below. This was our fist time on a holiday to lake Garda and we were not disappointed. The hotel is just beyond a small bridge and the castle and lies on the left hand side surrounded by the marina. It is divided into two with the reception and dining facilities on the right and the spa pool and therme on the left with bedrooms on both sides and a cobble street inbetween. We had a deluxe room with marina view which was nice but a little noisy with all the boats giving tours to tourist groups. The accommodation was clean and nice with two twin beds pushed together and a garden area just outside with sun beds and chairs. WIFI was present in the rooms but poor signal. Remember to take your plug converters. Sky TV in all rooms which was okay as the world cup was on. Food was a good breakfast (we went B&B) with cold meats, fruits, cereals and juices. Some hot scrambled egg, bacon and sausage along with toast for a hot meal. Milk was fresh not UHT. Sitting outside, beware of the birds and don't leave your food unattended!

The therms spa was nice but the water was always hot and it would have been nice to have a col chlorinated pool to swim in. Please note you need to swim with a swim cap on.

The hotel is clean and well presented and a joy to stay in. Expensive but was a spa four star hotel so expected. Sirmione is a lovely place with plenty of bars and places to eat around so B&B was perfect. Good bus system to Verona for the opera and Verona is a lovely city. You can also take the bus or boat around the lake and take the train or bus to Venice or Milan. A very enjoyable holiday but you need to get out and about and experience to local area. Try to avoid taking a car - use the local buses.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms are a little noisy but nice - I would go back to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hippodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel provided excellent facilities. Good views across the lake. A good size room and ensuite.
The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and bed linen and fresh towels provided daily. The Pool and spa were fabulous and very relaxing. All staff members were friendly and courteous and The service exceptional. Breakfast was substantial with loads of choice. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony before travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GPatrick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 'treat' hotel as we were travelling around Italy.

Big, spacious, clean rooms.

Spa facilities were great (included in price).

In the middle of the lovely Sirmione - 2minute walk from the dock where we took a half hour boat ride.

Tip for travellers - we spent €24 on a taxi from the train station but could have used the bus service much cheaper (as we did to get back to the train station).

One of the better breakfasts we had - included prosecco sausages and eggs.

Helpful reception.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Anonymous-traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for one week at end of May on a bed and breakfast basis. Our room though not large was spotless The warm thermal pool and spa area are wonderful.The hotel staff were very helpful at all times. Patrice, the manager, ..was warmly welcoming.
The hotel is just inside the gates of the old town .It is an ideal spot for walking along the lake ;,towards the Grotto at the end of the peninsula; cycling towards Peschiara and casual strolling around the atmospheric town itself. The jetty for boats around the lake is just beside the hotel-perfect for visits to Bardolina,Lazise, Garda, Salo and many more.Would have laved to stay longer and would highly recommend. Anne M

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you don't need your car and you only come to relax a few days this hotel is perfect. Breakfast is excellent, a wide variety of fruit, nothing to complain. Very good English speaking staff. Good internet connection.
It's touristic, but still a nice place to stay

I had no idea were they parked my car.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for one week and had a lovely time.Hotel with excellent rooms.
Staff are very professional , friendly .
You can take a walk along the lake, many beautiful places.
Just wonderful Just wonderful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmione
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 67 in Sirmione
553 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirmione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirmione

Property: Hotel Sirmione
Address: Piazza Castello 19, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#23 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sirmione 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sirmione e Promessi Sposi is the ideal choice for those who love sunsets over the lake and want to enjoy romantic, unforgettable momentsof beauty. It is located in the little village, in the square dominatedby the Castello Scaligero. Many rooms have a terrace over the lake where you can have breakfast and spend unique hours. But that's not all: the guests of the Hotel Sirmione e Promessi Sposi can have lunch by the lakeside at the Restaurant Dei Poeti or take care of their wellness and relax in the thermal spa with Finnish sauna, water path with emotional and sensory showers, relaxation zone, whirlpool and thermal pool with lake view: a sequence specially designed to provide you with an irresistible thermal experience, of relaxation and wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sirmione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sirmione Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing