We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in sirmione, can not wait to go back!”
Review of Hotel Catullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Catullo
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment you pull up outside you know you've made the right choice. The hotel is classic italian style and there's such a warm welcome inside from its wonderful staff. The bedrooms are basic, but when your in a place as beautiful as sirmione, that's the last place you want to be. The staff make this hotel what it is, they honestly can't do enough for you. The food is gorgeous, we thoroughly enjoyed every meal, with great choice and service. The outside terrace bar was perfect for relaxing an enjoying lake views, with waiter aurel making the best aperol spritz in sirmione! The owner of the hotel, Fabio, really was a fine host. Each evening he offered his expertise in choosing wonderful wines from around the lake. He also treated us to a speed boat trip around the peninsula, you can tell he really cares about his guests and he wants you to enjoy your stay. I would give this hotel 5 stars I think it's underrated as a 3. We have stayed in luxury resorts before but have never had this standard of service. We will be returning as soon as we can

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We visited the Catullo again, but this time instead of Aug/Sept we went in May to watch the Mille Miglia. Fabio, the hotel's flamboyant owner (snappy dresser) had organised us a table by the road to enjoy a lovely meal and watch the cars race by. That was an amazing experience in itself.
The hotel has not changed much since we first visited, the staff, with an odd new addition over the years, are excellent, personal, and cannot do enough to make your visit enjoyable.
Aperole Spritz under the vines overlooking the lake --- bliss. There was music one night from a guy with a keyboard, which was pleasant whilst eating our evening meal. But as regards the Elvis impersonator, who I believe was a guest---don't give up your day job, said with tongue in cheek.
Overall, you have only to look at the number of people who return to this hotel to realise what a little gem it is.
Just a pointer though, you have to like throwing balls for Fabio's new puppy, and have a love of cats.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

You won't go wrong with the Catullo is simply the best 3 star hotel you can imagine set right in the heart of the water front of old town Sirmione.
The staff at the hotel do everything they can to make the guest feel at home. Over the seven years since we first stayed at the hotel there has been almost no changes in staff only new additions a sign of the harmonious way way the hotel is run by the charming and flambouyant owner manager Fabio.

In peak season Sirmione can be overly crowded with day trippers but the shady water front garden of the Catullo provides a haven of tranquility from the hot bustling mediaeval streets.

This review was written in the foyer of the hotel Catullo and posted via the hotel WiFi.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Piazza Flaminia are a good choice, the more expensive rooms at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junkcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A most enjoyable stay during mid April, large lake view rooms with balconies were well appointed. The service was friendly and the staff spoke excellent English. They arranged taxi transfers from Verona Airport and a tour around the lake for 6 of us, which was a great way to see everything during a short stay.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Sirmione is a lovely place even if the weather isn't good! To get to the hotel you have to drive into the pedestrian precinct. You have to give your name to the people who lift the security bar then drive through very narrow streets, being aware of traffic lights and the one way system. The car park is a five minute walk from the hotel. Rooms are big and elegant with all you need. Great included breakfast - omelet was good. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We love this hotel. We have just come back from a short stay celebrating a birthday and wedding anniversary and couldn't have been happier with the experience. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and if you can get a lake view room, the views are simply beautiful. The beds are huge and very comfortable and the rooms have air conditioning if you need it. Sitting out on the balcony early in the morning, watching and listening to the lake come to life is such a wonderful way to start the day.
The dining room is large and airy and breakfast includes omelettes cooked to order, rolls, bread, ham, cheese, yoghurts pastries, fruit, - the list goes on and on. We stayed on a half-board basis and the evening meals were lovely. Five courses with starter, salad bar, soup/pasta, and choice of meat, fish or vegetarian for the main course and cake with gelato for desert. If there is anything you don't like, an alternative is always offered. Fabio, the owner, has an extensive knowledge of wine and will help you to choose just the right one to suit your tastes.
There is a large garden overlooking the lake with a lovely shady patio where you can enjoy a coffee or, better still, a, glass of wine or prosecco.. A wooden deck hangs over the lake with plenty of sunbeds (towels provided) if you can stand the heat.
Fabio is obviously a born hotelier and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are a delight - a special mention to the receptionist Elena with her lovely friendly smile and faultless English. If you are worried about the transfer from airport to hotel,, email Fabio and he will arrange a taxi to meet you.
We have already booked our fifth stay next May - I would find it very difficult to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Try to book a lake view room - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had 10 days at the Catullo in September in Sept 2103. We were offered a choice of rooms on arrival There was a nice mix of English and Italian visitors. The hotel and our room was always spotless, the food was always of a good standard, and the staff were always helpful and courteous

Aurelio and Eleanor in particular always tried hard to please, but all of the staff made us very welcome. We had no expectation of entertainment but during our stay we had a free speedboat ride from the hotel, and three other other evenings where there was musical entertainment

The staff were attentive without ever being over attentive which is just what I want

The hotel is well located in Sirmione , and it is quiet in the piazza but still close to everything > it is also very close to the ferry terminal and the bus stop

I miss the ice creams in Sirmione now that I am home

It was great, I would recommend it to any mature couple .

Beds were perhaps a bit hard , but I was generally too tired to notice

Room Tip: We had a side view onto the sea. The Church bell was quite loud but for us it added to the atmospher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heller_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#3 of 67 in Sirmione
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catullo

Address: Piazza Flaminia 7, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: £108 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catullo Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Catullo Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing