We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sirmione and the Catullo Hotel an unbeatable package!”
Review of Hotel Catullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Catullo
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sirmione and the Catullo Hotel an unbeatable package!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We discovered them both fifteen years ago and have returned every year since. There is so much to see and do in this area, in Sirmione itself, around the Lake and beyond to Verona and Venice. This classic hotel has a lovely garden by the lakeside and you will find that it's a quiet shady place in which to relax at any time. Much has been written about Fabio the Catullo's owner and his staff, they really are quite outstanding and we endorse every word. Coming here each year is going to be a difficult habit to break I don't think we're going to even try!
.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    101
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
382
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Catullo for a week in June and certainly agree with all the complimentary things written by previous reviewers. We will certainly be returning. The staff do everything to ensure that guests have a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just returned from a week stay at the Catullo. The hotel is fantastic! Fabio has created a fabulous team of staff who cannot do enough for you, whether it's an extra pillow to arranging trips or plotting a cycle route nothing is too much trouble! A special mention for the barman Aurelio who was awesome. We have stayed in hotels all around the world and the Catullo takes some beating! The service and food are excellent and the setting right on the lake and in the historic centre of town it is just perfect!

We hired a boat for half day and stopped at Torri del Benaco for lunch, we arrived in style and moored the boat right outside a restaurant on the lake.

This hotel is amazing and we will most definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 902Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Italian Lakes and we spent a week at Catullo. We knew it was in the old town but did not realise until we got there quite how well situated it is. Everything is virtually on the doorstep including the ferry landing. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived and soon realised that this hotel is special because of the way guests are treated. This stems from Fabio who is the perfect host but also every member of staff wanted to do everything to help us enjoy our holiday. Little things like not being charged for bottled water from the mini bar just confirmed this.
The garden and superb patio overlooking the lake were the focus of the hotel particularly to relax and chat after a day out and also to wind down after an post dinner stroll.It has a bar with staff who just want to please you, particularly Aurelio.
We had a side room and from the balcony we had a reasonable view of the lake. We had wanted a a lake view room on the front, but, on reflection, we don't think it spoiled our holiday at all bearing in mind the fierce afternoon and evening sun on those rooms. The room was certainly large enough but a little tired. The in bath shower did not have that much room to move. The double bed was big enough but not that comfortable so we had good nights and not so good ones.
However this did not spoil our holiday as the whole ambience of the hotel and beautiful Lake Garda made us so relaxed that we woke ready for another enjoyable day ahead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordieboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kil
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On reading all the extremely positive reviews, it seemed a bit too good to be true, but they are all spot on. This hotel is amazing. Staff are so attentive, food is brilliant and the atmosphere is very relaxed and classically Italian.

There is a real family feel among the staff who cannot do enough for you. Rooms are clean, tidy and serviced every day. Gardens are beautiful and the bar area at the side of the lake is a must for a pre dinner drink as the sun sets.

Location wise it is spot on, very central and easy to walk all over the peninsula. There are also bikes if you fancy a wee cycle into colombare or along the lake.

Easy bus access to Verona(1hr) €18 for two adult returns is a must. And ten minute bus and hour train gets you into the heart of venice.

I understand why people return to here year after year.....we might just need to follow suit.

Many thanks to Fabio & all his staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view balcony overlooking piazza flaminni.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Forget any preconceptions you may have of three star hotels in Italy; the Catullo is far better than many four star hotels we have used over the years. It is perfectly placed in the historic heart of Sirmione within a slow five minute walk of the castle, 20 yards from the shops and restaurants and within easy reach of the Grotte di Catullo via the electric land train (at a cost of 1 euro each way).

The hotel has a very efficient air conditioning system, is comfortably furnished in the public area and has a shaded seating area in the gardens running down to the lake. There was a lakeside bar and tables under the shade of a vine covered canopy, padded swing seats and comfortable loungers in the gardens. For those who want to sunbathe, there is a jetty containing sun beds and umbrellas and it is from here that the weekly free boat trips around the peninsular leave (book this trip early so as not to miss out on this excellent experience)

We had a lake view room with a balcony which was big by Italian standards with a seven foot wide double bed (although the mattress was a bit harder than we were used to), the bathroom contained both a bath and a shower and the very welcome air conditioning was quiet and well able to cope with outside temperatures in the middle 30s. The room was cleaned to a high standard each day, towels were replaced each day, the bed linen was changed twice in the week we were there and there was a nightly turn down service with a few sweets left by the maids . There was also an iced bottle of wine and nibbles for us on our first day!

Breakfast was mainly continental but there were freshly cooked omelettes (cheese or ham - or both!) available if required. The evening meal was served from 7.30pm and consisted of four courses plus a self service salad bar. The meals were very well presented and of excellent quality served by efficient, friendly staff who would gladly suggest an alternative if the choices available were not suitable.

Every member of staff we came in contact with were friendly, polite and very well trained and special mention should be given to the young man (originally from Albania) who ran the lakeside bar who would go that extra mile to be as helpful as possible.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting beautiful Sirmione.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit more for the lake view rooms from which there is a great view of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is in a lovely location has lots of italian style and is reflective of the owner Fabio. His staff are a credit to him and provide a service that ensures your holiday is relaxed and enjoyable. Nothing is to much trouble. Many lovely touches such as the weekly complimentary boat trip well worth going. The young man running the lakeside bar is excellent i am hopeful he will eventually train in hotel management. The restaurant staff were attentive and efficient. We enjoyed the meals, plenty of choice, daily full salad bar. Our room a good size with all facilities plus balcony. I agree with all other positive feedback. We will return to this hotel. Lake Garda is just beautiful.

Room Tip: We found room 305 a good size and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sirmione
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 68 in Sirmione
1,025 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 68 in Sirmione
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#3 of 68 in Sirmione
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 68 in Sirmione
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catullo

Property: Hotel Catullo
Address: Piazza Flaminia 7, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
#3 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Catullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catullo Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Catullo Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing